We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant place to stay near London, definitely be back”
Review of Packfords Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Packfords Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodford
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“brilliant place to stay near London, definitely be back”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This was a brilliant find! Really nice hotel in quiet area but only 30mins to Oxford St on Central line!! Such friendly helpful service, great breakfast, very reasonable price. Really nice setting, was so pleasant to sit in the garden drinking Pimms. Close to shops, several good restaurnts (Chutney and Rosso were great) and 5 mins walk to station. Couldn't recommend more!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ghostwriter28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    22
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
18
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed for 3 nights while working long days in London. Everywhere was spotless and the beds very comfy so we slept really well. Good quality bacon and sausage, nicely cooked in the morning. Strong water pressure and very hot water. Staff were efficient, smiley and unobtrusive. A few minutes walk from Woodford Station which is on the Central Line, very handy for anywhere in London. The only faults you could find were a lamp that didn't work and we did get charged slightly more than the original amount quoted. (We didn't pick up on this until later as the person who paid the bill had not made the booking.) Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaTWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I visited Packfords Hotel for afternoon tea with my mother and 9 year old daughter and was very pleasantly surprised with just how good it was. The hotel is very well presented - lots of gorgeous fresh flowers everywhere and the staff welcoming and helpful. The tea and sandwiches and pastries etc were of a very high standard and it was excellent value for money! I have also had afternoon tea in some West End hotels and can say without a doubt that this was just as good but at a fraction of the price. The atmosphere was wonderful with lots of different age groups enjoying the tradition of afternoon tea. Packford's only offer afternoon tea on the last Sunday of every month and it seems to be proving very popular. We will defintely be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonMac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

I stayed here at the beginning of August on vacation and was thoroughly impressed. In order:

Cleanliness - the room was impeccable. I stayed in room six (I believe) - it was above the entrance, and even though it looked over the street it was quiet at night. Giant bed, giant sofa, and the bathroom was spotless.

Location - I took the tube up to the Woodford Green station and walked up. It could have been closer to the station, but it wasn't too horrible, and it's nothing they can do anything about.

Rooms - giant, beautifully designed, and exceptionally comfortable.

Service - I talked to the son of the owner extensively over drinks at night, and the owner and her daughter were working during the day. Everyone was exceptionally friendly.

Value - I priced hotels in the city and was happy to find this place.

Sleep quality - the first night wasn't good because of jetlag, but after that it was perfect. The beds were comfortable and, again, it wasn't loud despite my room overlooking the street.

Extras - the Full English was good and the garden out back is very peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewsspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Attended a friend's wedding at this hotel (unfortunately did not stayover), and found this to be an amazing venue. The staff were great, the food was superb, the venue was clean, modern and tastefully decorated, the gardens were lovingly manicured and well-presented. Overall an amazing place and would have no qualms about recommending. Only quibble was the price of drinks at the bar.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toughguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at Packfords for the weekend. Though we live locally we were celebrating our anniversary in child free bliss! Staff were welcoming and friendly and the room was spotless. The bed may well be more comfortable than our own! In the morning we both had a cooked breakfast and I was delighted to find that Packfords were able to cater for my gluten free diet. As a note our breakfast waitress was charming and an excellent ambassador for the hotel and it's staff.

I would definately recommend staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chabambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Stayed here with a friend while visiting London. Although it seems a bit out of town it is close to a train station so that it actually very easy to get into the city centre. The room was very nice, decent size and the en-suite was spacious. No noise at night. Great English breakfast too. Given the quality of the hotel and the ease of getting into London I think it's good value for money and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodford
1.2 km away
Best Western Plus Epping Forest
2.3 km away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Premier Inn London Chingford Hotel
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express London - Chingford - North Circular
4.6 km away
St. Georgio Hotel
St. Georgio Hotel
#6 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Packfords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Packfords Hotel

Property: Packfords Hotel
Address: 16 Snakes Lane West, Woodford IG8 0BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Woodford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Packfords Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Packfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Packfords Hotel Essex
Packfords Hotel Woodford, Essex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing