We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food at reasonable prices”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Rochford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Good food at reasonable prices with generous portions. Prefer the atmosphere in the Bar rather than the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Modorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

My family and I love the Royal Oak. Great quality homemade food and friendly helpful staff. Really good value for money, would recommend to all!

Thank AbbyHarding17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

my wife and I took my parents out for lunch rather unplanned last sunday when we arrived we were politely asked if we would mind waiting to order food as the kitchen had been under pressure on a very busy sunday
we said not a problem e would have a drink while we waited .when they wee ready for us to order a member of staff came to us and took our order
the food arrived and all I can say is I think if they thought they would get away with it my wife and mum would have picked up the crab shells and licked them clean lol they enjoyed it so much dad had a good old favourite of his I went for the mixed grill all I can say is thank god I hadn't eaten
awesome food awesome service some where we have been before and will be again many times I hope

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kjwhite055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

They called it fish pie but too much smoked haddock meant all the ingredients, prawns, white fish, salmon all tasted of smoked haddock. The waitress saw we had left most of it and told her why and must admit was expecting a small gesture of goodwill ie. coffee or similar. Dream on. Disappointing as regular clients.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalOak03, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Mr H, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit to us, especially our fish pie. I can fully understand your comments, Our fish pie is one of the best sellers on the menu and this is the first time we have received negative feedback in anyway about this dish. If you could contact us either by phone or via our website to advise me of when you visited I will be able to investigate as to who made the pies that day, It will also enable me to identify the waitress that served you so that I may review the way your comments were handled and indeed offered a gesture at the time. It is our intention to ensure all our guests leave happily and we failed to do this on this occasion. Apologies once again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Visited last night , 1st time in a lot of years .
Lovly olde worlds pub.
Food excellent , totally ful up, couldn't Manage dessert so will be returning .

Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
 
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing