We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western Webbington and Spa” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Axbridge
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Western Webbington and Spa”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed at the Webbington and have to say it was a poor experiance. The service was terrible in both the bar and restaraunt. The staff never smilled and it seemed whatever we wanted it was a chore for them. We ate in the restaraunt both nights, they had a daily menu that was not worth the money, i had steak that was so tough and thin it was more like a minute steak ! Not impressed at all. Though i do have to say we did order some Bar Snacks and they were a huge portion size which was nice to see.
They ran out of the wine i was drinking (not an issue really) but there was no apologies or even a "sorry". The room was ok but asked for a twin and got a double. There was hair all over the bathroom and dust everywhere. The hotel itself was in a lovely setting and the Spa was wonderfull but the overall experaince of the hotel was very poor.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_Knox73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    280
    224
    113
    54
See reviews for
152
446
18
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north devon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

W had a lovely stay at this hotel - set in fantastic surroundings at the foot of the Mendip Hills. Very comfortable, friendly staff. Spa and leisure facilities were all fab. Would recommend this hotel for families, groups of women for the spa experience - or like me couples who just want to get away for a pamper.

Room Tip: The main part of the hotel was better than being out in the annex, but both facilities were perfectl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthDevonWhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and took full advantage of our newly refurbished leisure facilities, we look foorward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Love this hotel! Rooms are gorgeous. Staff are nice. Breakfast good. A tad out of the way but great views from the rooms and worth going the extra distance. Well placed for Weston etc. Wish they did more offers as would stay there again and again!

Room Tip: ask for room upgrade and stay in main building-gorgeous rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay if you would like to sign up for our special offers please visit our website and enter your details and you could return as often as you like
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and i arrived at the webbington on Saturday the 5th of May, we had decided with our brother in law to have his wedding and our wedding renewal on the same day so we went with a view to booking the hotel as a venue,We arrived and were met by the wedding co ordinator Phillipa, she took both of us couples on a tour of the hotel and all the facilities, we were so impressed we have booked for both ceremonies in September. Phillipa was able to incorporate a tailor made package to suit both of our needs, i understand it will be the first time that two family weddings take place on the same day at the webbington.We particularly loved the garden room and the idea of the gazebo in the garden venue, we wanted an informal day for our joint families and guests, and this is ideal for us,each of the rooms available were magnificent and the views are simply stunning,My husband and i stayed the night and were given room 4, omg, the room was fantatic, it is really a suite , the room is the most spacious i have ever stayed in, it was pristine, the bed linen and the fixtures and fittings were of the top quality, the en suite was spacious and again spotlessly clean. I can highly recommend this room, the customer service, the food, and the ambience of this perfect get away. I would like to thank Rachel the reception manager for our fabulous room{ please can we have this room for our wedding renewal eve} and the lovely Phillipa for being so helpful and informative, and being able to give us the confidence of knowing that we are going to be able to relax and leave the arranging in her very capable hands, thank you to all the behind scene staff who obviously work so hard to make the Webbington a very special place, see you all September.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments we have a fantastic team here at the hotel all of whom work hard to ensure that everyone enjoys their time with us. I will pass your comments on to Phillippa who does an excellent job for us and I look forward to welcoming you back in September. Lets hope the sun shines as the Gazebo and patio area are a delight on a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We chose the Webbington because of its convenience to Bristol Airport. We arrived quite late at night and our sat nav was a must to navigate the narrow rural lanes on what was a dark and foogy night. The hotel is a little off the beaten track and we recommend you bring sat nav with you or a decent map. We stayed in the courtyard room building at the back of the hotel. The entrance lobby appeared to be newly decorated although the dorm and room we stayed in was a little tired albeit perfectly clean and presentable. We asked for a double room and probably go two single beds fixed together; they were quite hard and not the most comfortable we've ever slept in. Unfortunately, the bedroom walls were quite thin and could readily hear are noisy boozy neighbours when they came back to their room. Fortunately, they didn't stay up too late otherwise this would have undoubtedly disturbed our sleep. At this point we were probably thinking of giving the Webbington a 2 star rating. However, the hotel redeemed itself the next morning. Firstly, the breakfast was, considering the budget of the hotel, most excellent with a good menu (I had cooked fish) and the option of gluten free toast (I had requested this on booking). Secondly, our stay including use of the spa and gym. Whilst the facilities are more on the basic budget end of the spectrum, they were very good - the pool area was particularly good and the gym had an excellent view across the Somerset Levels from the elevated hotel. Overall, despite slightly disapointing accommodation the hotel is excellent value particularly in view of the quality of the breakfast and spa and gym facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with good sound insulation - we stayed across the courtyard at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

After a number of months of planning, the day had arrived that I was going to get married at the Webbington Hotel. The day started off nervously as would any other wedding day would with things not necessarily looking like I thought they would e.g. the restaurant being dressed and ready. However, as time went on, all of the staff at the hotel couldn't do enough to ensure that everything was perfect for not just the ceremony but the food and the evening reception.

The wedding reception was- I have to say the main event as it was the opportunity of the hotel and its staff to showcase exactly what they could do. Obvioulsy we were expecting and of course hoping that the food and service was going to be spot on and we were not disappointed. In fact the food surpassed our expectations and the service from the staff was excellent. As part of our wedding package we had an MC (Chris Hocking) who was fantastic and helped make the day the success it was. Because of the MC, the wedding reception just flowed perfectly- somuchso that 3hrs just flew by.

As we moved from from the wedding reception location to the evening location there were lots of things that were left behind such as favours, disposable cameras that were on the tables, photos and flowers etc. This wasn't something that we had considered at the time but whilst we were busy celebrating the evening ,the hotel staff were carefully collecting all of the things that would be important to us from the wedding reception area and storing it carefully for us to collect the next day. This was just one of the many personal touches that the hotel were able to provide.

The Evening buffet was superb-just a shame that there was so much left over!

All in all, it was an outstanding experience loved by all who attended. Great food, Great service.Sincere thanks to them all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

spent one night at wedding, on arriving being shown to room i didn't see the sign on the door and twisted my ankle really badly , signs are at the lower level of the doors and not eye level as there was someone infront of me i just didn't notice the dip , oh well will know next time, staff were good at attending to me tho and got ice and some bandages to support it, and was asked if i wanted to go to hospital didn't want to miss wedding so didn't , nice room and addiquate and power cut next morning , but still got our nice cooked breakfast,ps many guested triped on that dip near the stairs to pool area,get signs put higher on doors please management, at eye level,thankyou, !! still in pain two days later,:((

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annominous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Axbridge
17.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel
40.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
10.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
16.8 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
6.3 km away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa

Property: BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
Address: Loxton, Axbridge BS26 2HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Axbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Axbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Webbington Hotel and Spa is ideally situated in peaceful countryside to the south of Bristol, with good access to the M5 and within easy reach of local attractions. Originally an attractive Edwardian manor, the house and grounds have been developed to create a luxurious and spacious hotel with a brand new leisure club. The extensive Leisure Club facilities are second to none, whatever you are looking to do it is possible here. There are also the floodlit tennis courts which are free for all guests staying in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Webbington Hotel Axbridge
Loxton Best Western
Best Western Loxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing