We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food excellent room”
Review of The Smugglers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Smugglers
Ranked #1 of 5 Newlyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay. The room was very spacious there was also a garden area to this room with sun loungers.The room was called Forbes .We ate in the restaurant for dinner .The fish was beautifully cooked and presented.A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAYEMDEE1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

We spent a long weekend here in May and this is the perfect place to stay in Cornwall. Only a half hour walk to Mousehole one way or to Penzance the other. Our room was stunning showing that a lot of care and attention had been taken in choosing the decor. This artistic/contemporary flare runs through the whole premises. Breakfast was also first class with plenty of fresh, organic choices to choose from with a great selection of delicious tropical fruit. As for the car park problem! After reading reviews, we took our bus passes and left the car in the car park for the £6.60 for 24 hrs. All the car parks in Cornwall are expensive and we found the bus services in that area are excellent. Next year we are thinking of returning by train and leaving the car at home!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JinnaWinkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Smugglers (HARVEY) and it was exactly what we needed, a place with comfortable,quiet and extremely clean environment. We would come back to this hotel again and i must say the bed was extremely comfy maybe thats why we missed breakfast during our stay :-)
We found the location convinient for us.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dixietrixie1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I did not get to stay here as it is mentioned that parking is near, that is at the bottom or the top of a hill. Not somewhere that is accessable to someone with a # spine who can not walk hills. I am sure the inside is as lovely as everyone says. But as the owner objected to my saying i could not stay there and it should be cleary spelt out, shee told me I was a nasty lady and to leave which I had intended doing any way.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
3  Thank honeyandwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smugglersnewlyn, Owner at The Smugglers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2011

I am sorry that this guest did not choose to stay with us, we do state clearly that we do not have on site parking. If this guest suffers from a condition that restricts them from climbing hills then perhaps they should have telephoned ahead to clarify the parking situation before they booked. The booking was made on Friday for arrival Sunday which suggests to me that the booking was made in a hurry and suitable research was not made by the guest to ensure that this property was suitable for them. The guest informed me that she would not be staying and accused me of false advertising she was very offensive towards me, I was not going to tolerate this, as this is my home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

we stayed at this hotel with my in-laws, they had the ground floor room we had the room above them, the rooms were very nice, clean comfortable and well appointed. the location was great close to many other seaside towns like St Ives etc. although it has no parking the car park was just a short walk away and only cost £1.40 for an overnight stay. the owners are very friendly and so helpful with advice. we could not have wished a better place to stay it was a real 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyEverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We only ate at the restaurant so cannot comment on the rooms.

The food was exceptionally good and fresh with good sized portions too.
Prices too seemed reasonable.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.
We shall be going back but hope to be able to sit in a window seat to get a better view of the harbour.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEVEN034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed 2 nights at 'the smugglers' had a fantastic time. Our room was really nice, spotless, lovely big bed.
Breakfast was superb, tasty, fresh and delicious!
We had a meal in the restaurant, it was FAB!
The owners were very friendly and welcolming, and gave us lots of local information and recommendations,
Excellent value for money, a MUST if you are visiting Penzance!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonannepearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlyn
1.5 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
487 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
821 reviews
6.7 km away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#30 of 82 in Penzance
130 reviews
0.0 km away
Harbour View Guest House
1.8 km away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 82 in Penzance
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smugglers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smugglers

Address: 12-14 Fore Street, Newlyn, Penzance TR18 5JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Newlyn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newlyn
Price Range: $145 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Smugglers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing