We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old country service.”
Review of Mena Creek Hotel

Mena Creek Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mena Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mena Creek Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Mena Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Did the evening tour at Paronella Park, then went to the pub for dinner, verandas all the way round, plus beer garden, seating for hundreds I'm sure. Dinner was a simple affair, burger with the lot and chips for me and vegetable lasagne for the wife, both excellent, and a pint or so of lager to wash it down, perfect. The girls behind the bar were bright, bubbly and full of cheek, I like that. Overall worth the drive just for a beer and the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Didn't stay, only ate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank N5902ELgaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Called in for a quick feed after our trip to paronella park. Quick was right and really tasty and fresh!!! Service was fantastic, prices were great and we loved the country music playing. We had the chicken burger, sweet potato wedges (for once we've eaten somewhere that knows how to cook these so they aren't soggy!) and the Caesar salad. Highly recommend this place to everyone!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank C M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

My husband and I enjoyed delightful country pub hospitality at Mena Creek Hotel this weekend. The drive to the pub takes you through tropical pastoral paradise - rolling hills of sugar cane fields & paw paw plantations, backed by rainforest covered mountains, bring your camera! Nick and Gem gave us a warm welcome, the locals are friendly, service is quick and the pizza is divine. TIP - set your alarm clock, the bed was so comfortable that we inadvertently slept in.

Room Tip: Set your alarm clock, the bed was so comfortable that we inadvertently slept in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tablelands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

i expected just basic pub food, but for an area with hardly any competition they certainly act like there is. The meals are designed as professionally as you would see at a restaurant in Brisbane city.the hospitality and kindness was so welcoming and friendly that they could be hospitality mentors themselves. You really feel at home here. Would visit paronella park again just to dine here once more.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Mena Creek Hotel is your typical country pub.
Old with character,great friendly staff, pub meals - great food, well cooked, good variety & reasonably priced. Grilled steak & fish were both delicious.
You can sit out on the front verandah to catch the cool breeze, or at the bar or put the back in the fernery dining room/bistro, which we did.
It has a great atmosphere.
We looked at the rooms for the night, looked quaint very clean, with shared amenities.
Would be convenient after visiting Paronella Park at night.
Don't ever drive past it, stop to have look & a drink with the locals if you don't have time for a meal.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RozfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Just walking distance to the pub from Paronella park. It was pouring rain and needed to stop for a while before we drove off to Mission Beach from Paronella park during holiday season. Thankfully Mena Creek Hotel is totally in sync with the Paronella Park timings and keep the pub open for the visitors.
Since there are not many restaurants around, I had called early and ordered for veg meal and they were quite obliging. On the otherhand like all pub food in Oz there not a lot to choose from at Mena creek Hotel for vegetarians. But pretty satisifed, had food on the plate on a rainy evening

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MoltenAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Whilst visiting family members travelling around Australia, four of us decided to stay at the Mena Creek Hotel for the night.
An older style Hotel (to what this City girl is accustomed to) I found it a pleasure to stay here.
Every ammenity was available to us, if not in our room, then not far away. Toilets & showers just a short dash across a courtyard gained through a gateway from a private patio at the back of our room.
Our rooms were quite small, however sufficient with very clean bed-linen, towels & a wash-basin.
The Hotel was clean, including the outdoor loos & showers, secretly scoring them a high, on my list of likes. Staff attitude & friendlines was also 'up there'. Eager to help & offer advice when sought, esp re the nearby Paronella Park, which we were visiting, by night, for their 1 hour guided tour seeing the lighting effects on the old castle's remains.
I would definitely recommend this Hotel, if passing through the area, to rest up & enjoy a lovely meal, a friendly chat, have a beer/vino or two (we weren't driving) or stay overnight.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank travelbugsfromnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mena Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena Creek Hotel

Address: Corner of Japoonvale & Mena Creek Road, Mena Creek, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mena Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mena Creek
Price Range: $40 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing