We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
61
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadself containedeggssouth coastjervis baybreakfast hamperhome away from homerooms are moderngreat hostsmurrays beachbeautiful spotplaces to visitmade us feelbreakfast was deliciousking bedevery morningjan
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 71 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2015

Have just had 2 of the most relaxing nights at By the Beach. Modern, well appointed rooms with everything you would need for a short or longer stay.
Fully equipped kitchen with full sized fridge and dishwasher. Very comfy bed with 6 pillows and extra blankets if needed. Bathroom has handwash, bodywash, shampoo & conditioner and the shower has plenty of pressure (bliss). There is also a washing machine in your room & a BBQ.
Breakfast was great we ordered bacon & eggs for 2 on the first morning and had so much food we only needed a couple of things - delicious homemade bread on the second morning.
Lovely touches like teapot with loose leaf tea and ground coffee with plunger were appreciated.
There is a stand up paddle board & 2 person kayak for guests to use.
Greg and Jan are great hosts friendly and happy to share their local knowledge, there was also plenty of info on the local area in the rooms as well as a list of the very extensive DVD collection for guests to borrow.
The view from the rooms are out over St George's Basin and kangaroos visit in the morning and early evening.
Highly recommend By the Beach if you are looking for a quiet, place to stay close to all the natural attractions the south coast has to offer. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nelson Beach (apartment 1) but I think all rooms are similar
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

I cannot express enough how great this B&B is.
Greg and Jan are very hospitable
The apartments are great for couples and very clean and tidy.
Breath taking views from the Hyams
Apartment
Can hear the water from the patio
Breakfast comes free and always delicious, fresh fruit and muesli are some options.
Will definitely be coming back!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cochico03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2015

I stayed here with my wife and we both commented that it must be one of the best BnBs in Australia. Jan and Greg are lovely and so helpful with local advice and recommendations. The breakfast options are amazing, huge choice. Only a short drive to Hyams beach and Huskisson. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jdogg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2015

Thanks Lee. So glad that you both enjoyed your stay. We were impressed that you made the most of the day with your early morning walks before breakfast. The baby joey hopped out of the pouch for the first time yesterday but decided that mums pouch was much more secure. We will catch up on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2015

Stayed 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the amenities, location and hospitality. The apartments are very functional and well appointed with great views over St Georges Basin. The breakfast baskets were a highlight, especially the freshly baked bread. Greg and Jan were great hosts - very helpful and accommodating. It is a short drive to Vincentia, Huskisson and the other beaches but not an issue for us given the peace and quiet of Sanctuary Point.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2015 via mobile

We have stayed at By the Beach twice and looking forward to returning again in December this year. It's a lovely peaceful location, with beautiful views and kangaroos often outside. A lovely getaway.

The rooms are modern and nicely designed with everything you could want or think of! Little kitchens, washing machine, your own BBQ on the deck. Perfect. Greg and Jan are amazing hosts, with everything you need for your own breakfast each morning, and lots of tips for things to see and do around the area. You need a car, but there are some beautiful places and beaches to explore nearby.

Overall, I would highly recommend staying here and can't wait to visit again in December!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank tsmith1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews