We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
35
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 37 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2016

This very charming and personal B&B off the beaten track is a great find. Simple, tastefully furnished rooms, peaceful gardens, sunroof with mountain views, delicious breakfast and Inger and Sepp make it home for you.
I will be back.

Room tip: All rooms are great
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janso0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2015

We stayed at this guesthouse for 3 nights in early May 2015. It truly is "off the beaten path." The property is rustic, charming, and very well cared for. The hosts are delightful and attentive. They have a library stocked full of pamphlets for day hikes that depart right from the guesthouse, complete with maps and directions. Ingar is happy to recommend specific itineraries based on length, difficulty, and interests.

There is a spacious communal kitchen available for the guests in case you want to bring your own food and do your own cooking. They also have beverages and wine stocked in the refrigerator; you simply indicate on a roster the items consumed and then pay upon check-out. Because the village is so isolated, I recommend stopping at a market to buy snacks and lunch items as you make your way towards Ferreirola. You can store these items in the refrigerator provided for guests.

The nearest restaurant options are in the neighboring village, which is about 1 kilometer away. It is an easy walk, and we elected to do this rather than drive. Breakfast is served at the guesthouse on the patio. It typically includes homemade bread and jam, along with yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, orange juice, and coffee. We found the breakfasts quite tasty and substantial enough to launch us on a day of hiking.

We enjoyed the simple elegance of the house, the seclusion of the village, the delightful hosts, and the other guests who were also in search of rest, relaxation, and a little exercise in a truly beautiful setting. We wish we had stayed at least one more night. Our thanks to Ingar, Sepp, and Ellie for their wonderful and thoughtful hospitality.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hubert_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stat at Sierra y Mar - behind the Blue Door - simply wonderful stay, hosts Inger & Sepp amazing hosts! Breakfast on our terrace simply the best, was everything we hoped for and more to celebrate a special birthday - will visit again!!♥

Room tip: Ground floor with terrace /gardens
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noramac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Ferreirola was the fourth "white village" we have stayed at on our 6 week car trip around Andalusia. We have found our way to some remote spots and Ferreirola was another. My husband was beginning to have his doubts when we got to the Square, however with a little poking around we found the Sierra y Mar sign and followed our noses to the Blue Door which I'd been told about several weeks ago by Guy Hunter Watts in Montecorte. It proved to be another fabulous recommendation from him and the walking out of Ferreirola was brilliant.

Great facilities for self catering and gorgeous sunny courtyard to dine in. Breakfast is included and is superb served with a fabulous view of the mountains directly opposite. Equally appreciated was the large sunny clothesline to catch up on the washing.

Inge appears to know a lot of the walking tracks having been a walking guide herself, so if you are coming to walk you couldn't pick a better location. She also organised a horse riding day out for me with Rafael up into the mountains above Capileria which was terrific.

With the location of Sierrya y Mar and the whole area this will be a spot we will never forget.

Room tip: Ask for the room at the top next to the clothesline. Has it's own terrace and table/chairs for evening drink or intimate dining.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greennz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Sierra y Mar is a wonderful guest-house run by hospitable owners, Inge (Danish) and Giuseppe (Italian) in the remote Alpujarran village of Ferreirola. Made up of original, small white-washed houses set amongst a pretty hillside garden, Sierra y Mar is a great escape from the bustle of the Spanish coast and for us a lovely way to round off a visit to Granada (2 hours by car). Expect comfortable beds and efficient ensuite showers in white painted rooms with fantastic views across the valley, wonderful breakfasts served outside where you can admire the view, with fresh local tomatoes, cheeses, breads, yoghurt, fruit and breads with delicious home-made marmalades and jams. We stayed in early November and experienced high blue skies, autumn sunshine and spectacular autumn colours. If you like wandering along old medieval trails through peaceful ancient mixed woodland past plentiful streams and small farm holdings and up onto mountain pasture then come here. The walk to Trevelez (6 - 7 hours) is especially beautiful. Next door village of Messina (walking distance) has a few welcoming and very enjoyable restaurants.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jillbackathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews