We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are coming to raily beach .. so you must come to rayavadee.”
Review of Rayavadee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rayavadee Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Hi everyone..
I want to share you all, an amazing resort in raily beach , Krabi .
Well the resort is in amazing jungle , it doesn’t matter if it’s raining, or shining, you will be always cover in amazing green color.
The location is crazy , you have from one hand raily beach ++++ amazing pool ++ nice place to sit and watch the sunset.
From other hand you have phranang beach , that you can go by walking to happy island.
Afternoon to have a drink in the grotto it’s one of the best.
The rooms are really nice , big ,if you have sleeping problems I can garanti you that here you will sleep well.
If you are couple +1
The kid bed is also really big ( for one not for 2 kids)
The service is really good & clean .
The breakfast is also in very high quality.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Moshe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

6 nights in mid September. Lovely grounds, well maintained, birds, lizards and those monkeys. Very quickly found out why the brown monkeys are the "bad monkeys" - contents of fruit bowl raided on our first morning but it was entertaing. Loved the quietness and how the day trippers are very politely kept out of the resort. No noisy bars or nightclub, no karaoke and no bingo. If you want that stay at one of the cheap pubs up the beach. Food was great and staff brilliant. Dinner in the grotto was very romantic. We decided we would becoming back again aftre the third night. One tip. The matttresses are very firm so ask for a soft mattress topper to be put on the bed.

Room Tip: Owards the middle the resort is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ratmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

My wife and I spoiled ourselves at the Rayavadee for five nights while we were in Thailand during August / September visiting our Son and Daughter in-law in Bangkok.
It began with a 1 hour trip from Bangkok (Air Asia) to Krabi where we were met at the airport by "Koy" one of the hotel staff, who promised that we would have fantastic weather even though it was the rainy season. Koy directed us to the hotel bus where we were joined by another couple on the same journey and we were all driven to the jetty (20 minutes) to board the luxury speedboat that ferried us down the river and across to Railay Bay. We arrived at the resort at low tide so we transferred to the specially built tractor towed vehicle to get to dry land.(a bit of fun) We were greeted at the hotel by several friendly staff with a cool drink, given a short induction/check-in and escorted to our Hydro Pool Pavilion. The rooms have everything except an iron(strangely) but you can get anything you want just ask. They even have a complimentary in house Nurse if you have the need. The accommodation is on 2 levels so not really wheelchair friendly but I'm sure they would figure it out if required.
The resort is in a jungle setting overlooking the ocean with white sandy beaches where you can swim in the 27 degree water. There are bars and restaurant's throughout the resort with the Grotto being our favourite. The breakfast is typical of a Thai 5 star hotel varied and excellent, if you don't see it, ask for it and it will appear. The staff were having their annual sports carnival while we were there so we watched them compete in a few beach sports while we drank cocktails (after all we are Aussies) delivered from the bar while we sat by the pool / beach. There is lots to do at the resort, diving trips, visit Phi Phi Island, rock climbing, trekking, kayaking, swimming or like us relaxing. The staff are well trained polite and eager to practice their English so engage them, you might even improve your Thai and you will definitely enjoy your stay even more. The beaches at the resort are public beaches and they are pretty famous so expect them to get a bit crowded during the day but if you get up early you can get the whole place to yourself for a few hours. The tour boats don't get ugly until around 9:30 and they are gone by around 4 pm. There is a large area cordoned off for safe swimming. We had an excellent stay and would go back in a heart beat. The trip back to Krabi airport was the same as our first class arrival. The management team should be proud of what they have achieved and the staff should pat themselves on the back.

Room Tip: Any room would be satisfactory, get one with a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

My husband, myself & two other couples we visited Thailand with had an amazing stay at the Rayavadee. We arrived by speedboat, but due to the tide being high, we could not walk to the resort as the path was underwater. The resort sent their private boat to ferry us the short distance in comfort. We were greeted by the most courteous staff, given welcome drinks and flower hand garlands which smelled absolutely divine! The resort property is absolutely gorgeous, the rooms (all free standing) are scattered about the property, accessed by pathways which wander you through stunning gardens with ponds and wildlife everywhere. Even getting lost finding our room was an enjoyable experience. The rooms are equipped with anything you might need - umbrellas in a small cabinet right outside the front door, slippers & robes, flip flops, fresh fruit, flashlights, a multitude of toiletries including their own brand of soaps & lotion, fragrant candles already lit and gourmet chocolates left in a glass covered tray at turn down service. We arrived by speedboat, but due to the tide being high, we could not walk to the resort as the path was underwater. After settling in, we had lunch in the Grotto restaurant, literally nestled in a cave overlooking the ocean; the food and service were impeccable. We borrowed kayaks from the hotel (at no additional charge) and paddled around, exploring little caves and beaches close to the resort. There was a hosted cocktail hour in the early evening which even included neck & shoulder massages. We enjoyed dinner at Raitalay Terrace during which it started to rain heavily, upon departure we were offered rides back to our rooms and umbrellas. After a peaceful nights sleep we made our way to Raya for breakfast and were pleasantly surprised with the many delicious options available at the buffet. Unfortunately we only booked one night here and had to depart that day - Patrick was most helpful arranging our transportation. Approximately 2 hours prior to our scheduled departure Patrick tracked us down at one of the restaurants to let us know the weather was too rough to take a speedboat but he had already taken care of alternate transportation for us. All of the staff were amazing, it is clear this establishment takes pride in it's customer service. Our only regret was not staying longer as we did not have the time to fully explore the property and enjoy all of the amenities - we will most definitely be back!!!!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room anywhere! Loved our Deluxe Bungalow #311
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and I spent 3 nights at Rayavadee. Absolutely loved it. The scenery is amazing. If you're energetic enough, make sure you make the effort to climb the 'track' to the view point! The restaurants are really nice, with plenty of options to choose from. The staff are great, friendly and helpful. The spa romantic package is very nice! The rooms are very nice, clean, spacious and well appointed. The only down side is that there can be quite a lot of walking between various resort locations. But that's not a bad thing to help burn off the delicious breakfasts! Recommended! :-)

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Perry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

I am giving 4 and not 3 all just because of our amazing GM Luna.even though her Mom was sick and had to go to surgery she came before we leave with Padthai hand written receipt on a handmade card , and this touched me so much and mad me cry.the resort is peaceful and in the middle of a forest .we had a pool villa , very nice and comfortable. We had a great service. The restaurants were good but not amazing . The breakfast was very nice. The huuuugeee disappointment was the beach. There are 3 beaches but you can use 2. The one close to our room was beautifullll, golden soft sand and crystal clear emerald water ......till11.30 then it would become a popular side walk with all the touristic boats,the noise , the smell of the gasoline and all the people walking , noisy and entering the resort since the beach is very narrow.the other beach Raily beach is bigger but with gravel and sand so not as nice as the other one and again the noises of the water boats.....so we planned our beach going, early morning beach and walk and swimming ( then you can call it paradise ) ,then staying in our room with the pool ( thenk God we got the pool villa ) . Then back on the beach around 6 . The Spa was amazing , the therapists were great we had amazing massages.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Taffoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine T, Director of Sales at Rayavadee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Dear Taffoolie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We are glad you loved the resort and appreciated the service of our team as well as our spa treatments. Regarding your comments on the beaches, it is true that there are no private beaches in Thailand so while our resort borders two of Thailand's most beautiful beaches (Railay and Phranang), our guests have to share the space with other visitors to the area. On certain days and at certain times, the beach can become busy with outside visitors but as you say, the entire area is very peaceful and tranquil in the mornings and late afternoons.

Overall, we are glad you had a special stay at Rayavadee and hope to have the chance to welcome you back again one day soon. Wishing you all the best in the meantime.

Kind regards,

Claudine T.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Rayavadee, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We are 2 friends traveling around Asia basically staying in 5 star resorts. This is also not my first time in Thailand so I want to be as balanced as possible in this review.

Arrival/check in
- the transfer from the boat to the hotel is done by tractor. This kind of takes away from the 5 star look but I will chalk it up to perhaps it's an engineering issue not to build a pier
- welcome drink was good and great explanation by the team
- only at departure did I realize that my passport did not come back from the check in process with my departure card

Grounds/Rooms
- the grounds are very lush but not well manicured
- the resort is huge and not very well indicated- especially at night
- the tiled M1/M2 roads are an accident waiting to happen - slippery and not well maintained
- there are monkeys everywhere. It's great if you like 'em but not so great if you are afraid of them (we loved them)
- the cabins are pretty much all the same. 2 floors with bedroom upstairs. We had an ant issue - woke up with ants crawling all over the beds. So at 2 am we did some ant killing and basically did not sleep. Reception was advised at 7am but room only cleaned at noon. They did spray it and there were only a couple of ants the next night

Restaurants
- service is nowhere near 5 star. In fact at the Thai restaurant we were barely given rice while other tables were given way more. It was clear he did not have enough rice for us but instead of bringing more he just rationed out what was there and left
- you either have no waiter service or too much. For example we had to flail our hands just to get service in one restaurant while having a waitress continuously interrupt our meal in another one.
- breakfast buffet is limited (you need to order from a fixed menu to get eggs) and not frequently replenished. Coffee tastes like instant coffee
- wine is expensive for the quality you get

Spa/Activities
- the spa was under maintenance but we did get great massages. However, when we booked, I repeatedly explained we were 2 people getting our own massages each but somehow they signed us up - 2 friends- for a couples massage. Thank God we found it hilarious - but it was definitely not cool.
- there is zero to do when it rains and not enough done by hotel to keep the people entertained (bingo game, karaoke, anything)

Beach
- the beaches are picturesque but with all of the outside people it becomes annoying and probably the reason why there are no chairs on the beach. We did know about the outside people in advance (and the boats) but really just expect a lot of noise, pollution and impact on 5 star image
- the beach attendant brought us to our chairs and gave us ONE bottle of water (i guess he wanted us to share)

Overall - the resort needs more people like Susan. We actually checked out early because we were so fed up and the person asked us why more as a formality rather than truly trying to understand the reasons.

It's a nice hotel but do not have a 5 star expectation. It is way too choppy in terms of service to equate a 5 star.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
8  Thank Nadia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.4 km away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Railay Beach
926 reviews
2.0 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.7 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 12 in Railay Beach
819 reviews
0.3 km away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,164 reviews
13.6 km away
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayavadee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayavadee Resort

Address: 214 Moo 2, Tambon Ao-Nang | Amphoe Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: $637 - $1,557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayavadee Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayavadee's setting on the edge of Krabi's National Marine Park at the heart of the stunning Phranang Peninsula perfectly blends lush foliage, limestone cliffs, white sand beaches and the emerald waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort's award winning architecture and tropical landscapes were inspired by the atmosphere of a southern Thai village. Rayavadee's enchanting two-story pavilions and beachfront villas are spread over 26 acres of coconut groves, their spacious interiors and décor providing unsurpassed comfort for the property's highly discerning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rayavadee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayavadee Hotel Railay Beach
Rayavadee Resort Krabi
Rayavadee Hotel Krabi
Rayavadee Krabi
Rayavadee Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing