We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - highly recommend.”
Review of Silver Peaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Peaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Mosgiel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Stayed for 1 night in December in preparation for using the B&B to host a training course the next day. Excellent facilities, beautiful location - the views are gorgeous. Hosts were really welcoming and nothing was a problem. Course attendees really enjoyed the location too. I would highly recommend for both leisure and business travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Silver Peaks Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

Wife and I stayed a couple of nights. Great hosts-unobtrusive and welcoming- wonderful views of Taieri Plains and, as promised the Silver Peaks. Comfortable bed and comfortable bedroom with underfloor heating The attached conservatory was a treat with the views already mentioned.
However the shower in the ensuite was small and we would have appreciated the fridge having a freezer compartment. Breakfast was enjoyable as was the accompanying conversation with Ghandi. All in all an enjoyable stay in the Silver Peaks Room of this small farm.

Room Tip: Choose the Silver Peaks room it has an ensuite and great views
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fr246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My family and I stayed here, and it was gorgeous. The house was beautiful, clean and had an awesome view. Our rooms rocked, and Ghandi showed us all the cool stuff his sheep dogs could do which was really awesome for my little sister to see. The food was really nice, and our hosts were amazingly nice :)

Room Tip: Get the big room at the end of the hall, it's beautiful.
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottokwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We were looking for a farmstay and were delighted to find one on a slope with fantastic views of rolling hills. We enjoyed taking walks around the farm and the beautiful garden and watching Gandhi demonstrate how sheep dogs work, feed the baby lambs and explain his work on the farm. We regret we didn't ask for sheep shearing demonstration (perhaps it's not the season for it). The bathroom was warm and very clean and the rooms comfortable and cozy. It was also great to have a spacious lounge to relax in and breakfast was excellent. Chrissy and Gandhi were wonderful hosts. It was our first farmstay and overall it was a great experience. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the hills if available.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverPeaksLodge, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to write it. We thouroughly enjoyed meeting you and are very glad your first farm stay experience was such a happy one.
Many thanks and we hope to meet you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Chosen from very imaginative advertising materials produced by the owners which made it look promising. Initially owners seemed helpful but I became disappointed on seeing the rooms which I had chosen for our two night stay. The suite was large with small lounge attached which had fantastic view. However, the furniture was worn with faded and frayed upholstery. The bed clothes were clean but not matched or well ironed. Above all the room was cold because 'windows had accidentally been left open'. The bathroom was a bit old fashioned with a basic shower up a step which was carpetted. The in room tea making facilities were basic. The TV was a tiny 12' model which took signal from the lounge. The house lounge was large and full of mismatched furniture which I suppose was meant to be charming whereas it was really just cheap. We had also booked a second night and had agreed to go to another room - it was much smaller than I had anticipated even for two though the owner had kindly agreed to add a third bed for our daughter. The wallpaper was old fashioned and the room dull and depressing as it was on the rear of the house.Lighting was inadequate.There was no en suite which had not been made clear so it was to be a shared bathroom across a corridor. Owner admitted this. We decided to stay only one night under the circumstances. Breakfast was quite satisfactory. We paid for the cancelled night because the owner said she had turned hundred away because of the Rugby World Cup matches in Dunedin. Wasted $135 here - owner said she didn't want to charge us but felt she had to. Did however drive into Dunedin and despite everything secured a very good motel a short walk from the Otargo Stadium straight away. Main road down driveway is SH1 and makes for an extremely dangerous entrance to this B and B. Overall not a happy experience and felt I had been taken in by glossy pictures.

Room Tip: Dont have a room at the rear of the property and avoid if you dislike flowery wallpaper.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverPeaksLodge, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2011

With the Rugby World Cup on, this was one of the busiest weekends we will ever have. Some extra guests stayed with our neighbours because of the huge demand for accommodatation in and around Dunedin. We had turned away over 100 people for these dates which is the reason we charged for the room that was cancelled at the last minute. At the time the booking was made we explained that the room, the guests were to move to for the second night, (as the first room was not available for the second night) was a smaller room, especially to have an extra bed in, for their daughter.

The windows had been left open in the intial room in the morning to air the room, as it was a nice warm sunny day. The weather became cooler at lunch time and the room had cooled down but soon warmed up again with the windows closed and underfloor heating.
There is a fridge in the room with a kettle, a variety of teas including herbal teas, coffees, hot chocolate, milk and biscuits provided .
The night referred to in the review we also provided a gorgeous chocolate tart for all the guests to enjoy, fresh from the Dunedin Farmers Market at no cost to the guests.
The TV in the room is a small one but there is a large TV in the guest lounge just along the hall.

In the 3 years we have been at Silver Peaks Lodge we have done a huge amount of renovating and painting over of floral wall papers. The room referred to in this review is the last one still to be done. The bathroom is normally a private one for this room but it was shared with one other couple for that weekend as we had rented out our daughter's room to accommodate extra guests.

This is not 5 star plus accommodation and our rates, which include breakfast and a farm demonstration, reflect that. More a homely friendly farmstay with stunning views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Our party rented the entire facility for four nights, and had an excellent stay. The B&B is set on a hill with marvelous views; the interior is tastefully and comfortably appointed; and Chrissy and Ghandi are gracious and helpful hosts. Excellent continental breakfast. It takes about 15 minutes to drive into Dunedin, which we found very convenient, and we enjoyed being out on the farm, surrounded by rolling hills and sheep. The kids enjoyed having space to run, and lambs and puppies to pet. The more ambitious in our party enjoyed walks (and runs!) on the paths. Could not have asked for a better place! So happy we found it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyD98034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The setting was quiet, we were the only guests that night, and got a huge spacious room with a uniquely furnished big bathroom to boot. We had our best night there throughout our stay in New Zealand, and the continental breakfast served, of very well done toast, and freshly plucked grapes from the vine, was awesome. Gandhi showed us how the sheep dogs worked, and also demonstrated sheep shearing despite it being not the season to do so; it was very fun watching everything being done. Great location, too, with a beautifully kept garden.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosgiel
15.3 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
734 reviews
14.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
13.2 km away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Chapel Apartments
Chapel Apartments
#6 of 63 in Dunedin
131 reviews
6.8 km away
Hunter's Moon Guest House
13.1 km away
Esplanade Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Peaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Peaks Lodge

Address: 255 Main South Road | East Taieri, Mosgiel, Dunedin 9092, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin > Mosgiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mosgiel
Price Range: $136 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Peaks Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Peaks Lodge offers quality spacious farm-stay accommodation just 15 minutes south of Dunedin city centre. With private 4 guest rooms and 3 guest bathroom, 2 being ensuite, guest sitting room, guest dining room,guest laundry and spa pool. Relax in a quiet warm rural atmosphere and enjoy stunning views over the Taieri Plains and the hills beyond. Set in 16 acres of farmland the lodge is nestled amongst beautiful gardens and a pond area, which attracts a variety of native birds including Tui and Bellbirds. Activities include Farm demonstrations for example sheep shearing, working sheep dogs and milking "Polly" the cow! Only 10 minutes from Dunedin International Airport and within very easy driving distance to the Catlins area and the Otago Penisula. Close to the Otago Rail Trail and for golf enthusiasts, two golf courses within 1 km of Silver Peaks Lodge. A perfect place to stay! We look forward to welcoming you at Silver Peaks Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Silver Peaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing