We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, friendly, beautiful little cottage x”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beckside Cottage

Courtyard outside Beckside Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard outside Beckside Cottage
Living room with wood burner Dining room over looking courtyard flowers can be ordered for that special occasion
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Courtyard outside Beckside Cottage
Living room with wood burner
Dining room over looking courtyard flowers can be ordered for that special occasion
Master bedroom
Front door with original stained glass window detailing head of a sheep
Kitchen window, looking to front of cottage
Well equipped modern kitchen
Dining room
Living room complete with modern TV, DVD and Bluetooth music player
Living room with original beams
Master bedroom
An example of flower arrangement which can be pre ordered at extra cost for your special anniversary
Bedroom 2 prepared for 1 person
Bedroom 2 prepared for 2 people
Modern bathroom with power shower
Front view of Beckside Cottage taken from the free National Park car park
Rear view of Beckside cottage
Rear door of Beckside Cottage, with outside lighting for summer evenings.
Plenty of low level and high level walks on your doorstep
Forest walks nearby
The fells
The whole of the Lake District National Park is easily accessible
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Caldbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Luke D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, friendly, beautiful little cottage x”
Reviewed March 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I were looking for a quiet and cosy getaway with good walks for our dog and decided on Beckside Cottage. It was the best weekend we've ever had!

Easy to find from the M6, we were welcomed on arrival by Nicky the cottage owner who showed us around and told us everything we needed to know. We even found that she'd left us essentials, such a pint of milk and a couple of dog biscuits.

We did both recommended walks "Watersmeet" and "The Howk", as well as trekking over to a local village called Sebergham. Although we probably walked around 20 miles in total over our stay there was still so much more to potentially be explored!

The cottage itself is simply idyllic. Lovely and warm, comfy and quaint we felt at home straightaway. We cooked in the first night and found everything we could possibly need. The log burner was fantastic, and we enjoyed a glass of Prosecco while watching a couple of DVDs that were already there.

As our stay fell over a Monday, we were lucky enough to sample the local chippy van that comes to the village in the evening. We'd recommend booking over a Monday just for this alone as it was delicious. We also ate and drank at the local pub the Oddfellows. A friendly and welcoming place, with great home-cooked food.

All in all we had a perfect time at Beckside Cottage. The only fault we could make is that we couldn't stay longer and we will 100% be visiting again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2015
Many thanks for the fab review, we are delighted that you enjoyed the charms of Beckside Cottage. Would be lovely to see you all again.
Nicky
Ginger Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadiamcmw
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy in Cumbria”
Reviewed February 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful cottage is the perfect size for 2 people, making it really cosy and warm. It's furnished to a really high specification throughout with an outstanding attention to detail. We got to Caldbeck late in the evening so weren't able to meet Nikki on arrival but she had very kindly left the key at the local pub. Caldbeck is a really charming village and we can't wait to go back again! All we can say is it was "just right" - a Goldilocks getaway location. Thanks so much :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Delighted to receive your 'Goldilocks' review, many thanks for taking the time to post.
Best wishes
Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well located and equipped cottage”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Warm cottage (stayed here on a snowy January weekend). Well equipped cottage with everything needed for a weekend (or longer) away. Good location in the village with great walks nearby (didn't need to drive - parking in the car park just over the road). Would highly recommend this cottage (owners even posted my glove to me after I'd left it behind!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Hello, we were delighted to receive your review. Many thanks for taking the time to post such a complimentary review.
Best wishes
Nicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy cottage in great walking country.”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is an old cottage but with contemporary decoration so doesn't feel cluttered. Comfortable bedrooms and a Swedish log burner that heated the place up in the cold of February. Very cosy cottage. The owners were very helpful providing lots of local information including laminated maps of circular walks. We walked to neighbouring Hesket Market and had a hearty lunch at the co-operative owned pub Old Crown. Looks like there are some great walks all over this area and of course you can easily get to other parts of the Lake District from here. Had chips from the Monday evening chippy van and they were good too!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Hello, very many thanks for taking time to post a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Beckside Cottage, I agree that the local walks and pubs are a very good combination for a holiday.
Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L0uiseR13
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful cottage in a lovely village. The cottage is spotless, well equipped, cosy and comfortable. We had a great weekend with 2 young kids and a dog. The owner is very friendly and welcoming and came to greet us to tell us about the area. Would definitely recommend Beckside cottage, we'll be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness of the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2015
Many thanks for taking time to post a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Beckside Cottage, we would be very pleased to see you all again if you find time to come back.
Best wishes
Nicky
Ginger Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemgem77
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Perfect Christmas”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We spent 3 nights over christmas at this beautiful, cosy cottage and we would not hestitate to come back again. The cottage was decorated beautifully for christmas and we even had some mince pies waiting for us :) Nicky met us there and showed us around, filling us in on how everything worked. The beds are really comfy and a lot of effort has gone into making you feel at home. The kitchen is well equipped (we managed to cook a full christmas dinner!) and the bathroom is lovely. We all enjoyed the log burner, especially the dogs- who also enjoyed a fantastic long walk on Boxing day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2015
Very many thanks for posting such a lovely review, I am delighted you enjoyed your Christmas at Beckside Cottage, and even more thanks for recommending us to your family for their post Christmas visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Hello, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. It is very pleasing to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Beckside Cottage and the lovely village of Caldbeck.
best wishes
NickyGinger Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing