We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendor on the Lovina Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Damai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Damai
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Lovina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Splendor on the Lovina Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Staying at the Damai in Lovina was one of the highlights of an already phenomenal honeymoon in Bali. The hotel is perfect. The staff is amazing. The food was divine. The location is beyond magic. Don't miss out on the glorious spa services.

Our only disappointment was having to leave. We can not wait to return.

Room Tip: Uma Tirta. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermilye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    74
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
126
492
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed in the Umah Rajah Villa just for the three nights while traveling around the island. It was already our fourth trip to Bali. The villa was gorgeous. Three bedrooms, living room and a library-cinema downstairs. Spectacular views of the forest, rice fields and the sea. Our only complaint, not enough outdoor space, you can only enjoy the views from the pool or gazebo.
The hotel has a very picturesque area, with lots of different exotic plants. Overall a very nice place.
However, we didnt quite like restaurant. Perhaps we just expected too much, but i wll write a separate review about our experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Igorivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We had a fantastisk and relaaaax stay at Damai. You don't find a hotel closer to Paradise !
Food was like a Michelin restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I are at the end of a 4-night stay at the Damai. Overall we have loved this place. The villas are beautiful with charming Balinese bathrooms and outdoor showers. The setting is lush and tropical and jungly. The food is delicious and top-notch, although expensive; similar to what you would pay at a fine dining restaurant in the US. We are grateful breakfast is included and it's more than ample. The fresh bread is so good! The is also a nightly happy hour and we highly recommend the ginger- honey mojito: it's the best ever. We enjoyed the nightly bonfire as well when weather permitted.
The staff is warm and friendly, very helpful and quick to address any issue.
Our only disappointment is the town of Lovina. From what we saw, the beach is trashed and not very nice. It wasnt the Bali paradise we pictured, although we didn't explore too far. The beach east of the dolphin monument ended in a pile of trash and stray dogs. There is not much in the town to recommend with the exception of Amarinth spa, which offers wonderfully relaxing massages at half the hotel prices. So we have stayed at the Damai pool since our first venture to Lovina. They do offer a free shuttle to the town. Overall if you like luxury in a jungle setting and don't miss the beach too much for a few days, we definitely recommend the Damai.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sissymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsNBali, Owner at The Damai, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Hello to you both, and thank you for all your nice words, which are truly appreciated by all staff at Damai.

We are sorry, but have to agree with you, that the nearby Lovina Beach is indeed a mess these weeks. The village of Kalibukbuk in the centre of Lovina area is finishing a beach promenade, and although it will be completed by end february, the process is disruptive just now. Building work aside, we know that both the villagers and visitors to the village will enjoy the finished result.

Even though this beach promenade is a drive away from the hotel, it is unfortunate that you couldn't enjoy the nearby area during your stay. We hope that you might someday give us the opportunity to show you the finished result.

Hoping you enjoy your continued journeys - selamat japan from every one at Damai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerobokan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed just one night at Damai on 19 Jan and was a true pleasure. The staff were excellent, the room was beautiful and the location was stunning. We originally were booked into a Deluxe (which looked amazing) but due to the fact that it was a little further away from the pool/bar area and my husband had a broken leg they moved us to a Superior which was just as nice (less the hot tub which I had my eye on!).
The rooms were extremely well maintained and there were so many little touches which made our short stay special. From the welcome we received, to the fruit in the room, the Balinese treats which were left when the room was turned down and the leaving gift.
Loved the outdoor shower and the beautiful canopy bed too.
I had a massage and the manager of the Spa was very knowledgeable and explained many of the treatments in great detail.
The best part of our stay though was the food. I've lived in Bali (in the south) for 2 years and I can honestly say it was the best steak I've had here. Breakfast was delicious too!
Well worth a visit - we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

The last trip here was my third time at the Damai. It's always beautiful and always a pleasure to be back. It's always a nice touch to be recognised by the staff as well.

This time I picked one of the new Studio pool villas. These are placed next to the Master Pool Villas and they can be combined to create a three bed villa with two pools. The style of the villa was modern asian and was pleasing to the eye and very well laid out. The room was spotlessly clean as well.

The Damai is a boutique vila hotel,and is small but perfectly formed. The staff are great too however the General Manager was conspicuous by his lack of interaction with the guests, he should take some tips from his predecessor...

I do have one moan and it's at odds with some recent reviews...the food.

The food is of a very very good standard and I didn't eat anything that I was unhappy with. Two things strike me however (1) the standard has dropped below the excellent level it used to be. I understand the long serving chef has left and, of course, it takes time for someone new to find their level; (2) the core menu does not seem to have changed in the last 5 or 6 years.

Overall a very very good hotel. One star knocked off for the dip in food excellence but otherwise excellent. And yes, I would definitely go to Damai again.

Room Tip: The best value rooms are next to the infinity pool. No pools for those villas however but the main p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josefk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NilsNBali, Owner at The Damai, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
It is a pleasure for the hotel and staff to welcome return guests - especially with our guests traveling so far to stay with us - so we thank you very much for your nice words and input, they are truly appreciated, as is your visit.

We hope that you will like the new menus just as much as in the past when you next return - we are adjusting them at the moment - although we will probably retain a few of the hotel classics in there for your joy of recognition.

But although it is indeed possible to hit the main pool with an olive stone from your veranda, we have to advise you that throwing stones are against hotel regulations.

All the best from all at Damai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed here as a family for 5 nights in July. I couldn't fault this hotel AT ALL. The food is fabulous and staff cannot do enough for you. We booked the last night in a pool villa which I wish we had booked for our entire stay. We went snorkelling in Lovinia which the hotel organised and it was great, worth doing if you've got a 13 yr old with you. I would go back to this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sujo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovina Beach
39.1 km away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
36.5 km away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
34.0 km away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
Rambutan Boutique Hotel
#6 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
3.7 km away
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
Lilin Lovina Beach Hotel
#8 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.4 km away
The Lovina
The Lovina
#2 of 24 in Lovina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Damai

Property: The Damai
Address: Jalan Damai | Kayuputih, 81161, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lovina Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lovina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Damai 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damai is a boutique resort in the green hills above Lovina. 15 Beautifully appointed villas in a lush tropical park welcome you with stunning views over the North Bali coast and the distant volcanoes of Java. The award-winning restaurant serves delicious local and international cuisine with organic ingredients from the resort's own gardens and farm. The Damai is perfect to relax from your daily hectic world, to enjoy the private luxury of a pool villa during your honeymoon, or simply to relax in your private pool after a wonderful massage and before a delicious meal over the hills of Lovina. Of course, The Damai offers you all the facilities to stay in touch with your home world. Your fellow customers believe that The Damai is the best hotel on Balis North coast - let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Hotel Lovina Beach
Damai Lovina Hotel
Hotel Damai Lovina
The Damai Lovina Beach, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing