We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
51
20
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
20
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kite beach beach cottage yacht club union island rum punch pool table look forward on arrival jt pro center wonderful staff day trip nice place to stay mosquito netting small island making us feel charming place cleaning staff
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 91 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2017

We booked to stay in a Beach cottage with the expectation of having a few days of good living, being pampered, sunbaking on the beach with a good book, an endless supply of rum cocktails and convenient eating on site in the restaurant. On arrival were told, that due to it being the end of the season, the bar, restaurant and reception would close each day at 4pm. We were disappointed as for the price we paid we did expect something a little classier, with beverages and food on hand.
The room was tired and certainly in need of refurbishment, though the bed was comfortable and the A/C albeit noisy, worked well. As a concession for closing early, we were given a kettle, tea and milk and we were able to buy rums in advance before the bar closed at 4. We had to walk into Clifton to eat in the evening and was glad to have taken a torch as the walkway was narrow and unlit on our return to the hotel. The included Breakfast was basic but we got on well with all the staff and they seemed to try to make our stay enjoyable but were hampered by strict hotel policies. Even though our room was right next to bar, the wifi only worked within a small circle of the reception area. We would not have booked this place if we had known that the hotel was only partially open. We had to stay 2 days extra as the ferries were totally unreliable. On checkout we didn't leave on good terms as there was a issue with the bill which fortunately was rectified later when we found out the hotel was managed by the Palm Island resort.
On a +ve note it seems since late 2016 the hotel has new owners and has had a facelift.
Note Bene, the tourist season on Union (and the rest of St Vincent and the Grenadines including Grenada) runs from Dec through to Easter. Out of season it's pretty much dead, amenities, trips are cancelled, restaurants and bars closed or shut early. As such, there was no sign of any sharks let alone them swimming around the dining area. Would we go back to Union and the Anchorage, probably not.

Room tip: tell them what’s expected, beds, amenities, 1st floor, beach or kite surfing. Get assurances and not judge by photos and what's advertised
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caribblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded January 24, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your visit.
I am deeply saddened to read the review of your stay at our hotel. Saying we are sorry seems inadequate in the moment but we are truly sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations whilst you were here. This is certainly not the image we wish to impart from a visit to our hotel nor the level of service we pride ourselves on. Regrettably, during that time the hotel was transitioning through Management following which it was closed for a period of time to conduct renovations. We reopened for business in late November, and I am pleased to say many of the issues encountered have been addressed. The sharks are swimming happily in their pond and we even have a beautiful Eagle Stingray! We understand your experience was disappointing but we truly hope you will avail us the opportunity to once again serve you. We would love to discuss this further with you and would appreciate if you can reach out to us via email gm@aycunionisland.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Anchorage Yacht Club in Clifton for a week to scuba dive the Tobago Cays and surrounding islands. This small hotel is conveniently located a very short ride from the airport on an electric cart. All of the staff is very helpful and friendly we must say. Though the hotel (not a B&B) has a very poor restaurant and their bar is lackluster. Everyone walks off property to their nearest competition for dinner, which has very good food.
The Anchorage has a great location and could do so little to attract their guests to stay on property, such as a simple happy hour WITH evening music, more live steel drums and promote a dinner special. They are in the middle of updating dated rooms since they have been acquired by a major resort company, so that will help as well, since it was built in 1970. We stayed in one of the beach cottages that have been updated, it was nice.
Bathrooms are not air-conditioned but with the breeze flowing though both ends it works.
All in all a very convenient place to stay with the harbor in front and the airport right behind it. We would recommend it if you are looking for an adventure on a small local island and don't need luxury accommodations. The island is known as charter sailing base for the beautiful Tobago Cays, scuba diving and kite surfing enthusiasts.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank greerlesliea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded January 24, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and depend upon these reviews to help us identify areas for improvement of the guest experience. We have taken steps to address the issues highlighted particularly, providing more entertainment options and additions to the F&B choices and will continue to use these reviews to proactively enhance our services. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a beach cottage which was nicely decorated and came with all amenities needed. A small beach is just a few steps away and the harbour view is amazing.

But what makes the difference is the staff. Cordelia was a big help even before we arrived at Union and it continued during our whole stay. Glen and all other staff at the reception and the restaurant were extremely nice and friendly and we felt truly welcome.

Thank you for everything and see you when we return to Union Island.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bkker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded January 23, 2017

On behalf of the management and staff, thank you so much for your review. We are happy to have satisfied your needs and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2016

I have been to this hotel twice, last time in Mar 2016. We went to Union for kitesurfing. Me and my 11 year old son had wonderful time. Island itself is the small place where everybody knows everybody. After a few days you get to know every staff member. They all are very friendly and helpful. Tireless manager Nat is always ready to go an extra mile
to make you happy, he made vast improvements to the property over the years. Rooms are nice, clean, rustic Caribbean style. This is why you go there.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank arozgoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2016

Confession: I have been a guest in the AYC only once, maybe 20 years ago. The room was nice, great view, in those days a three minute walk to board an outgoing plane (today it's about six to ten!). But I have been hanging out there since 1980, latest visit about 2013, maybe 10+ visits in all, while living on boats in the harbor or tied up at their dock. It's been really raggedy over the years; more than once I found it closed except for the bar; changing ownership, etc. When open it has always featured food ranging from more-than-acceptable to great; staff is always nice (they wash clothes etc for visiting sailors). But for me the bottom line is in my title -- I love it. I love it. I love it.

Room tip: get a room on the second floor, facing the harbor.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bergsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews