We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your Slippers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments
Reviewed 29 March 2016

The owners are very nice and the rooms are excellent, with a large lounge kitchenette area as well as bed area and bathroom . However the rooms have cold concrete floors so you will need your slippers. If you are a little older the bed is very low but comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pmbrad64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. You are right about the slippers but in AUGUST just about every place in Australia apart from maybe Queensland gets cold at night. I hope you appreciated the warm sun coming in to your apartment during the day through the large north facing windows. We have found that this warms the polished concrete floors and this warmth is retained well in to the evening.
Warm Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2016

Thanks to Greg and Jan for a lovely stay at By The Beach B&B. The apartments are well positioned overlooking a nice vantage point along the foreshore at Sanctuary Point, plenty of bird life to sit and watch during breakfast...or lunch or dinner. Others have commented on the breakfast hamper and it is good. Fresh eggs, homemade bread, choice of jams, cereals, tomatoes, fruit salad and bacon (I love jams and bacon). You can order suitable quantities ahead of time and along with the paper it makes for a lovely 'breakfast surprise' each day, quietly waiting near the door (there is an alcove/vestibule as you enter each apartment so it's not sitting in the sun by the way) each morning.
My wife and I enjoyed the use of the 2 person Kayak each morning and found the 4 nights we stayed here to be pleasant and the quiet break we were seeking. Greg and Jan make you feel welcome without 'being in your pocket', which we had initially wondered as they live on the property - but they have been catering to the needs of many guests for some years and have the balance between "helpful-local knowledge/Now you see me, now you don't-professional property managers". Thanks again and anyone looking for a nice relaxing spot for a couple of nights or as a little HQ spot to venture out into the greater Jervis Bay area this is a very good choice to consider.
***
A few technical things that my wife in her "all-knowing and logical understanding of the world" factored in:
- Bring a Mortein outdoor Mosquito candle: This was priceless as we sat outside into the evening eating dinner/cheese and crackers having drinks/reading every night - Not that the place is heavy with mosquito's at all, but as you get into the evening they are more prevalent, like any other part of Australia near the coast at sunset.
- My wife, the dear and lovable women but light sleeper that she is brought along a couple of her trusty black plastic bin liners, great for blocking out the light on a few blinds; clamped on with a couple of hair clips and you have a good night sleep ready for Kayaking... or eating fresh home made bread! (Bare in mind that this was more so something we prepare for everywhere we go, not merely a matter of lighting issues during our stay).... my alarm clock at home has to face the wall...
- Bring some slippers, you will love the polished concrete floor, keeps the room cool but as you hop into bed you realize that even 1 grain of sand in your bed is annoying - walking around whilst inside with your slippers keeps your feet sand free once you hope into bed.
- Factoring in possible poor weather for our stay my meteorologist-like wife and her forward-thinking brought along a couple of seasons of Big Bang Theory (the apartments have Blue Ray Players), this was a good thing as one of our days the weather whipped up and we enjoyed watching a few favorite episodes during a late breaky. So yes, bring a couple of your favourite Blue Rays just as a precautionary measure - yes they have movies here but, you know your own tastes better than anyone.
Other than these basic little 'home comforts', Greg and Jan really do help you feel at home at their home. The rest is up to you.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2016

Thank you Luke and Naomi for your lovely review. You get the award for the most comprehensive review ever. Can think of a couple of occasions in our travels when we wish we had black plastic bin liners to block out the morning light. Have never thought of that. I would probably forget to take some clips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

Having just returned from a long weekend staying at By the Beach B&B, I would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break with all the amenities you could need.

My partner and I were warmly greeted by Greg and Jan who were always on hand for some local knowledge, yet we still felt like we were in our own resort with complete privacy.

Views are beautiful and the apartments were spotless, well equipped and only a few metres down to the beach. The breakfast with home made bread each morning was a definite highlight for me!

Will definitely be back again.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kirstine24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2016

Thank you Kirstine and Oliver. We enjoyed having you as our guests and especially liked your comment that we have thought of everything. That is one of the things we are trying to achieve. We look forward to hearing your lovely accent at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Greg and Jan run a superb B & B. Architect designed to their specification, all the details work. Each unit opens onto a garden overlooking St Georges Bay with steps leading down to a sandy beach. Perfect for children as it is very shallow. We ordered a full breakfast the first day and had enough food for two days. Greg has a variety of water toys he is happy to share with you.
The white sand beaches of Jervis Bay and about 15 mins away with restaurants and provision easily available. Included internet did not work for us in our unit but we could get a rather slow signal in the garden.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vincent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2016

Thank you Vincent and Hilary for your overly review. We enjoyed having you and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Regarding the Internet problem we have discovered that in the busy holiday times the local infrastructure can't cope with the influx of tourists. Unfortunately it is beyond our control

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Arrival started with a very warm greeting from Greg and Jen who are more than happy to assist with absolutely anything to make our stay more comfortable and more enjoyable. Jen showed us to our room with all the amenities, from kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, picnic chairs, esky, DVD and even the Webber on the deck. Everything you need for a getaway is supplied by the hotel and that make travelling here that much easier.
The common area with picnic chairs and table overlooks Palm Beach and the entire St George Basin and the sunset is amazing; something special on the Australian east coast considering we don’t get sunsets over water.
A good variety for breakfast is on offer, homemade breads, eggs, bacon, cereals and plenty of condiments. Lunch and dinner is whatever you want it to be or you can eat out. Although Sanctuary Point may not offer a lot of places to eat, Greg and Jen have prepared a list of restaurant from the surrounding suburbs. I find that everything is only 10mins away, so very convenient.
For time in the sun we could’ve visited the famous sands of Hyams Beach or Huskisson, but we opted to visit the beaches within Booderee National Park; our favourite Murrays Beach. All the beaches within Jervis Bay have that famous crystal clear water and stunning white sand, so you won’t be disappointed. Only $11 for a 48hr pass into the National Park, worth it considering what we’d normally pay for parking at beaches in Sydney.
I can’t wait to return to the Jervis Bay area. One thing is confirmed and that is me staying at By the Beach B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JGreenSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We have just spent 14 days at this place. The accommodation is first class. We loved the breakfast supplies which were ample and varied. Truly special. The location is fantastic. Just a couple of minutes away from the beach. Greg and Jan were superb hosts and always made sure we were comfortable. We will be recommending this place to friends. Thank you Greg and Jan.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 2 and it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015

By The Beach B&B is perfectly located. It sits above the bay and has wonderful views. If you are a sunset chaser like me (my idea of heaven is watch the sun set over water with a glass of wine) you will love it here. The rooms are well designed, comfortable, spotlessly clean and QUIET. Jan and Greg also seem to have a knack for providing thoughtful little extras that make a difference. The breakfast basket was generous and a pleasure to unpack. We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: There are only 3 or 4 and they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanctuary Point
6.1 km away
Dolphin Shores
Dolphin Shores
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
314 reviews
1.6 km away
Bay n Basin Lodge
Bay n Basin Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
28 reviews
0.9 km away
The Edgewater Bed and Breakfast
The Edgewater Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
164 reviews
9.1 km away
Ceespray on Owen
Ceespray on Owen
#3 of 6 in Huskisson
131 reviews
9.1 km away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments

Address: 260 Greville Ave, Sanctuary Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Sanctuary Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanctuary Point
Price Range: $240 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing