We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
147
71
30
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
71
30
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall pooldolphin tourair conking bedfishing boatsbeach sellerssmall hoteldolphin watchwonderful staygusnyomansandyoceanbalivilladolphinsbeachside
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 258 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

The place is lovely with spacious rooms and a very nice pool. It's located right on the beach and you can hear the waves gently crashing on the shores through the day and night. One sad part is it's a bit far from town - around 3-4 km so it's difficult to commute unless you hitch a ride with Gus, who runs the place, or rent bikes or a taxi. The food is great, though slightly more expensive than some of the other places we ate at. I personally loved the way the cutlery was tied with a leaf and presented on the table! The drinks are also a bit steep. The choice of music in the restaurant area is also very nice and adds to the ambience. If we stayed longer, I would have probably continued the routine of swimming in the pool, the sea, the pool, the sea and some more! The staff are friendly and cheerful and happy to help.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Anusha666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy B, Owner at Villa Agung Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2018

Hi Anusha666,


You are the perfect guest!
Please come back soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

We went with family and friends for a nice Sunday lunch and as usual we had a great selection of local and western food, John Dory Fillets were fantastic. Drinks at reasonable prices staff always happy, they gave made many improvements in menu and actual property.. A must go to for good food.. Hotel looks great now also.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile

Having seen other reviews I feel mean to consider rating the hotel as 'average' though I don't feel our stay was 'very good'.
The positives: beautiful beach front setting; lovely private pool with ample loungers; friendly helpful and hardworking staff; good air con & wifi; great dolphin and snorkelling activities arranged by Nyoman. The negatives: we were taken to a room on the 1st floor though it wasn't ready when we got to it, so were given room 1 and I'm not sure the room was what we booked/paid for (Deluxe Double Room, 1 King Bed, Terrace, Sea Facing); the shower needed modernisation; our quality of sleep was affected by the amount of light in the rooms with the curtain set up that I've seen in other reviews and the local and hotel dogs barking at 04:30-6am on two of our three night stay.

We enjoyed our stay and feel with a few improvements the experience could be enhanced further.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy B, Owner at Villa Agung Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

showers have been totally redone and our windows now have double curtaining to block all light.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017

This hotel is marvelous and the owner/managers Gus and Sandy and all their staff are amazing and super friendly. In fact probably this is one of the most friendly hotels I have ever stayed in.

We stayed here with friends to celebrate my partner's birthday and they organised a cake for us to be brought out for his birthday lunch which we had at the hotel. The food is of a good standard and there are also beers, wine, spirits and a few cocktails to tempt you. The restaurant closes a little early around 8pm, but probably because it was a little quiet and there are plenty of restaurants close by with a short walk on the beach.

The hotel is beachfront on a nice clean beach and there is a double floor pavilion on the beachside for relaxing, eating and chilling out. Behind this is a beautiful and new swimming pool with plenty of sunbeds. There are some nice new family rooms to the side of the pool and and six older rooms at the back, all overlooking the pool and beach area. The hotel seems to be going through an ongoing maintenance program and the older rooms are getting a lick of paint. There is obviously a big effort to keep this hotel looking good.

They do a nice daily breakfast with homemade breads and jams and if you want extra there is also an extra breakfast menu with extra items.

They can organise your trips from the hotel and all are reasonablly priced. Our friends enjoyed the dolphin trip that leaves a bit later to avoid the earlier morning rush.

We will definately be going back sometime in the near future to experience some more of this relaxing hotel and the amazing hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank balijazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy B, Owner at Villa Agung Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

It was such a joy to have you all and I am glad the cake went down so well (and so were the staff for the rest of the cake!) You really make all the hard work we put in worth it and we would love to have you back again, maybe for good old English Christmas dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017

There are 9 rooms, 6 of which are older and need a little upgrading, which the owners appear to be doing now. The outside areas are very nice, already upgraded, and right on the beach. The owners and staff are the friendliest I have seen in a hotel. Breakfast is simple, but ample and good.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1000Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy B, Manager at Villa Agung Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

it is always nice when the guests arrive and can enjoy themselves . mike is correct , as the owners are always upgrading the hotel , and we look forward to the response from the guests . the responses we receive are always helpful and are never negative in nature . thank you mike .
sincerely
gus hochrein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews