We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
61
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadself containedeggssouth coastjervis baybreakfast hamperhome away from homerooms are moderngreat hostsmurrays beachbeautiful spotplaces to visitmade us feelbreakfast was deliciousking bedevery morningjan
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 71 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2016

Thanks to Greg and Jan for a lovely stay at By The Beach B&B. The apartments are well positioned overlooking a nice vantage point along the foreshore at Sanctuary Point, plenty of bird life to sit and watch during breakfast...or lunch or dinner. Others have commented on the breakfast hamper and it is good. Fresh eggs, homemade bread, choice of jams, cereals, tomatoes, fruit salad and bacon (I love jams and bacon). You can order suitable quantities ahead of time and along with the paper it makes for a lovely 'breakfast surprise' each day, quietly waiting near the door (there is an alcove/vestibule as you enter each apartment so it's not sitting in the sun by the way) each morning.
My wife and I enjoyed the use of the 2 person Kayak each morning and found the 4 nights we stayed here to be pleasant and the quiet break we were seeking. Greg and Jan make you feel welcome without 'being in your pocket', which we had initially wondered as they live on the property - but they have been catering to the needs of many guests for some years and have the balance between "helpful-local knowledge/Now you see me, now you don't-professional property managers". Thanks again and anyone looking for a nice relaxing spot for a couple of nights or as a little HQ spot to venture out into the greater Jervis Bay area this is a very good choice to consider.
***
A few technical things that my wife in her "all-knowing and logical understanding of the world" factored in:
- Bring a Mortein outdoor Mosquito candle: This was priceless as we sat outside into the evening eating dinner/cheese and crackers having drinks/reading every night - Not that the place is heavy with mosquito's at all, but as you get into the evening they are more prevalent, like any other part of Australia near the coast at sunset.
- My wife, the dear and lovable women but light sleeper that she is brought along a couple of her trusty black plastic bin liners, great for blocking out the light on a few blinds; clamped on with a couple of hair clips and you have a good night sleep ready for Kayaking... or eating fresh home made bread! (Bare in mind that this was more so something we prepare for everywhere we go, not merely a matter of lighting issues during our stay).... my alarm clock at home has to face the wall...
- Bring some slippers, you will love the polished concrete floor, keeps the room cool but as you hop into bed you realize that even 1 grain of sand in your bed is annoying - walking around whilst inside with your slippers keeps your feet sand free once you hope into bed.
- Factoring in possible poor weather for our stay my meteorologist-like wife and her forward-thinking brought along a couple of seasons of Big Bang Theory (the apartments have Blue Ray Players), this was a good thing as one of our days the weather whipped up and we enjoyed watching a few favorite episodes during a late breaky. So yes, bring a couple of your favourite Blue Rays just as a precautionary measure - yes they have movies here but, you know your own tastes better than anyone.
Other than these basic little 'home comforts', Greg and Jan really do help you feel at home at their home. The rest is up to you.

Stayed: February 2016
2  Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2016

Thank you Luke and Naomi for your lovely review. You get the award for the most comprehensive review ever. Can think of a couple of occasions in our travels when we wish we had black plastic bin liners to block out the morning light. Have never thought of that. I would probably forget to take some clips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2016 via mobile

Having just returned from a long weekend staying at By the Beach B&B, I would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break with all the amenities you could need.

My partner and I were warmly greeted by Greg and Jan who were always on hand for some local knowledge, yet we still felt like we were in our own resort with complete privacy.

Views are beautiful and the apartments were spotless, well equipped and only a few metres down to the beach. The breakfast with home made bread each morning was a definite highlight for me!

Will definitely be back again.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kirstine24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2016

Thank you Kirstine and Oliver. We enjoyed having you as our guests and especially liked your comment that we have thought of everything. That is one of the things we are trying to achieve. We look forward to hearing your lovely accent at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2016

Greg and Jan run a superb B & B. Architect designed to their specification, all the details work. Each unit opens onto a garden overlooking St Georges Bay with steps leading down to a sandy beach. Perfect for children as it is very shallow. We ordered a full breakfast the first day and had enough food for two days. Greg has a variety of water toys he is happy to share with you.
The white sand beaches of Jervis Bay and about 15 mins away with restaurants and provision easily available. Included internet did not work for us in our unit but we could get a rather slow signal in the garden.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vincent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2016

Thank you Vincent and Hilary for your overly review. We enjoyed having you and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Regarding the Internet problem we have discovered that in the busy holiday times the local infrastructure can't cope with the influx of tourists. Unfortunately it is beyond our control

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2016

Arrival started with a very warm greeting from Greg and Jen who are more than happy to assist with absolutely anything to make our stay more comfortable and more enjoyable. Jen showed us to our room with all the amenities, from kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, picnic chairs, esky, DVD and even the Webber on the deck. Everything you need for a getaway is supplied by the hotel and that make travelling here that much easier.
The common area with picnic chairs and table overlooks Palm Beach and the entire St George Basin and the sunset is amazing; something special on the Australian east coast considering we don’t get sunsets over water.
A good variety for breakfast is on offer, homemade breads, eggs, bacon, cereals and plenty of condiments. Lunch and dinner is whatever you want it to be or you can eat out. Although Sanctuary Point may not offer a lot of places to eat, Greg and Jen have prepared a list of restaurant from the surrounding suburbs. I find that everything is only 10mins away, so very convenient.
For time in the sun we could’ve visited the famous sands of Hyams Beach or Huskisson, but we opted to visit the beaches within Booderee National Park; our favourite Murrays Beach. All the beaches within Jervis Bay have that famous crystal clear water and stunning white sand, so you won’t be disappointed. Only $11 for a 48hr pass into the National Park, worth it considering what we’d normally pay for parking at beaches in Sydney.
I can’t wait to return to the Jervis Bay area. One thing is confirmed and that is me staying at By the Beach B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JGreenSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2016

We have just spent 14 days at this place. The accommodation is first class. We loved the breakfast supplies which were ample and varied. Truly special. The location is fantastic. Just a couple of minutes away from the beach. Greg and Jan were superb hosts and always made sure we were comfortable. We will be recommending this place to friends. Thank you Greg and Jan.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 2 and it was fantastic
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews