We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place great people just great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We recently had occasion to travel to the Shoalhaven area and because it had had good reviews before,we stayed at
By the Beach B&B Apartments at Sanctuary Point.The business is run by the owners Jan and Greg who could not have been more hospitable or helpfull in particular directing us to different places to see and do in the area.
The Apartments are very clean and tidy with fresh milk and a piece of cake most welcome after our long trip down.
The location is blessed with beautiful views over Jervis Bay and wildlife abounds in the area with Kangaroos on the front lawn sharing breakfast on the front lawn with the native bird life.We could only stay for the week end but we will be back for a longer relaxing time

Stayed: April 2017
Thank john T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Greg and Jan have really thought out what you need and are very generous hosts with lots of local knowledge.
Breakfast was really substantial.
Building and Rooms are modern, well equipped, have nice linen and are spotless.
The building integrates well with the garden and outlook and so is a relaxing setting. It's right on the beach which is very safe for swimming and kayaking etc. and you can use the b&b equipment which is in great condition.
Lots of wildlife about.
I thought this was the perfect balance of privacy and being hosted; Greg was more than happy to help us when we asked but certainly we felt we had privacy. We slept very well, comfy bed and good, quiet effective aircon. We will definitely stay again and I recommend this place without hesitation, It's a beautiful spot.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BL1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thanks Rebecca. I enjoyed hosting you and Nigel. Welcome back anytime. Make sure you book direct with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a three night stay and we can't recommend these apartments enough. Jan & Greg we're so welcoming (even a piece of Christmas cake on our arrival). Nothing is too much trouble. Apartment is well stocked with everything you need and very comfortable, and the breakfast was exceptional. So much wildlife literally in your garden, I have never been so close to kangaroos. The beaches are amazing, Murray was our favorite. Amazing place for a relaxing, true Australian experience. Thank you Jan & Greg for a great time and some wonderful memories to take back to the U.K., hoping to return one day

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bstanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We were made very welcome by our minder hosts Jan and David who were standing in for the permanent hosts.
They were exceptional so welcoming and accommodating and nothing was any trouble
Dave even drove us to Hayms beach for us to walk to Huskisson
Overall great experience you have a fab place here

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BytheBeach2540, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Thanks Joe. So glad that Jan and David looked after you so well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at By the Beach last weekend and we can't find any negatives for the room, location or overall experience. Our delightful hosts, Greg and Jan, have created a superb B&B experience from the architectural design right through to the innumerable inclusions and hearty, generous breakfast.
The beautiful bush setting overlooks the water with the beach literally a stones throw from the large decking area attached to the apartments. We stayed in apartment 1 where we were able to spend time enjoying the serenity and local fauna (the lorikeets, kookaburras etc and kangaroos all come for a feed and chat).
And when you run out of things to say to the animals, hosts Greg and Jan are excellent company.
A BBQ is available and the kitchen has everything (there is a microwave instead of an oven) needed to eat in. Close to all local sights, you'd be hard pressed to find better. We expect to return in the not too distant future.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thanks Jeff. We thoroughly enjoyed having you and Deb as our guests. Glad you managed to use the kayaks. You will have to use the bikes next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

from our arrival to the departure everything was perfect. We especially enjoy Greg the owner of this marvelous property. He was so nice and gave us precious advices. Thank you Greg for the last one KIAMA was great ;-)
The apartment was modern clean big and well equipped (fridge microwave tv dvd books) I 've read a review talking about the floor which can be cold. For us this was not an issue at all and anyway you can use slippers. The grounds are wonderful and well maintained with a sea view, nice trees with birds. Some wait for Greg to catch food in his hand so did the kangaroos we saw in the garden. We stayed 2 days and it was a dream. The breakfast was delicious and it was so pleasant to take it outside. TSanctuary point was a good idea to explore the area. Thanks Greg for your help and your kindness.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpediem100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

We enjoyed hosting you and your lovely wife Eric. Hope you continue to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary in style. Did you climb the Sydney Harbour Bridge and walk from Bondi to Coogee?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

I have been very unwell so chose childfree accommodation where I could rest when needed and just get away from it all. The location is very quiet and there is a lovely little deck where you can sit and daydream or read. There is also a nice 10k walk that starts at the bottom of the basin and weaves it way around through lovely plants and there is also so much birdlife to enjoy.
The room is spacious, clean and has everything you need for your stay. The breakfast hamper is delicious and generous and it is nice to be able to cook it when it suits you.
I would love to have had coffee options as we both despise plunger coffee and so we just bought takeaway from the corner store.
I also felt for the price we paid that fresh towels should be provided each day, a small thing but overall I wouldn't stay again based on that and not having the room made up daily. I paid the same price a night in Sydney and received a buffet breakfast and my room made up each day.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACTTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanctuary Point
6.1 km away
Dolphin Shores
Dolphin Shores
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
299 reviews
0.9 km away
The Edgewater Bed and Breakfast
The Edgewater Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
45 reviews
9.1 km away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
156 reviews
9.3 km away
Huskisson Bed and Breakfast
6.6 km away
Sanddancers
Sanddancers
#1 of 4 in Vincentia
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments

Address: 260 Greville Ave, Sanctuary Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Sanctuary Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanctuary Point
Price Range: $246 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing