We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Palm Beach Caravan park(Sanctuary Point)
US$108
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bay n Basin Lodge(Sanctuary Point)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golf View Motel(Sanctuary Point)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Shores(Vincentia)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sussex Inlet Motel(Sussex Inlet)(Great Value!)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$68
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jervis Bay Motel(Huskisson)
US$87
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
60
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadself containedeggssouth coasthome away from homejervis bayrooms are modernbreakfast hampergreat hostsmurrays beachdoor stepcomfy bedbeautiful spotplaces to visitquiet placeair conmade us feel
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 70 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2017 via mobile

Greg and Jan have really thought out what you need and are very generous hosts with lots of local knowledge.
Breakfast was really substantial.
Building and Rooms are modern, well equipped, have nice linen and are spotless.
The building integrates well with the garden and outlook and so is a relaxing setting. It's right on the beach which is very safe for swimming and kayaking etc. and you can use the b&b equipment which is in great condition.
Lots of wildlife about.
I thought this was the perfect balance of privacy and being hosted; Greg was more than happy to help us when we asked but certainly we felt we had privacy. We slept very well, comfy bed and good, quiet effective aircon. We will definitely stay again and I recommend this place without hesitation, It's a beautiful spot.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BL1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2017

Thanks Rebecca. I enjoyed hosting you and Nigel. Welcome back anytime. Make sure you book direct with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a three night stay and we can't recommend these apartments enough. Jan & Greg we're so welcoming (even a piece of Christmas cake on our arrival). Nothing is too much trouble. Apartment is well stocked with everything you need and very comfortable, and the breakfast was exceptional. So much wildlife literally in your garden, I have never been so close to kangaroos. The beaches are amazing, Murray was our favorite. Amazing place for a relaxing, true Australian experience. Thank you Jan & Greg for a great time and some wonderful memories to take back to the U.K., hoping to return one day

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bstanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

We were made very welcome by our minder hosts Jan and David who were standing in for the permanent hosts.
They were exceptional so welcoming and accommodating and nothing was any trouble
Dave even drove us to Hayms beach for us to walk to Huskisson
Overall great experience you have a fab place here

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BytheBeach2540, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Thanks Joe. So glad that Jan and David looked after you so well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at By the Beach last weekend and we can't find any negatives for the room, location or overall experience. Our delightful hosts, Greg and Jan, have created a superb B&B experience from the architectural design right through to the innumerable inclusions and hearty, generous breakfast.
The beautiful bush setting overlooks the water with the beach literally a stones throw from the large decking area attached to the apartments. We stayed in apartment 1 where we were able to spend time enjoying the serenity and local fauna (the lorikeets, kookaburras etc and kangaroos all come for a feed and chat).
And when you run out of things to say to the animals, hosts Greg and Jan are excellent company.
A BBQ is available and the kitchen has everything (there is a microwave instead of an oven) needed to eat in. Close to all local sights, you'd be hard pressed to find better. We expect to return in the not too distant future.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Thanks Jeff. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and Deb as our guests. Glad you managed to use the kayaks. You will have to use the bikes next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2016

from our arrival to the departure everything was perfect. We especially enjoy Greg the owner of this marvelous property. He was so nice and gave us precious advices. Thank you Greg for the last one KIAMA was great ;-)
The apartment was modern clean big and well equipped (fridge microwave tv dvd books) I 've read a review talking about the floor which can be cold. For us this was not an issue at all and anyway you can use slippers. The grounds are wonderful and well maintained with a sea view, nice trees with birds. Some wait for Greg to catch food in his hand so did the kangaroos we saw in the garden. We stayed 2 days and it was a dream. The breakfast was delicious and it was so pleasant to take it outside. TSanctuary point was a good idea to explore the area. Thanks Greg for your help and your kindness.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpediem100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

We enjoyed hosting you and your lovely wife Eric. Hope you continue to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary in style. Did you climb the Sydney Harbour Bridge and walk from Bondi to Coogee?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews