We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime”

Whanganui River Canoes
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Raetihi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join Whanganui River Canoes for a three - five day canoe/kayak trip on the Whanganui River. You can choose to 'do it yourself'with a freedom hire, or have our guides cater for you and show you the best spots along the river. You can meet us the night before your trip at the Raetihi Holiday Park for comfortable, affordable accommodation, or ask us about our Holiday Home if that is more your style. We will make sure you are packed, briefed and ready to go before you start the adventure of your lifetime.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Our family of 3 young adults and their parents completed the three day river trip over easter. We would highly recommend this guided trip especially our guide, reina and his younger sister. They were very knowledgeable and organised ...The canoes were in excellent condition and we were taught as we went about canoeing on this amazing river.
The company organised everything perfectly from booking accommodation to the sausage sizzle at the end of our trip. All we had to do was show up.
The food was plentiful and delicious.
Could not fault this once in a lifetime trip. Would very much recommend a guided trip. We finished the adventure with lots of smiles on all our faces. Thanks wanganui river canoe company. You guys are amazing!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank spyker2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRCRHP, Owner at Whanganui River Canoes, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2018

Hi everyone - thanks for coming along with us!!

So glad you loved your trip. The guides loved having you guys on the trip too.

It's so great being able to help families make memories!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"holiday park"
in 9 reviews
"whanganui river"
in 22 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 6 reviews
"canoe trip"
in 6 reviews
"first night"
in 3 reviews
"starting point"
in 3 reviews
"great fun"
in 4 reviews
"cold beer"
in 2 reviews
"short notice"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic service"
in 2 reviews
"guided tour"
in 2 reviews
"safe trip"
in 2 reviews
"ben"
in 17 reviews
"freedom"
in 7 reviews
"irina"
in 6 reviews
"paddling"
in 10 reviews
"rapids"
in 13 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 67 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2018

The Whanganui has been declared an entity in its own right. Our guides Te Haumihiata and Raena were respectful to the river and the canoe experience was also an introduction into the Maori way. I so appreciated our guides, their humour, their understanding and I learnt so much. Plus the food was great.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank kckk128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRCRHP, Owner at Whanganui River Canoes, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2018

Thanks for coming along with us. We try to treat the Awa with respect, it is great that customers can see that, and awesome that you learned from your trip :)

Thanks again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018 via mobile

Having spoken to a lot of people they say that these guys are awesome and they are right! Very friendly family atmosphere with pets to offer comfort to travellers.
We did the 3 day canoe trip from Whakahoro to Pipiriki. Everything was well organised and clear. Equipment was in great condition.
Through no fault of our own an unexpected and extremely high flood swept away all canoes but they were great about it, even though we felt terrible.
Fed us a nice family meal of fish and chips when we got back.
Ben, Rebecca, Jon, Raina, Trevor and family you are great. I'm sending people your way! Thank you so much for an awesome experience!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank jumason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRCRHP, Owner at Whanganui River Canoes, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2018

Thanks so much for coming along with us !! What an adventure, huh?

I think we managed to eventually find most of our canoes. Some people are still digging canoes out of slips further upstream :0

You are more than welcome for the fish and chips - it was getting a bit late and a bit cold for you to find tea on the way home!!

Thanks again for coming along with us:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018

Our group of six (age range 61 - 72) had a wonderful time on our four-day guided tour. The guides (Raena Bennett and Te Haumihiata) were great - very knowledgeable and patient with the less experienced of us, and I can thoroughly recommend them. We covered some 120 km, and had a ball. The food was delicious and plentiful.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank RFJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRCRHP, Owner at Whanganui River Canoes, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2018

Hi guys - thanks for paddling with us.

It can be a bit nerve wracking coming along on such a big trip, but our guides really go out of their way to make everyone comfortable :)

Thanks again for coming on our trip :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2018 via mobile

Staff and equipment were top notch. Highly recommended for your Whanganui river adventure. They bring you right to the launch and give you detailed information on the river. The review of canoe operation was so helpful since it was my first time on the river. Then they picked us up at the end. It made everything run so smoothly.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank tahikertrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRCRHP, Owner at Whanganui River Canoes, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2018

Hi guys - thanks for paddling with us :) I hope the rest of your TA hike went well!!

We try our hardest to make sure everyone is well prepared for the trip - so thanks for mentioning it :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whanganui River Canoes also viewed

Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Raetihi, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Whanganui River Canoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing