We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveller rating
640
241
48
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
640
241
48
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant view mount kilimanjaro game drives our waiter monkeys and baboons electric fence perimeter fence african style reception area amazing location watch elephants perfect view day safari amazing experience buffet food soup lunch and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
589 - 594 of 954 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was a great start to our holiday in Kenya and Tanzania. The Hotel is in the grounds of Amboseli National park so is surrounded by wildlife and the beauty of mount Kilimanjaro. The grounds are really lovely to walk around and the hotel staff are very welcoming and helpful. There is a fantastic pool and also a massage parlour if you're wanting to wind down from the bumps of the safari jeeps. we were lucky enough to witness a lion kill across the field just infront of our hotel room as we were getting up for an early morning safari but dont worry as there is a large electric fence separating the hotel grounds and the reserve. The rooms were more than comfortable and very spacious and the food always enjoyable and varied.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonwaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Ol Tukai was an amazing experience. Our room exceeded our expectations: it had a very large comfortable bed with mosquito net, 'wardrobe,' a lovely shower room, and a cute porch outside with table and chairs looking out at Amboseli park (elephants included!). Plenty of gibbons wondering around too! Our Ol Tukai game driver, Moses, was very helpful and his vehicle seemed better than some of the minibus-types we saw. Food was varied and fresh with plenty of choice. The lodge shuts off the electricity once during the day and once at night but this is only for a couple of hours. Paths to the rooms are lit at night.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shortie115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Sep 2011 - Stayed at the Ol Tukai for two nights. A beautiful and welcoming place. From our beds, we watched elephant and zebras stroll by. The grounds were very well kept, the rooms were comfortable, well decorated and beds came with really good mosquito netting. Staff was friendly, happy and very helpful. The maasai men who walked the grounds were terrific and shared their culture and knowledge of the area easily and warmly. The paths were well lit in the evenings and the pool and common sitting areas were great. This lodge was definitely one of the best we stayed at during our 8 day safari. Would recommend it easily. We took up the front desk's off to watch a private screening of "Echo and the elephants from Amboseli." It was a terrific way to plunge us in to the wildlife we were starting to see. Our guide, Andrew, from Tamasha Africa was fantastic. Would visit this property again any time.

Room tip: You may want to ask for a lodge with only one neighbor as the walls are a bit thin. If you're in the middle lodge, you'll have neighbors on either side.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ves C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Ol Tukai was the nicest place we stayed whilst in Kenya. It faces Mt Kilimanjaro squarely -- although it is mostly obscured during the day by cloud and bad air quality. Best views of Kilimanjaro are in the early morning. Amboseli National Park has only two lodges within the park and Ol Tukai is one of them. Public spaces are spacious, lots of light; well-appointed with pan-African art and well-maintained grounds. Not a budget hotel. Staff are well-trained, polite, helpful, friendly. Level of service probably reflects more up-market clientele. Shortcomings include no continuous electricity, limited and slow internet access, weak blowdryers, lots of dust! Frankly, these shortcomings are minimal compared against the positives. Modified buffet for meals (breakfast and lunch are 100% buffet but dinner is buffet salad and dessert with plated main course). Restaurant staff accommodates late arrivals. Dining hall space is grand with high ceilings, lots of light, and outdoor seating during daylight. At dinner-time, candles on each table create a romantic space. The wind picks up something fierce and temperatures plummet when night falls so don't expect to dine outdoors in the evening. Lots of bugs so rooms come with mosquito nets and complimentary DEET lotion. Rooms are spacious and clean. Towels are big and fluffy. Shower (no bathtubs) are large with plenty of natural light but privacy). Americans, a note, bring your own wash cloths. Ol Tukai follows the British style of NOT providing them. Each room has a small veranda in front where you can sit outdoors and relax. The lodge provided us with FOUR bespoke game drives within a 24 hour period. An afternoon drive, a night drive (highly recommended but very cold!), a morning drive and a mid-day drive with a birdlife and swamp-life emphasis. The driver was polite and accommodating and the vehicle was clean. For morning and night drives, Masai blankets were provided. The air strip is less than 20 minutes away on good roads. Laundry service is on a 24 hour turn-around, but when asked, they accommodated our request to have it done within a few hours. They accepted all forms of clothing so contrary to what a lot of guide books advised, they will launder underwear. Gift shop had diverse selection of items beyond just kitsch.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Parisfoodie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Ol Tukai is possibly one of the best lodges there are in Africa. The location is absolutely stunning, and the sheer expanse of the Amboseli plains and the slopes of Kilimanjaro leading upto the summit is visible (clouds permitting!) as soon as you walk through the main lobby! Its absolutely incredible. Almost at the same instant you are likely to see huge herds of elephant in the Ol Okenya Swamp (one of the 2 huge swamps that provide water to the region) that literally borders the eastern wing of the lodge. There is a perimeter fence which consists of 2 -3 parallel lines of electrified wire that can be missed from a distance - so you feel there is nothing between you and the animals! And its possible to reach within a few yards of herds of zebra, though its not recommended to walk right up if elephants are by the fence. The fence is electrified so there is no real danger but its adviseable to be safe than sorry.

I have been to this lodge each year for the past 4 years and once many years before. Its been recently refurbished but has retained its original appeal. The rooms are comfortable and large. During the day you can lie back and see animals a few hundred yards from your bed through the windows or open door.

The staff are always friendly and willing to assist. The lodge has all the amenities one needs on a 3-4 day safari including an open air swimming pool with a stunning view of Kilimanjaro, and a table tennis table! The lobby is nice and the main dining room has a certain charm which comes alive in the evenings. The outdoor lunch area is really nice as you can see elephants, hippo, zebra, wildebeest, (even a serval once which people mistook for a leopard and literally charged towards it with their cameras and cutlery and whatever they were holding at the time!), and birds as you dig into a well prepared buffet meal with plenty of choice for vegetarians and non vegetarians. Watch out for the vervet monkeys though there is a Masai always on watch during meals!

The rooms on the southern side have Kili views, while those on the eastern side face the swamp where the animals are. At night it can be a challenge to walk up to the fence not knowing what lies beyond! Just sitting outside the chalet and seeing the stars is a great way of relaxing in one of the prime spots for wildlife viewing in Africa. Not to mention the sounds of hippos, hyena, even lion that go on all through the night.

Dont miss the bar, especially on the first floor! Imagine having a Tusker 'baridi' (cold in swahili) when you need it the most - at 12 noon while watching wild animals!

For those who are keener on wildlife you can watch a wildlife video in the conference room.

I can go on and on...! This is easily one of my favourite places in Africa and I have traveled extensively in eastern and southern Africa.

Room tip: If you want to be closer to the animals go for the rooms near the swamp; otherwise go for the Kili facing rooms.
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VikInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews