We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful honeymoon”
Review of Rayavadee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rayavadee Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful honeymoon”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed here in early June for our honeymoon. The place was very empty, pretty sure there was only a few other people staying there. Everyone was very friendly. We took the elephant, Temple, and waterfall tour with the resort and it was very good. We also took a snorkling tour with the group that was down the way on Railay beach in the little town and that was ok, but very cheap. We found that they took us to a reef that wasn't in great health, but when we went to the "wildlife reserve" island they take you to, they said no good snorkeling, but we found there to be excellent snorkeling. We even took a boat back to it the next day to snorkel some more. Wish I remembered the name, but it is directly in front of you when you're on beach. It was kind of funny because the tour also takes you to Phranang beach and make a big deal about it, so we were glad we were staying here and could enjoy it everyday! We also took the kayak out which was in good shape and was fun. Even though there were not many people at the resort, there were a lot of people coming in from the aforementioned tours and what seemed to be crunchy people, but the security was very good about keeping them on the beach and not in the resort and they weren't really bothersome. One neat thing at night on Railay beach when the tide goes out you can take a flash light out pretty far and see all kinds of crabs.

The food was EXCELLENT! I have thought about it on a daily basis since we left. The restaurants all had a nice atmosphere and the service was superb. And the cooking class was a ton of fun and they gave us recipe cards and some take homes from the lesson. The room was extremely nice, but I wasn't fond of the shower. For the price of this place, they need to re-tile it. We stayed in the hydropool villa and I don't think I would splurge again for that because we only went in it once and only because we felt like we had to. The free internet was good and we were able to use our iphone to call the states for free over it which was nice. Overall it was a great experience and we both loved strolling along the paths and looking in the little ponds at the fish. Everyone at the resort was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the public path that runs along one side of the property. Don't splurge f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,396
    244
    84
    40
    35
See reviews for
369
1,095
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We went to Rayavadee on our honeymoon and we had the best experience of our lives! Right from the time we landed at Krabi airport, there was a car waiting for us to transport us to the resort. Mid way we had to change over to a speed boat which took us to the resort where there were staff waiting at the entrance. From that moment on, we knew that our experience would be special.

Extremely friendly and courteous staff led us through check in and then took us to our room. The property is massive with coconut trees everywhere and nicely landscaped gardens and pathways. We were staying at the pavilion which was a beautiful double storeyed place with amazing furniture, super comfortable bed and and amazing bathroom with a great bath tub. And this was the rooms with the lowest tariff, wonder how the expensive ones would be!

The resort has access to 3 separate beaches (phranang, railay and nammao) but only two are used for bathing and swimming. The resort has amazing restaurants overlooking the sea at every beach and has the most amazing food. Different restaurants have different cuisines but all of them are fantastic! In addition to the great food there is awesome service where people take care of the smallest of details to make sure that the stay is enjoyable.

The rates are definitley very very steep and especially considering the rates of hotels in thailand, but they make sure that no effort is wasted to make the stay worth the money paid.

Thanks for making our honeymoon special!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Promit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the Rayavadee a week before the Christmas holiday this year. It was our second time to the resort. We came for a week at Christmas four years ago. The resort was very much as we remembered it, and we really enjoyed ourselves.

On our first trip four years ago, we traveled with our 3.5 year-old and 6-month-old sons. Our family has since expanded, and on this trip we came with our 7.5, 4.5, and 1.5 year-old sons. While the resort does not have a Kids Club, they do offer children's activities every day. Our older boys participated in the cooking class one after and really enjoyed themselves. What we really came for, however, was a chance to get away and spend a good amount of family time at their awesome pool. The pool is gorgeous, located right next to the beach, and has a very toddler-friendly zero-entry section and lots of steps that he could hang out on. There were plenty of kids around the resort, and my older sons made friends with a few of them.

The rooms themselves are all 2-story villas. They are very good for families because there is a downstairs living area that parents can use at night when the kids are asleep. (We opted to have a room with 2 queen beds, which are actually on the same platform, and sleep altogether upstairs.) The bathtubs are huge. My boys actually enjoyed just hanging out in the warm bath after a long afternoon of swimming. The downstairs area is quite dark because many of the villas are surrounded by greenery. I actually like walking into the cool, dark room after being out in the sun all day, so this didn't bother me.

The grounds of the hotel are just beautiful, even if you never spend any time on the beaches. I enjoyed walking my toddler around in the stroller in the afternoons during his naps. The service and food are also very good. The staff all knew our names. Like everywhere in Thailand, they bend over backwards to take especially good care of the children.

There are just a few drawbacks to the resort. The first is that the beaches in Krabi are all public so you must share them with any daytrippers from surrounding islands and resorts. We spent almost no time on the beaches, except when we took our private speed boat trips to surrounding islands. Don't come expecting a private beach at this hotel. The other is that there are a number of things at the hotel that are not toddler or baby-friendly. The beautiful grounds are interspersed with lovely little koi-filled ponds and canals. While these are really charming and very enticing to the little ones, you have to keep a careful eye out that your toddler doesn't take off around a corner and end up in one of the ponds. In the rooms, the beds are very high, so it's difficult to leave a child under the age of 3 on them without worrying that they will topple off. Also, the stairs between the top and bottom floor of the villa are long, and the wall/railing between the stairwell and upper floor is quite short. We had to defend that area and keep our little one away from it. Otherwise he would have toppled over the edge and down 8 ft into the stairwell. But, as I said, the service is great. For example, we asked that they install a baby gate at the top of our stairs. An hour later, servicemen came and installed a secure wooden gate that had been specially fitted for the space.

All in all, it was a great week's stay. We look forward to going back in a few years.

Room Tip: Families should request a villa near the pool and Railay Beach. These rooms also get more light and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

If you want to visit, best time is off season when you can almost have the resort to yourself! and the beach! We didn't stay in the report as prices were too steep for us.. but we enjoyed dining here a few times during our stay in Railay.. Excellent choice to eat in the 3 restaurants.. all were amazing and not that expensive in comparison with european prices for the quality and ambiance. Cocktail of the day is a great treat, 2 for 1 - great idea to attract customers.. Not just kind service, but very professional too..Enjoyed the offered ride through the premises to take us to the cave restaurant for lunch which was a memorable experience.. More of a jungle than a hotel with cheeky monkies everywhere..Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCJULIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We were not staying in house but came to eat there for on our last evening in Railay, the restaurant is beautifully setup with choice to eat by the beach or on the 1st floor, but you will enjoy the beauty of this restaurant location at sun set, just exceptional.

The food is just fantastic, it's Royal Thai Cuisine, with some unique dishes (like the appetizer, fresh betel leave to stuff with prawn and an array of condiments was just superb), completed with a discreet and efficient service, has made this evening just unforgettable.

Of course the price is much more steeper than what you can find around, but far from what you would expect from a 5 star hotel serving this quality of food and with this kind of service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimookaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I came here for a New Years Eve, and since now everything was great. The landscape is breathtaking, cliffs coming from sea in a spectacular way, pool is great, you can chosse from 3 beaches, bungalows are bigger enough for both of us, plus two kids, and the service is satisfactory. Why satisfactory? Because even when they are making mistake, they have that smile, and a lot of willingness to solve in your favor. Massage therapy was amazing, and cheaper, comparing with other resorts from LHW. What I recommend? A trip (even is about 2,5 hours driving) for an astonishing ride with the elephants in the jungle. For kids was a joy, and for us something we will always remember. Nevertheless our daily breakfast, surrounded by (real) monkeys was a special experience. So, as I said, you can find everything: pool, beach, animals for kids, massage, beach for ladies, quietness for gentlemen, plus great Thai food.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan_Andronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stayed at Rayavadee for 4 nights in late October 2011. The Krabi area and the Railay headland has always been one of my favourite spots in Thailand, and returning to visit the Rayavadee reinforced that. A few observations about the hotel for people considering a trip to Krabi...

Location: Simply amazing. The backdrop against the rugged limestone cliffs and pockets of jungle is stunning. Add in the beaches, the wildlife and the hotels own landscaping (the pool area is spacious and perfectly situated with a view of the scenery and beach), and its hard to fault this aspect of the hotel.

Beach: This was a real disappointment. Whilst the beach itself is great, you would expect a hotel of this price and standard to have its own private beach. Instead, it is shared with the increasing number of other accommodation options sharing the Railay headland. Also, these beaches are invaded from 9am every day by hundreds of people on boats packed with day trippers. This doesn't really calm down until about 4pm, which spoils the experience a bit.

Service and Food: A few decent options for lunch and dinner which were all good but
no more so than you would expect from a place parked in this price bracket. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Cost: Along with the beach, the one real sticking point. The resort is lovely, but it should be given the prices which are some of the highest in the area and get close to Aman Resort prices. Aside from its location though, its hard to see what truly distinguishes the hotel from equally good (but considerably cheaper) hotels in the area (for example, the Aleenta in Phuket). You can never quite escape being reminded that the location of the Railay headland and the fantastic scenery is shared with dozens of other accommodation options right next door to the Rayavadee, from the backpacker to the 3/4* hotels - all of whom have paid fractions of the prices you have.

Other: The sunset cruise to a nearby deserted island was incredible. We were expecting a standard boat journey around a few islands, instead the crew surprised us by laying out a great evening picnic and some wine in a perfect spot to watch the sunset.

Summary: If money is no object, for the scenery alone this is definitely a hotel to visit. If you are thinking about splashing out on a treat, might be worth weighing up with similarly priced options nearby.

Room Tip: As a couple really no need to get anything more than the standard huts. They are excellent, with ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
2.2 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.5 km away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#6 of 13 in Railay Beach
903 reviews
2.9 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,347 reviews
13.8 km away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
0.4 km away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayavadee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayavadee Resort

Property: Rayavadee Resort
Address: 214 Moo 2, Tambon Ao-Nang | Amphoe Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayavadee Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayavadee's setting on the edge of Krabi's National Marine Park at the heart of the stunning Phranang Peninsula perfectly blends lush foliage, limestone cliffs, white sand beaches and the emerald waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort's award winning architecture and tropical landscapes were inspired by the atmosphere of a southern Thai village. Rayavadee's enchanting two-story pavilions and beachfront villas are spread over 26 acres of coconut groves, their spacious interiors and décor providing unsurpassed comfort for the property's highly discerning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rayavadee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayavadee Hotel Railay Beach
Rayavadee Resort Krabi
Rayavadee Hotel Krabi
Rayavadee Krabi
Rayavadee Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing