We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap, but you get what you pay for”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bulphan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ye Olde Plough House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bulphan
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“cheap, but you get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Our friends and us paid £50 for our rooms - £60 for the guys who didn't pre-book - which we were using just a place to sleep in after a wedding nearby. Our room was pretty basic but ok - some of the others were dirty with stains and burns etc.. It served it's purpose after a few drinks but was pretty cold during the night and the bed was small and had a paper thin mattress. Decided to avoid breakfast but a couple of friend's did stay for it and had nice things to say about the fry up.
Will do the trick for somewhere to just bed down, but don't expect anything flash and ask for an extra blanket or two!

Room Tip: Have a look at the room first - quality varies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simcfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    78
    45
    30
    27
See reviews for
92
44
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I agree with other reviews, that staff are RUDE, UNSYMPATHETIC, do not respond well to complaints.

We went to a wedding here in the summer.

Rooms are very very basic, the beds uncomfortable, and our shower didn't work.

The night before the wedding, a table was booked for 15 people including the bride and bridesmaids that were already staying, and some other guests. The table was booked a few days in advance so we were expecting a quick meal, then off to bed for an early night, all ready for the big day!

We arrived at 8pm, as per the booking, and sat at a nicely laid table that was all ready for us. Noone came to take our order for about 30 minutes. First of all, they would not take separate orders. We thought it was a bit strange, but agreed to just split the bill between ourselves after.

About 25 minutes after taking our order, they came back and told us that they had sold out of most of the starters. In the end, 3 or 4 people ended up getting starters, nearly an hour after sitting down at the table.

They then decided that we could pay separately, so proceeded to note down what everyone had had, and gave us our bills to sign straight away! Now I have eaten in many hotel restaurants, and not in one have I ever been asked to pay for my meal BEFORE I have eaten it, and especially not when we had been waiting for an hour for our food.

At 9.30, after speaking several times to the waiting staff, we made a formal complaint at reception. We explained that we had now been waiting 1.5 hours. The bride was tired and now extremely worried about the level of service she was expecting at her wedding, and that we would therefore not be paying for the meal. Bearing in mind that the bride had spent a considerable amount of money with the venue, and given the terrible service, and lack of apologies we had received, any reputable hotel would have offered this. The father of the bride requested that if there was any issue with this, for the manager to come and speak to him in the morning.

We eventually received our meals (average, not good but not terrible either) at 10pm, and went to bed at 10.30.
The bride went to bed very concerned, and therefore was not able to sleep well.

The next day passed off without incident, and a lovely time was had by all.

The morning after the wedding, it became apparent that we had still been charged full price for the meals, despite no one having come to speak to the Father of the Bride about the decision not to deduct the meals from the bill. Either the message had not been passed on, had not been taken seriously, or they did not want to report the incident to their managers.

Another argument was had with the staff. As someone else has mentioned below, on both times of making complaints, the staff became quite aggressive. They tried to tell us that they had been slow to serve us because they also had to serve customers in the main restaurant. Well 1. The table was booked, so they should have had enough staff and food to serve all tables. 2. The bride was undoubtablely the most important, most high paying guest in that hotel on that night, so she should have had priority.

Eventually, after point blankly refusing to pay, the meals were deducted from everyones bills.

The whole incident really took away from the atmosphere of the event, and the attitude of the staff was that it was our fault for booking a large table.

Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Request a 'garden room' otherwise you will get a room that opens onto the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy-loves-chocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

A whole bunch of us stayed here after my daughter's wedding. We were a bit apprehensive due to other reviews on Trip Advisor, but we need not have worries. The room was basic but very spacious. We asked for, and got, a room near the reception in case we put any of the children to bed before the wedding ended. The breakfast was plentiful and staff very helpful. Would recommend venue for any function. Easy to find and easily accessible from M25. Executive suite was very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarebear93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed end of june for one night as our son had his wedding reception here. The standard rooms were in need of decoration, but were good value for money. We did have a look at the executive rooms and the bridal suites and they were fabulous.
The breakfast was really good with a good choice available.
All the staff were friendly and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If it's for a special occassion would recommend the executive room or bridal suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendyupminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Good = All rooms are ground level though some have a step up into the room. Clean, spacious room (we stayed in no.13) with good basic facilities. There is a lovely patio & garden area in the middle of the plot with a narrow stream running through. There are low steps inside the building that are accompanied with ramps. We attended a friend's wedding ceremony on site in a comfortable, intimate area of a larger room that later doubled as the breakfast room. The wedding meal & celebration was in a barn style room with high pitched, beamed ceiling & doors leading out onto the patio/garden area. At one end of the room is another smaller one with seating & a bar. The decoration, service & food were all of a very good standard. The meal was served hot to approximately 80 people.
Not so Good = Buffet breakfast was served 8-9.30 (though reception staff told us 8-10).
We arrived & were checked in for breakfast at 9.25. We waited 15minutes for a table to be cleaned & reset by which time there were empty juice jugs & empty hot food trays. We waited again, for replenished drink & food containers after one member of staff telling us, 'they don't cook food to throw it away'.
Generally = The buffet breakfast is very basic: juice & cereal, white toast, tea & coffee with sausage, egg, bacon, baked bean, tinned tomatos. The hotel has good facilities for a wedding or party gathering. Apart from the barn room & the bedrooms, the rest of the inside of the building could do with a paint freshen up. Most of staff were pleasant but it was unfortunate that the morning circumstances spoiled the stay a little.

Room Tip: Some rooms nearer to the stream. Beware if you have small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

My husband's cousin got married at the hotel and we chose to stay the night. I wasn't really expecting a great deal from the venue, but I must admit the wedding was organised brilliantly how much of that was down to the bride or the hotel i couldn't say. It all went off without a hitch and I enjoyed myself more than I had expected. The room was very clean and the bathroom looked like it had been recently re fitted. The room was a little walk away from the main hotel building through the lovely lanscaped gardens and across a little bridge over a stream, just far enough away so that if you wanted to retire early you wouldn't be bothered by the music from the function suite.
We had breakfast in the morning not included in our stay but very resonable, my only critisism was the staff were a bit funny when I said we wanted breakfast, she wanted me to pay on my card and when I said i'd already got a tab running from the night before for drinks, she didn't seem to understand my confusion, all she had to do is add the breakfast to the tab. I had given my card details the night before. She agreed to add breakfast after a little bit of wrangling!
All in all a very enjoyable wedding a over night stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We used this venue for our Mothers party, excellent organisation skills, nothing was too much trouble and then had the benefits of rooms for friends and family who needed to stay. 100% happy with everything. thankyou

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bulphan
4.3 km away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
4.2 km away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
9.0 km away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
6.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
6.7 km away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Plough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Plough House

Property: Ye Olde Plough House
Address: Bulphan RM14 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Bulphan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bulphan
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
73 en suite bedrooms bordering the grounds at Ye Olde Plough House. All rooms are tastefully decorated and have either bath or shower,colour television and tea & coffee making facilities, there is also ample car parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Plough House Hotel Bulphan
Ye Olde Plough Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing