We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in on eof their 3 bedroom cabins!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belair
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Country Cottage Resort
Reviewed 21 October 2011

LOVED IT!!! Best stay so far at a Manitoba resort!! We stayed there early October over Thanksgiving and loved every second! There was 7 of us in total that stayed in one of the 3 bedroom cabins and the place was a hit with every one of us! Leather furniture, massive hot tub, steam shower, video game systems for the kids....need I say more?? The cabins are all very well kept, grounds very clean, more than we could have asked for. The only downfall, we didn't book a longer stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the last three bedroom cottage on the end. Much more private than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

We rented a two bedroom cabin for our family of 3. The cabins was clean, with some nice amaneties and just enough space for the 3 of us. This was a little disappointing, since we came all the way from Alberta and had hoped to have family from Winnipeg come out to visit us.

We had a some issues with the cabin, the first was that the door on the screened in porch was not hung properly, so come evening our porch was filled with bugs. We asked for this to be fixed, it was but not properly ... we stuffed towels in the door prior to sundown so that we could enjoy the porch in the evenings. Second, there was no handrail on the stairs leading up to the cabin not only does this go against building code but it provided us with some undue stress with our little guy going in and out of the cabin.

There is a large jet tub in the master bedroom and a standup shower in the bathroom. The tub is a nice idea for couples, but useless for a family with smaller kids. When bathing our son we had to ensure the water levels stayed below the jets so that we didn't get any soap in them, this didn't provide a whole lot of water for washing.

The website advertised pillow top matteress', this is false. And the pull out couch is unbearable.

Also, the $100 per night for extra guests is a little extreme

Last but far from the least, the area rules are confusing as they are posted in mulitple locations and contradict one another. This along with the rude manner in which we were talked to by the site manager on multiple occasions put a real damper on the stay.

We won't be going back

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EMKS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Murray, Owner at Bear Country Cottage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you very much for your comments.

These folks stayed here along with the people that posted the review below. They rented several cottages for a family reunion and also had family staying nearby at hotels, campgrounds etc and used our resort as the main facility for their and reunion. Based on my conversation with our Manager I learned that they were not respecting other guests at the resort and were breaching our visitor policies on numerous occasions. Unlike a number of other resorts in Manitoba, we DO allow visitors however restrict the number and times that they can visit to ensure a peaceful stay for other guests at our resort. This is clearly detailed in our confirmations which are sent to all guests at the time of reservation. Based on the hundreds of positive guest comments on our website and the strong returning customer base we will stand behind and maintain this policy.

In addressing the comment regarding the charge of a $100.00 a night for an extra guest is completely inaccurate. We only book weekly in the summer months and as such the weekly rate changes by a $100.00 should the capacity increase from 4 to 5. The $100.00 charge is for the entire week, not a single night. Same is posted on the rates page of our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Cabins are small, but very clean and modern. Well worth the cost, nice pizza shop on site, with vollybel area, and children's play area. Had some issues with the lack of respect that we were given, it put a damper on our trip. I will not be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canadianmomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Murray, Owner at Bear Country Cottage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Thank you very much for your comments.

These folks stayed here along with the people that posted the review above. They rented several cottages for a family reunion and also had family staying nearby at hotels, campgrounds etc and used our resort as the main facility for their and reunion. Based on my conversation with our Manager I learned that they were not respecting other guests at the resort and were breaching our visitor policies on numerous occasions. Unlike a number of other resorts in Manitoba, we DO allow visitors however restrict the number and times that they can visit to ensure a peaceful stay for other guests at our resort. This is clearly detailed in our confirmations which are sent to all guests at the time of reservation. Based on the hundreds of positive guest comments on our website and the strong returning customer base we will stand behind and maintain this policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stayed at Bear Country in a 2 bedroom cottage, my husband, myself and two young children. The cabins were clean, cozy and much more well kept than other rental cabins I've seen in Manitoba. There was a nice little playground for the kids and a screened in porch for them to play outside without getting eaten alive in the evenings. The kitchen was totally functional and spacious, and the beds comfortable. jacuzzi tub was huge. There were free movie rentals for the kids which was excellent while we were cooking and the beach was nice and close! Excellent accomodations and a fair price.

Can't wait to return in March, we booked a luxury 3 br with friends!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Everything was awesome we have such a wonderful time!! I could not have asked for anything better! so relaxing, calm, beautiful, great location, in a nut shell it was OUTSTANDING!! we will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giesbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

My partner and I along with two other couples stayed in a luxury three-bedroom cottage for three days. The cottage had an excellent floor plan, it was very clean and very well-equiped. Of course, getting in the hot tub after a long cross-country ski was our favourite part!!

Thanks for a wonderful experience- Michelle and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betacell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

It is our 3rd year at Bear Country Cottages and each year has been spectacular! The cottages have all the immenities you could want with all the extras you don't expect! It was extremely clean and warm when we arrived with the hot tub heated and ready! It is a wonderful weekend of fun in the hot tub, relaxing by the fireplace or walking in the quiet wilderness! We would recommend this place for a romantic getaway, a girl's getaway weekend or for family fun time! We can't wait to go back next year! Two thumbs up!! = )

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyDiSelkirk_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belair
0.9 km away
No photo provided
Big Buffalo Resort
#3 of 3 in Falcon Lake
2 reviews
0.7 km away
Falcon Beach Ranch
Falcon Beach Ranch
#1 of 3 in Falcon Lake
5 reviews
16.4 km away
Keystone Resort
Keystone Resort
#1 of 1 in West Hawk Lake
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Country Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Country Cottage Resort

Address: 110035 Lakeshore Road, Belair, Manitoba R0E 0E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Belair
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Belair
Price Range: $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the beautiful white sands of Grand Beach, Hillside Beach, Albert Beach, Victoria Beach and Lester Beach in Belair, Manitoba - just a one-hour drive north of Winnipeg on 80-acres of private forested land. Bear Country Cottages boasts six newer constructed luxurious cabins designed to pamper couples, accommodate a family of eight or smaller groups. Each luxury cottage comes fully equipped with two or three bedrooms, an extra large Jacuzzi Spa (two bedroom cottages only - outdoor hot tubs on the decks of the two bedroom cottages are optional) or a 6 person hot tub (included with three bedroom cottages), steam showers (3 bedroom cottages only), home theatre systems w/ surround sound, DVD players, game systems for the kids and a full gourmet kitchen complete with appliances, cookware, dishes and towels; everything you'll need for your hearty cottage appetite. All cottages are heated and air conditioned! Come to relax and unwind in the peace and tranquility of Bear Country Cottages situated in beautiful Belair Forest - just one hour north of Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. Enjoy delicious S'mores outside by your private fire pit, or relax on the screened in deck and take in the soothing sounds of nature. Don't forget to look up at night to see the stars! They're spectacular! Revel in the vast array of magnificent wildlife and recharge on the white sandy beaches just a few short minutes from "Bear Country". Take a short jaunt to the Lester Beach lookout and wonder at the most breathtaking sunsets you'll ever see! You won't be disappointed. Truly the place where memories are made! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Country Cottage Resort Manitoba/Belair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing