We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel”
Review of Rumah Cantik

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaliasem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rumah Cantik
Reviewed 13 November 2010

My husband and our friends spend 4 pleasant days at Rumah Cantic which we found both nice and private - situated in a very local environment. We went to bed to the sounds of the croaking of the frogs in the fields and woke up to the crowing of the neighbour’s roosters.
There are four rooms in two villas in Rumah Cantic. We stayed on the first flour and our friends in the basement. We found the first floor room most agreeable and more bright with a nice view to the fields. We decided to have our breakfast in the pavilion in the garden – and what a breakfast! We could choose anything we wanted served and prepared by the lovely and more than helpful staff. The staff and service is absolutely first class.
While we stayed at Rumah Cantic we made two tours with their local driver who picked us up at Pemuteran - free of charge. The driver was very helpful and suggested interesting places to visit on our tours.
If you want to live in a local village in a typical Balinese house Rumah Cantic is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10April
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2010

I'v been to Bali several times and if you ever want to go to Bali, this is the perfect place. The hotel is in a small local villiage, so you get the real Bali feeling, away from all the cars and stress you often experiences down south.
Lovina is a lovely little town with nice resturants, small shops and a spa that will make you enjoy this wonderful place even more.
At Rumah Cantik the staff is always smiling, sweet and helpful. Jette and Made make ur stay the best and create a wonderful personal atmosphere, you can't help but fall in love with.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Here we spent the final week of our 3-week-holiday in Bali. And Rumah Cantik was therefore the perfect place. From the first minute we felt welcome and cared for. We enjoyed the garden, the pool, the Balinese pavilions and our daughter loved the fishes in a small pond. The very friendly staff and Jette and her family did everything to make us feel very comfortable. So they organized tours through the north of the island, prepared very delicious food and drinks all the time and especially made it a perfect time for our daughter. We hope we can come back some day - thank you and all the best! Yola, Steffi and Gert

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Engelsachsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed at Rumah Cantik for four nights in June 2010, and loved it. The owners are incredibly welcoming and could not do enough to help us with advice when we needed it and spot on recommendations for restaurants, local trips and spas. The atmosphere is very relaxed, and is in a wonderful setting in a local neighbourhood just a few minutes walk from the beach and the town. There are just four rooms and it almost feels like you are a guest an a (very nice!) home, while still allowing you to spend time alone. Everyone staying there seemed to really enjoy it and received equally good service from Jette and the staff. We stayed in four hotels in Bali and this was certainly the one we would return to most readily. Little touchs for our honeymoon were very much appreciated, as was the delicious breakfast served on our terrace each morning. It is also incredibly reasonable, with lovely rooms, a great pool and beautiful gardens. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and Lovina was our favourite place in Bali. If you are looking to get away from the busy crowds on the south of the island but still like to laze about on the beach and have a beer as the sun goes down, this place is for you!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLSC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We spent 2 weeks in Bali(a beautiful country) and our very short stay here was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. From the second I contacted Rumah Cantik and despite the fact i only requested a 2 night stay, the service i received was unparralled to any other service. Jette helped me plan everything about our short visit and was genuinely a lovely person who really really cares that you have a great time. She is an absolute gem.
The property is lovely and the rooms were beautiful. We also had a 5 course bali meal prepared for us which was some of the best food we experienced in Bali (and we tried some of the fancy places in Seminak!). The tour they offer was great too, we swam in waterfalls, visited the local hot spings and got to see some great sights of northerm bali.
The staff are also extremely friendly and always give service with a smile ;)
Thank you to Jette and Made for making our stay so comfortable and having such a lovely retreat for us to stay in.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HG001London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Myself and a friend spent 3 really enjoyable nights at Rumah Cantik. The owners,Yeta and Matah were fantastic hosts they gave helpful suggestions of activities to suit and then arranged transport. I was happy to relax by the pool and catch up on some reading.

I especially enjoyed a 4hour body spa at Agungs Beauty Spa which included a scalp massage, facial, body scrub and 1.5hour body massage costing just under AUD60. Yeta also organised for me to have a massage on the outside balinese pavilion at Rumah Cantik which cost AUD9.

The staff were so friendly and helpful. You must have the nasi goreng which I enjoyed for both breakfast and lunch and wake up to a mixed fruit shake.

Rumah Cantik is an ideal place to sit back and relax, with only four villas it was very private we enjoyed the pool, had a drink (or two) on the balcony overlooking the rice paddies and walked to the beach for sunset dinner.
Other places worth checking out was Jasmine's Kitchen - a beautiful Thai restaurant in town, and Spice Dive Bar on the beach.
Yeta arranged a private car to transport us from our hotel in Seminyak (South Bali) to Lovina (North Bali) which took 3hours but had spectacular views.
I thoroughly recommend a stay at Rumah Cantik and hope you enjoy the experience as much as we did.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GomezSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We have visited Rumah Cantik in Lovina several times and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Lovina. The place just feels like home. There are only 4 rooms, so the feeling of privacy, the total attention from the staff and the garden and pool almost to yourself, just gives the impression that this is YOUR private paradise. Rooms are big and beautifully decorated. The pool is just fantastic. Breakfast is brilliant and the garden is gorgeous. Some days we dont even leave the hotel, as the staff will make you a beautiful balinese dinner on request. Or even arrange take-away food from the restaurants in Lovina. You can book a massage to your room or in the beautiful pavillion in the garden. Just about all you can dream of. Really exceptional service!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MantaDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rumah Cantik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Cantik

Address: JL A.A Pandji Tisna, Gg. Cempaka, Kaliasem 81152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Lovina Beach > Kaliasem
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kaliasem
Price Range: $96 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set between a small Balinese village and rice fields. A place where you feel at home. A quiet and peaceful place. The hotel is surrounded by a tropical flower-filled garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rumah Cantik Hotel Kaliasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing