We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a three night stay and we can't recommend these apartments enough. Jan & Greg we're so welcoming (even a piece of Christmas cake on our arrival). Nothing is too much trouble. Apartment is well stocked with everything you need and very comfortable, and the breakfast was exceptional. So much wildlife literally in your garden, I have never been so close to kangaroos. The beaches are amazing, Murray was our favorite. Amazing place for a relaxing, true Australian experience. Thank you Jan & Greg for a great time and some wonderful memories to take back to the U.K., hoping to return one day

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bstanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We were made very welcome by our minder hosts Jan and David who were standing in for the permanent hosts.
They were exceptional so welcoming and accommodating and nothing was any trouble
Dave even drove us to Hayms beach for us to walk to Huskisson
Overall great experience you have a fab place here

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BytheBeach2540, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Thanks Joe. So glad that Jan and David looked after you so well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at By the Beach last weekend and we can't find any negatives for the room, location or overall experience. Our delightful hosts, Greg and Jan, have created a superb B&B experience from the architectural design right through to the innumerable inclusions and hearty, generous breakfast.
The beautiful bush setting overlooks the water with the beach literally a stones throw from the large decking area attached to the apartments. We stayed in apartment 1 where we were able to spend time enjoying the serenity and local fauna (the lorikeets, kookaburras etc and kangaroos all come for a feed and chat).
And when you run out of things to say to the animals, hosts Greg and Jan are excellent company.
A BBQ is available and the kitchen has everything (there is a microwave instead of an oven) needed to eat in. Close to all local sights, you'd be hard pressed to find better. We expect to return in the not too distant future.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thanks Jeff. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and Deb as our guests. Glad you managed to use the kayaks. You will have to use the bikes next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

from our arrival to the departure everything was perfect. We especially enjoy Greg the owner of this marvelous property. He was so nice and gave us precious advices. Thank you Greg for the last one KIAMA was great ;-)
The apartment was modern clean big and well equipped (fridge microwave tv dvd books) I 've read a review talking about the floor which can be cold. For us this was not an issue at all and anyway you can use slippers. The grounds are wonderful and well maintained with a sea view, nice trees with birds. Some wait for Greg to catch food in his hand so did the kangaroos we saw in the garden. We stayed 2 days and it was a dream. The breakfast was delicious and it was so pleasant to take it outside. TSanctuary point was a good idea to explore the area. Thanks Greg for your help and your kindness.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpediem100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

We enjoyed hosting you and your lovely wife Eric. Hope you continue to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary in style. Did you climb the Sydney Harbour Bridge and walk from Bondi to Coogee?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

I have been very unwell so chose childfree accommodation where I could rest when needed and just get away from it all. The location is very quiet and there is a lovely little deck where you can sit and daydream or read. There is also a nice 10k walk that starts at the bottom of the basin and weaves it way around through lovely plants and there is also so much birdlife to enjoy.
The room is spacious, clean and has everything you need for your stay. The breakfast hamper is delicious and generous and it is nice to be able to cook it when it suits you.
I would love to have had coffee options as we both despise plunger coffee and so we just bought takeaway from the corner store.
I also felt for the price we paid that fresh towels should be provided each day, a small thing but overall I wouldn't stay again based on that and not having the room made up daily. I paid the same price a night in Sydney and received a buffet breakfast and my room made up each day.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACTTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

The owners are very nice and the rooms are excellent, with a large lounge kitchenette area as well as bed area and bathroom . However the rooms have cold concrete floors so you will need your slippers. If you are a little older the bed is very low but comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pmbrad64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. You are right about the slippers but in AUGUST just about every place in Australia apart from maybe Queensland gets cold at night. I hope you appreciated the warm sun coming in to your apartment during the day through the large north facing windows. We have found that this warms the polished concrete floors and this warmth is retained well in to the evening.
Warm Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Thanks to Greg and Jan for a lovely stay at By The Beach B&B. The apartments are well positioned overlooking a nice vantage point along the foreshore at Sanctuary Point, plenty of bird life to sit and watch during breakfast...or lunch or dinner. Others have commented on the breakfast hamper and it is good. Fresh eggs, homemade bread, choice of jams, cereals, tomatoes, fruit salad and bacon (I love jams and bacon). You can order suitable quantities ahead of time and along with the paper it makes for a lovely 'breakfast surprise' each day, quietly waiting near the door (there is an alcove/vestibule as you enter each apartment so it's not sitting in the sun by the way) each morning.
My wife and I enjoyed the use of the 2 person Kayak each morning and found the 4 nights we stayed here to be pleasant and the quiet break we were seeking. Greg and Jan make you feel welcome without 'being in your pocket', which we had initially wondered as they live on the property - but they have been catering to the needs of many guests for some years and have the balance between "helpful-local knowledge/Now you see me, now you don't-professional property managers". Thanks again and anyone looking for a nice relaxing spot for a couple of nights or as a little HQ spot to venture out into the greater Jervis Bay area this is a very good choice to consider.
***
A few technical things that my wife in her "all-knowing and logical understanding of the world" factored in:
- Bring a Mortein outdoor Mosquito candle: This was priceless as we sat outside into the evening eating dinner/cheese and crackers having drinks/reading every night - Not that the place is heavy with mosquito's at all, but as you get into the evening they are more prevalent, like any other part of Australia near the coast at sunset.
- My wife, the dear and lovable women but light sleeper that she is brought along a couple of her trusty black plastic bin liners, great for blocking out the light on a few blinds; clamped on with a couple of hair clips and you have a good night sleep ready for Kayaking... or eating fresh home made bread! (Bare in mind that this was more so something we prepare for everywhere we go, not merely a matter of lighting issues during our stay).... my alarm clock at home has to face the wall...
- Bring some slippers, you will love the polished concrete floor, keeps the room cool but as you hop into bed you realize that even 1 grain of sand in your bed is annoying - walking around whilst inside with your slippers keeps your feet sand free once you hope into bed.
- Factoring in possible poor weather for our stay my meteorologist-like wife and her forward-thinking brought along a couple of seasons of Big Bang Theory (the apartments have Blue Ray Players), this was a good thing as one of our days the weather whipped up and we enjoyed watching a few favorite episodes during a late breaky. So yes, bring a couple of your favourite Blue Rays just as a precautionary measure - yes they have movies here but, you know your own tastes better than anyone.
Other than these basic little 'home comforts', Greg and Jan really do help you feel at home at their home. The rest is up to you.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2016

Thank you Luke and Naomi for your lovely review. You get the award for the most comprehensive review ever. Can think of a couple of occasions in our travels when we wish we had black plastic bin liners to block out the morning light. Have never thought of that. I would probably forget to take some clips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanctuary Point
6.1 km away
Dolphin Shores
Dolphin Shores
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
314 reviews
1.6 km away
Bay n Basin Lodge
Bay n Basin Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
28 reviews
0.9 km away
The Edgewater Bed and Breakfast
The Edgewater Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
164 reviews
9.1 km away
Ceespray on Owen
Ceespray on Owen
#3 of 6 in Huskisson
131 reviews
9.1 km away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments

Address: 260 Greville Ave, Sanctuary Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Sanctuary Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanctuary Point
Price Range: $242 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing