We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is heaven.”
Review of The Surf Sanctuary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Surf Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Rivas
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed with them last month for my birthday/10 year ann. Waves were perfect, food was excellent, staff was super friendly, rooms were clean. They went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful time. It was the best vacation yet and we will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meegzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

From the moment you arrive you are welcomed as if you were a long lost friend/ family member..great location, quiet, clean and perfect setting.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1977jenerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

to Rob and jill, tony and nacey, the gardeners,the kitchen staff and whom i left out. thank you for all that you did to make our stay an unbelievable time. if you want a want a vacation that the sense of time is nil this this the place for you. no clocks no worries. .we will be back. saftey was never an issue. we miss our early morning walks on the beach

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klinefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The Surf Sanctuary is the perfect, relax and peaceful place to recharge energy after a great surf session in the many just-walk-distance top surf breaks of Nicaragua.

The houses and rooms are nice and clean, the pool is refreshing, the beers are perfect cold and the food is incredible!

I´ve stayed here many times, the owners Tony and Nancy are the friendliest people ever, always happy to share the waves, a good laugh and a cold one.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurferNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Maybe I am selfish,but I really want to keep this place to myself! Every morning I woke to a beautiful sunrise over the mountains, walked to the beach and explored the rocks, then came back and had a fabulous breakfast at the restaurant. While my husband surfed, I could lay on the beach or spend time in the hammocks by the pool. Whenever we needed something, the whol staff was right their to get us what we needed, be it bug spray, a ride somewhere or boxed milk! One week just wasn't long enough! We felt completely safe and secure on property and off. The drivers were fantastic and everyone who works there is welcoming and ultra friendly. There are not many resorts where you get to hang with the owners at the pool or at dinner. Overall, it was one of the best travel experiences I have had and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethkline77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Tucked away in a corner on the Pacific Ocean is The Surf Sanctuary. Beautifully landscaped and designed. Staff is wonderful, the casitas and homes are fabulous! Ideal vacation for surfers and those just wanting to get away from it all. World class surfing and fishing!! Will definitely go back again (and again!).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimsmith73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

i am reluctant to do this, because i don't want this amazing place to get overrun with the wrong type of crowd. but i have to say, i just got back from a week with these guys, and it hurts someplace deep inside my soul not to be there right now. the sanctuary is beautiful and run by wonderful people, and the staff is exceptionally good (not to mention the food, the pool, the hammocks, the beer, and the outdoor showers, all of which are great). this is the perfect place for the low-maintenance traveler looking for seriously good surfing, ridiculous fishing, outstanding fresh fish eating, and a community of open-hearted people who are willing to share a small slice of their phenomenally good life. i would without hesitation recommend this place to my friends (but to nobody else). please don't go if you're a total jerk -- this is a special place, and i hope it stays that way.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aeknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivas
24.3 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
4.7 km away
La Jolla de Guasacate
La Jolla de Guasacate
#1 of 1 in Las Salinas
44 reviews
29.9 km away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#6 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
444 reviews
8.9 km away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#1 of 2 in Tola
76 reviews
9.7 km away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Sanctuary

Address: Meters East Of Playa Santana 600, Rivas, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Rivas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Rivas
Price Range: $98 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly & comfortable surf resort just a few minutes from one of Nicaragua's finest surf breaks. The Surf Sanctuary is family owned & operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Surf Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Sanctuary Nicaragua/Rivas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing