We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
934 results
Traveller rating
627
235
48
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
235
48
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant view mount kilimanjaro game drives our waiter monkeys and baboons electric fence perimeter fence african style reception area amazing location watch elephants amazing experience day safari buffet food perfect view lunch and dinner mosquito net
Filter
Updating list...
560 - 565 of 934 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2012

What a great place to go on a safari. Lodge is wonderful, food great and service very attentive. Mt. Kilimanjaro view rooms are worth the extra price. Saw everything from lions to cape buffalo, elephants, hippos, wildebeests, zebras and hyenas. Watch the vervet monkeys...they like to steal sugar packets out of your rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SalleyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Ol Tukai was the second lodge we stayed at while on safari, and if we thought the first was good we hadn't seen anything! Beautiful rooms, all with good views of Kilamanjaro. The food was very good. We went Tsavo East- Amboseli- West and we found Amboseli to be the chilliest in the morning- not cold, only wore a light jacket. The monkeys at this lodge are more wild than ones in Mombasa, and will try to take any food you have on the way to your lodge, but being chased by monkeys just added to the experience for us!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemma_smallpeice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Ol Tukai is the best location in Amboseli National Park - both from Mt Kilimanjaro and the airstrip. We booked a 3 day/2 night package that included all meals and 2 game drives each day. We requested a mountain view room (the other is the elephant view) which allowed us to wake up each morning and see Mt Kilimanjaro through the windows from our bed. Even though there were no king beds available, the staff was quick to arrange to put the twin beds together and make a perfect 'king' bed. Monkeys and birds roam the property ... as well as a few Masai tribesmen to keep them away during meal times.

The staff is truly what makes this lodge special - they all went above and beyond to satisfy your every need. We were particularily pleased that our safari drives were done through the lodge as their vehicle (a large open-window range rover) was far more desirable than the Toyota vans with windows that were used by quite a few companies. Issac and Moses were terrific guides and we were lucky to have private game drives each time. They easily accomodated our every wish, including a side trip to visit the nearby Masai tribe (highly recommended! ... though be prepared to drop a few Kenyan shillings to purchase their crafts and support their school ... and you might even consider bringing some school supplies and trinkets to share/exchange).

The food was abundant - mostly Kenyan style with Indian/vegetarian dishes too. Everything was served buffet style with made-to-order omelettes/eggs every morning and large displays of breads, fruits/salads, desserts. The staff was ever attentive and plates were cleared as soon as you were finished. Everyone has their own table, so there isn't much interaction between the guests. Lunch is taken out on the porch with views of the wildlife just beyond the fences. The only down side was that no beverages were included (except coffee/tea) but the prices were fairly reasonable.

Room Tip: Decide your viewing preference - Mt Kilimanjaro (our preference) or Elephants. Don't worry about the beds setup (twin v king) as they can be arranged to satisfy your desires. For the mountain view - cabin rooms 61-64 are the best as they are in front and the right distance away from the main lodge activity
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kshay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Ol Tukai Lodge is one of my favorite places in Kenya. Is like an oasis in the middle of Amboseli Park. The service and staff are very kind and helpfull. The main lobby is decorated with a superb taste. The chef Ernst Atenya gave us the best cuisine in Kenya. The wonderful bedroom-chalets have the best views to the plains of Amboseli packed with elephants and wildlife, facing the outstanding Kilimanjaro on the horizon. Every sunset, dawn and sunrise are worth the trip, specially when the elephant herds are a few steps from the lodge gardens. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonicaCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The Ol Tukai Lodge is located in the heart of the Amboseli National Park. We were warmly welcomed in the lobby which is decorated with African elements. The spacious lodge is built in block house style; each block house accommodates three rooms next to each other. The rooms are comfortable and the bathroom has a view into a small private garden. The service is very friendly. For lunch there is a buffet in the open-air restaurant. Dinner is served inside because it’s chilly in the evening in Amboseli. Between the game drives you can relax at your terrace and watch the game in front of the Kilimanjaro scenery or hang out at the swimming pool. The Ol Tukai Lodge is a good place to explore Amboseli National Park and its elephants.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MX5Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews