We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King Climbers Rocks!”
Review of Railay Beach

Railay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.87*
and up
Half Day Rock Climbing Tours at Railay Beach in Krabi
More Info
US$55.57*
and up
Full Day Rock Climbing and Caving Tours at Railay Beach in Krabi
More Info
US$23.15*
and up
Phuket to Railay Beach by High Speed Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“King Climbers Rocks!”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is my first trip to Krabi. I signed up for a full-day rock climbing experience with King Climbers via railay.com. My climbing guide, Sue, was awesome. Even if you're an experienced climber, he would make an excellent climbing partner. I've only climbed outdoors once, but with his guidance and encouragement, I topped out 6 routes in one day, including a grade 6A route that was 30m high -- all on one attempt each!

I highly recommend King Climbers for anyone who wants to go climbing in Railay. Remember to stop and enjoy the view from the top of each route. It's nothing short of breath taking! :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,121
    1,140
    473
    170
    109
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Depends on the weather”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I guess the success of a visit to Railay all depends on the weather and the tide. We went on a cloudy day and arrived at hight tide. The longtailboat ride was rough, and on arrival there was virtually no beach there. We had to wade through the sea quite a stretch to get ashore, and another stretch to reach the tiny strip of beach that wasn't washed by the tide. The ride back was even rougher. I can imagine this to be wonderful in the sun though - even on a cloudy day the Krabi landscape with its stunning rock formations doesn't fail to amaze and inspire awe.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“from start to finish amazing”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

you'll never say your bored on Railay Beach from the time you arrived there so many activities to sign up for and some you can venture out on your own.
thing to do:
rock climbing
snorkeling
cliff diving
the lagoon
local cave tour
monkey watching
trek through the jungle
if you want fresh grounded coffee on the island there"s only one place to go . Right next to Phagwan resort up the hill from the cave tour. they also have rock climbing classes.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Latoyanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautful beach”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Lovely beach with a few canoes to hire and a few restaurants near the beach. You can walk around most of the beach and there are boats selling food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank pinksparkle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Broken glass, rusted nails and filthy”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Avoid at all cost! I visited the beach and was shock to see garbage right on the sand, nails, bottles, plastic bags, broken glass etc, etc. i have never seen anything like it in all my travels.The water was warm, the tailboats park right where people are bathing and the fumes as they come dropping tourists was bothersome. The bugs were bitting, there were jellyfish in the water and the color of the sand and the water was a let down. I understand that this is the rainy season, but come on! This is considered a gem of a beach around Thailand, and to see it in this considtion is a shame.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank pokey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Railay Beach also viewed

 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 

Been to Railay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing