We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
36
56
15
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
56
15
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger mars bar chops presidential suite old building beds had electric blankets tasty food big bar room bar lamb saddle stayed for one night country hospitality very comfortable room the owner pleasant stay places to visit two night stay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 115 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2018

Small, friendly hotel in an extremely remote location. Not luxurious, but if you are looking for five star luxury, why are you in Sutherland? (We were visiting the nearby South African Astronomical Observatory.)

Our room was clean, basically furnished, but with all necessary amenities and en suite. The one room bar/lounge/restaurant was fine - friendly staff, good service and good food. The pool is just a small plunge pool. We didn't partake.

Would have no hesitation in staying again in the admittedly unlikely event we ever return to Sutherland.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nick186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2017 via mobile

We popped in here for a burger and beer. Food and service were great and the setting was lovely. It’s a pub more than a restaurant but if you are after a good meal it will tick all the boxes. It was us with our kids and it was pretty kid friendly too, our youngest is 6 years old.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank RobT2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017

The room was neat and we enjoyed a good nights rest. Would have liked to be able to use a fridge and the curtain that devides the room and the bathroom is not acceptable. The noise of builders nextdoor early Sunday morning was very disturbing - although beyond the control of the guesthouse.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Josef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2017 via mobile

We ended up having lunch, dinner, a room and breakfast.

The building is great and the main room covers many functions, bar, restaurant and rest area

Comfortable bed and everything else was good too

Not a lot in Sutherland but this might be the best

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank HHH666Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2017

we hab a very nice trip to Sutherland, althought the weather was not , what we had needed for stargazing. But the team of the Whitehouse Inn let us have a good time.... So we hab a nice stay there and surely we will come back

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank volkerl154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews