We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Perfect Christmas”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beckside Cottage

Courtyard outside Beckside Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard outside Beckside Cottage
Living room with wood burner Dining room over looking courtyard flowers can be ordered for that special occasion
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Courtyard outside Beckside Cottage
Living room with wood burner
Dining room over looking courtyard flowers can be ordered for that special occasion
Master bedroom
Front door with original stained glass window detailing head of a sheep
Kitchen window, looking to front of cottage
Well equipped modern kitchen
Dining room
Living room complete with modern TV, DVD and Bluetooth music player
Living room with original beams
Master bedroom
An example of flower arrangement which can be pre ordered at extra cost for your special anniversary
Bedroom 2 prepared for 1 person
Bedroom 2 prepared for 2 people
Modern bathroom with power shower
Front view of Beckside Cottage taken from the free National Park car park
Rear view of Beckside cottage
Rear door of Beckside Cottage, with outside lighting for summer evenings.
Plenty of low level and high level walks on your doorstep
Forest walks nearby
The fells
The whole of the Lake District National Park is easily accessible
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Caldbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gemgem77
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Perfect Christmas”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We spent 3 nights over christmas at this beautiful, cosy cottage and we would not hestitate to come back again. The cottage was decorated beautifully for christmas and we even had some mince pies waiting for us :) Nicky met us there and showed us around, filling us in on how everything worked. The beds are really comfy and a lot of effort has gone into making you feel at home. The kitchen is well equipped (we managed to cook a full christmas dinner!) and the bathroom is lovely. We all enjoyed the log burner, especially the dogs- who also enjoyed a fantastic long walk on Boxing day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2015
Very many thanks for posting such a lovely review, I am delighted you enjoyed your Christmas at Beckside Cottage, and even more thanks for recommending us to your family for their post Christmas visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Hello, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. It is very pleasing to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Beckside Cottage and the lovely village of Caldbeck.
best wishes
NickyGinger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paula N
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven!”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Beckside cottage has to be one of the nicest places we have stayed in to date. Nicky offered us a very warm welcome & showed us around this delightful cottage, which was situated in a lovely little village. The facilities on offer were second to none, but best of all had to be the log burner, which our dog in particular loved! The rain didn't dampen our spirits & we enjoyed some super walks; the cottage is also a great base for exploring the Lake district further. All in all, we had a wonderful New year's eve/day at Beckside cottage & can't wait to go back!! Thanks Nicky

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Whole cottage!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
Hello and many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Beckside Cottage.
Best wishes
Nicky
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarfieMe...
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed November 26, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Ideal cottage - small but perfect. We stayed two nights whilst in Caldbeck visiting relatives. Beckside cottage has everything you need and the owner deserves 10/10 for her attention to detail. Nice welcome pack consisting of milk, tea, coffee & biscuits and it was a nice touch that Nicky met us at the cottage and explained everything. Beds are really comfy and the log burner is brilliant. Kitchen has everything you need and the instructions for all appliances are in the info file although we couldn't find the instructions for the grill - but we managed without. Would recommend this cottage and wouldn't hesitate to book again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2014
Hello and many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your review. Future customers regularly check reviews so thanks again for your supportive comments. I think you might have a point re the grill instructions, I will have a look and see if I can get some off the internet.
We would be delighted to welcome you back if you are up this way again.
Best wishes
Nicky
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great escape”
Reviewed November 21, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a brilliant long weekend at Beckside Cottage. The cottage itself is immaculate and very cosy, situated within a charming village. Nicky was extremely helpful when showing us round, and also supplied us with some very handy tips in and around the area.

The free car park across the road also comes in very handy when exploring the rest of the Lake District!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2014
Hello, many thanks for posting a review. I very much appreciate you taking the time. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Beckside Cottages.
Best wishes
Nicky
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Many thanks for taking time to post a review, many potential guests read reviews and have booked as a result of what they have read.
Wishing you well,
Nicky, Ginger Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fabulous2...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beckside Cottage is absolutely beautiful and we just loved our stay there. The cottage has everything anybody could wish for and more. Nicky was extremely helpful and made us so welcome. The cottage, Caldbeck village and surrounds are delightful - our only regret is that we didn't book in for a longer stay. I would highly recommend Beckside Cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your glowing response, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes
Nicky,
Ginger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing