We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for surfers”
Review of The Surf Sanctuary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Surf Sanctuary
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Surf sanctuary is a sanctuary for surfing. Not a whole lot of other activities around. American family who runs the place are very hospitable and helpful. They are living their dream. Guides and service are both excellent. Two breaks nearby but playa popoyo is further and appox. A 10 min. Drive during good road conditions. They also have a panga boat for other spots or fishing.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3toedamphihuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for The Surf Sanctuary
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is an amazing place - close to the beach, for surfers (who are mostly the clientele, at least during the season), a beautiful pool, and gorgeous new rooms. Tony has an architectural background, and he and his wife have done a great job of making the rooms spacious, colorful, soundproof, and fun. The staff is great - very friendly and helpful. It's also cheap, relative to other places to stay in the area. Their restaurant is good, but, if you get tired of it, there are other really good places within a short distance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We did a ton of research before we went to NIcaragua and really wanted to stay with surfari charters they were booked and recommended the "sanctuary" to us. We went with it and while it was a super nice place to stay, we were completely disapointed with their hospitality we wanted to know about the local breaks and when and where the surf was going to be good but no one was much help. We asked for rides (we were willing to pay) to other beaks and the respone we got back was oh it's just a 15 min walk(which that wasn't accurate)! The most helpful was one of the locals that worked in the kitchen. They also were very discouraging about us going to San Juan and informed us if we wanted to go to take the local bus to Rivas. The bus ride was fine but once we got to Rivas it was crazy, we speak spanish but for someone that isn't familiar with being harrassed and can't speak spanish this is a horrible idea for them to reccomend guests doing. If you want to go to Nicaragua and it's your first time I wouldn't reccomend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SouthTexas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

While this lodging "sanctuary" as they call it was decent, it's just too amateur and simply too far from where you'll want to be for your surfing and other jungle or ocean excursions. If it were half an hour closer to San Juan del Sur, it would be a better deal. Too far out of the way for the cost to get there. Some people are willing to go this far for their vacations but expect a first-class celebrity style retreat once there - and this (sadly) disappoints.Roosters in this rurally located surf spot woke us every morning while still dark outside! Not a peaceful retreat as far as that goes.For the same cost, you can go elsewhere and save a lot of time. Sorry, Surf Sanctuary.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Calypsogurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

If you are looking for an out-of-the-way place to relax, this is it. The staff are super-friendly and casual, so you'll feel right at home. The accommodations are very nice. I stayed in a "casita," which has air-conditioning, a private bathroom, and sleeps five. The pool is really nice, and the restaurant is casual and offers great food. (Get the ceviche if it's available!) It's mostly surfers here, so if you don't surf, there's not a whole lot going on, but it's a beautiful and quiet escape with all the amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanaBielecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed with them last month for my birthday/10 year ann. Waves were perfect, food was excellent, staff was super friendly, rooms were clean. They went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful time. It was the best vacation yet and we will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meegzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

From the moment you arrive you are welcomed as if you were a long lost friend/ family member..great location, quiet, clean and perfect setting.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1977jenerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivas
38.8 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
12.8 km away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
40 reviews
27.4 km away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
16.8 km away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
14.4 km away
Melting Elefante
Melting Elefante
#1 of 8 in Rivas
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Sanctuary

Address: Meters East Of Playa Santana 600, Rivas, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Rivas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Rivas
Price Range: $93 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly & comfortable surf resort just a few minutes from one of Nicaragua's finest surf breaks. The Surf Sanctuary is family owned & operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Surf Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Sanctuary Nicaragua/Rivas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing