We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Milliner's Cottage

Well equipped dining kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Well equipped dining kitchen
Living room with recliner sofas Wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Well equipped dining kitchen
Living room with recliner sofas
Wood burning stove
Victorian cottage with original features
Double bedroom - all bedding crisp cotton
Twin bedroom - all mattresses pocket sprung
Family bathroom with bath and shower over
Private garden
Garden fairy lights
A church has stood on this site in Pocklington since Roman times
Plenty of local shops at the end of the road.
The local Arts Centre has a good reputation for films and live acts
Wolds walking from your doorstep
Historic York, a short drive or bus ride away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rebel72
East Anglia, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed March 28, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A pefect retreat for a relaxing long weekend away. The cottage has everything that is required and more besides with amazing attention to detail. The beds are so comfortable that one of our group is hunting down the same mattress.. The cottage is well situated in a lovely little town with all the amenities required.. the nearest indian resturant well worth a visit. Thank you for a perfect stay where we relaxed and enjoyed everything. Def going to recommend to anyone who will listen..lol.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2018
Thank you! We really want our guests to have the best possible experience, so are delighted to read such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beck W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely long weekend”
Reviewed March 26, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Pocklington is a great town with lots of cafes, pubs and restaurants and a good bus service to nearby York. The cottage is beautiful. Welcomes you in as soon as you step through the door. Attention to detail is impressive. Comfortable rooms, a garden out the back and a log fire. Highly recommended and would happily visit again. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2018
You are very welcome! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndStoke...
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm cosy cottage”
Reviewed February 22, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed with our two grandchildren for two nights. Pocklington is a really nice market town with lots of independent shops and cafes. We used the park and ride when going into York. The cottage is warm and cosy and very well equipped, there are books and games available for children and DVDs too but after a day exploring York it was early nights for all of us. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and left thoughtful little extras. We are looking forward to revisiting, hopefully in the warmer months so that I can sit in the garden in the evening with a glass of wine and the fairy lights on.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2018
We are so glad you enjoyed exploring York and relaxing in Pocklington, and we'd be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude I
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed February 17, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just enjoying a VERY comfortable stay at Milliner’s Cottage in Pocklington. Patrick and Helen, the owners greeted us on arrival and were so friendly and helpful with lots of tips about the area. There was a pint of milk in the fridge, tea and coffee on the side and a bowl of inviting looking chocolate eggs on the table! Although too cold for the garden, we put on the outside garden fairy lights and admired how pretty it looks. I fully intend to come back in the Summer and enjoy dining alfresco. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was lovely and warm. A bath is also available and the pristine bathroom is well stocked with toiletries. The bookshelves are stacked with interesting reads and the reclining sofas are irresistible. Although we do not have any small children, it was good to see that there was a cot, stair-gate and high-chair available should we ever return with the grandchildren.
This is the perfect venue for a cosy winter break in Pocklington and the Yorkshire Wolds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneEli...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great find!”
Reviewed November 10, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Helen and Patrick (the owners) made us feel very welcome. They have obviously put a lot of care and consideration into making Milliner's Cottage homely and an exceptionally comfortable place to stay. We only had a short stay so didn't have time to enjoy the log burner but did enjoy the relaxing recliner sofas and flicking through the book selection. Although Pocklington has a choice of places to eat, we decided to take a short walk to Sainsburys to buy food to cook and eat in the cottage. The kitchen was immaculately clean and well equipped. The following day we had a pleasant lunch at the World Peace Cafe at Kilnwick Percy Hall. Helen helped us with directions to walk there. This was a lovely walk along part of the Pilgrimage of Grace (one of the Top 10 Trail Experiences) with some great views across the Yorkshire Wolds. There are so many worthwhile places in and around Pocklington to visit. I would definitely recommend Millner's Cottage as a base to enjoy these.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahA165...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in the heart of Pocklington”
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

An absolute gem! Me and my friend stayed in this comfy, cosy cottage on Saturday, 4th November as we had a wedding nearby. The hosts Helen and Patrick were lovely and greeted us on arrival and left us some homemade buns which was a nice touch. The house was very warm and finished to an excellent standard. The beds were very comfy and the shower was lovely and hot. I really couldn’t of asked for more, it’s been the perfect relaxing weekend. On Sunday morning sitting on the recliners whilst having a cup of tea was a great treat too. Thanks once again for an excellent stay Helen and Patrick and I’ll be sure to recommend this cottage to my family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvierib...
La Madeleine, France
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2018
Merci beaucoup. Vous êtes les bienvenus!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing