We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”
Review of Cerritos Surf Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cerritos Surf Town
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I just came back from Cerritos Surf Colony. It was exactly what I had hoped it would be, though even more beautiful. I had read the other reviews and went prepared for some inconsistencies -- the uneven lawn, the cold weather, the erratic electricity and hot water. The lawn is now pristine and tended to daily. I wore an extra t-shirt at night and was fine. I didn't notice if the electricity went out. And showers were lovely and hot in the morning.

I arrived in SJD and drove up -- rented a car which was very cheap (not sure if it's priceline or Mexico). Glad I did, Todos Santos is up the road and magical beaches are everywhere, including one where local fishermen bring their haul, fresh out of the ocean filleted grouper for 40 pesos. Perfect. The villas are on a little bluff a bit above the sea, the views are terrific, the sea was warm, totally swimable. On the drive up from Cabo, I stopped at Mega -- a terrific supermarket and stocked up on food. I thought I would need to having read the reviews. I wished I had bought less because guests raved about the food.

I had a two bedroom two storey villa. The views were unbelievable. Ike extended an open invitation to the incredible hotel on the hill for drinks and whale watching. I took him up on it and ended up talking the evening away with some others staying at the hotel and at the villas. It's a super quiet place -- I only twice heard any noise related to construction: a saw that went for literally three minutes tops, and some hammering that sounded more like a sliversmith's hammer than a builder. It also didn't last long. The sound of the ocean pretty much drowns everything out.

All the guests are friendly, probably because they are so happy to be there. You will be denying yourself if you don't check this place out. I'm looking for the next time I can go. It's great if you're on your own, with friends, with your honey, and with your family and kids. The beach is ENDLESS. It's incredible. I'll post pictures in the morning. :)

Room Tip: villa 18. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dreamofthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

Awesome beaches, able to sleep w/ the door open all night long. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa so the bedrooms were upstairs w/ master bedroom overlooking the ocean. Surf was good for beginners, water temp was fine w/out wetsuit if the sun was out and over 75 degrees.
Recommend picking up groceries, water, alcohol in Cabo on the way in - there isn't much close by . (there is a Walmart on the right just as you start to enter downtown Cabo)
Checked out a couple different restaurants in Todos that were both good and the food at Cerritos Surf Colony was also good – prices were $12-20 per entrée.
Rental car is needed, especially if you want to have any night life. Beware of the online quotes for car rental – you have to have Mexican car insurance and it can cost $50+ per day for full coverage and w/ some of the roads in Cerritos area, full coverage is needed! Highway 19 is not quite done in some spots and there was some wicked off roading. I recommend making your first trip to Cerritos while still daylight out (sunset is around 6pm), not only is there off roading, but no street lighting and the signs are not very good!
There is a good sports bar (Sandbar) just a couple miles north on Hwy 19 that will show most of the American sports – it was perfect for NFL playoffs! FYI – a lot of places are closed on Tuesdays in Mexico – as is this place.
Bring a flashlight/headlamp – 4 hour power outage one night w/ sporadic water outages throughout the week. Also nice to have if you are walking around the property at night.
The pool looked nice, but way to cold to swim in. Even the hot tubs didn’t seem to get over 60 degrees
My biggest complaint is the lack of other activities and poor management. There was lots of miscommunication with our reservation and we almost didn’t have a place to stay when we got there! We were there for 7 days and enjoy surfing, lounging around and reading but we were also looking for other things to do….mountain biking, kayaking, fishing….what they advertised. They didn’t have any of it. We even had to find the place to rent the ATVs on our own. PS – there are no TVs in the villas and Verizon didn’t work for the phones, but AT&T did.
Overall, this place has a lot of potential because of the location right on the ocean front, they just need to step it up a notch.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

First off: Bring a flashlight or headlamp and binoculars! The whales (grey whales and the odd Humpback) are so close, binoculars would have made a huge difference. The grass in front of the bungalows is very uneven and not lit up so when walking around at night after a few cervezas it could be hazardous.

A few things we found lacking:
1) Hotel booklet says drinking water provided - it was not;
2) When we checked in there were no towels or tea towels in our room - we had to remind them and then eventually pick them up ourselves a few hours later;
3) No plug for kitchen sink making doing dishes difficult;
4) Kitchen quite poorly equipped (1 large plate, only knives were butter knives etc. We bought a small paring knife and dish bowl then left them behind);
5) No dresser or wardrobe to put clothes in so live out of suitcase all week;
6) no safe in room, but apparently not required.
7) Wifi is only usable near the office, it only worked one day we were there.

As everyone has said, the location is amazing!!! You can't beat it.

We were in a studio bungalow right next door to construction (#5). They start at 6 am and go on most nights until at least 6 pm, sometimes as late as 8 pm, every day except sunday. We could not use our hammock and felt uncomfortable on our patio so spent a large part of our time at the pool. I didn't have ear plugs so I was awake every day at 6 am. We complained and despite another bungalow staying empty all week were never offered to be moved - we asked twice. Giovani (manager) is awfully nice but has no solutions when problems occur.

Water went out a few times a day; was out all day sunday when the water pump cratered. Power went out a few times a day. No biggie really, I think expected when you are remote like this. A neighboring hotel was without power from Sunday to Wednesday!!

The food at the restaurant was great, but we only ever ate dinner there. Had a small bar fridge in our room so did our own breakfast and lunch (bought food on the way up in Cabo at the Chedraui). Lots of great small places nearby to eat for much cheaper (not the beach club though - very expensive) you just have to adventure around a bit.

Pool is unheated but we swam in it everyday, about same temp as ocean which should be no problem for any other Canadians! Be sure to turn the left dial on the hot tub up so the heats turns on. After 8pm it no longer heats up and the pool water filters through it so they get cold.

We were not happy being in Bungalow #5 and woken up at all hours but we are still considering buying another groupon and heading back next year! I think no matter what bungalow you are in you will hear construction as it is all around (there's 12 bungalows complete, going to eventually be 49 according to the signs so I think it will be a construction zone for a long while yet). The relaxed atmosphere around this area was awesome, the people are very nice (Chantal at the restaurant was great) and getting around is very easy. We were cold at night but asked for another blanket and were OK after that.

FYI - there's a new road to the surf colony from around KM marker 67 on Hwy 19 - they haven't updated the website yet so it still says from Km 65, but that's the old road going to the Hacienda. Look for the flags, crank a left and watch out as it is a steep road off the highway.

I saw a comment on the groupon Q&A about the gym and a reply stating that there is construction on site as the gym is being built. Currently, it is nothing but a flat area. Only construction on site is more bungalows.

Room Tip: Ask to be AWAY from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank ProudCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Cerritos Surf Colony is just right for a relaxing weekend away.
The thatched roof casitas were cozy and looking right into the the surf break.
We watched leaping whales by day and sparkling moonlit waters by night.
This resort has low density and a mellow atmosphere that makes you just want to move in and not leave.
Ike and Giordani were very helpful and accommodating.
The outdoor day beds were just perfect for lounging.
We'll be back soon!

Room Tip: The two bedrooms have the master upstairs and in front with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank LanceNiederhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

First off, if you're going to be staying here definetly rent a car. Taxi's do go out that far, but once you're out there, you need a way to get around seeing as there isn't that much to do right at the Colony besides surfing and swimming. Todos Santos is about a 15 minute drive North and it was such an amazing little town that is very welcoming to tourists. There is quite a bit to do in the town and TONS of restaurants. At the Colony my Fiance and I stayed in a one bedroom villa which was gorgeous, the only problem was at night when it got extremely cold. The blankets kept us warm, but it was the air that was freezing. So if you plan on going during December or January be prepared for that, but during the day it stayed the perfect temperature. The resort itself is beautiful. The pool is amazing to look at, but waaay too cold to swim in. The hottubs were nice, but the guests have to turn them on manually and they take about 45 minutes to get warm. The beach is awesome, it's huge and the waves are perfect to swim in and at night on 2 occasions we saw Humpback whales which was really cool. We stayed at the resort for 6 nights and it was a great experience. It's still in the process of being completed, so expect some noise from the construction, but other then that it was an amazing place to stay. It's very safe for tourists and talking to some of the local Canadians that live down there, say that it is a very quiet area where there is not much crime. The only dangers we heard of were driving on the very long stretch of highway at night because of the drunk drivers, but other then that we felt no threat about walking or driving around. The resort is in the middle of nowhere, so the dangers are not as high as it is in the big cities. This is the place you come if you are looking for a relaxing, quiet holiday. Which is exactly what we experienced. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Pros:
awesome location right on the beach
Big swimming pool
great lounger beds by the pool
pretty casitas
clean
nice staff
good towel quality
good food - kind of pricey
Master bed was great, the second bedroom was hard mattress and thin sheets

cons
internet didn't work most of the time
if its cold - which it was in December - its freezing because of thatched roof and not enough blankets
not enough dishes in the houses, we had to keep steeling things from the restaurant t- like enough forks for out family of 4.
water went out one day
electric went out for short spells in the evening - not more than 5 min.
hot water was erratic for showers

We got a great deal on a coupon so we're totally happy. But at full price, I'd complain about the issues.
The surfing was terrific, my 11 year old daughter aced it in a day and surfed everyday after just one lesson. There was a little stand set up down the beach that rented surf boards for $100 peso's a day.
Todos Santos is a great town to poke around and shop and eat. Not much else to do.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not next to construction - they're doing a lot of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CShook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here at Cerritos Surf Colony. Our villa was right next to the pool and we enjoyed the hammock that was just steps from our front door. The view here is unbeatable and the beach seams endless. Our stay was the R&R that we were looking for. We stopped at the super mercado in Cabo before heading up and we cooked most of our meals and made our own drinks. Take advantage of the views from the Hacienda on the hill and watch the sunset! We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 2busy2work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
14.0 km away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
362 reviews
3.8 km away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
450 reviews
12.0 km away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
14.3 km away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
635 reviews
14.5 km away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerritos Surf Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerritos Surf Town

Address: Km 67, highway 19 | Cerritos Beach, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico (Formerly Cerritos Surf Colony)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price Range: $148 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cerritos Surf Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerritos Surf Colony is located on world famous Cerritos Beach with a reputation frequently noted in Surfer Magazine for champion surfing. Cerritos Beach is the best beach in Cabo, and voted first runner up in Los Cabos Magazine! Cerritos Surf Colony is a neighbor to both the Hacienda Cerritos Boutique Hotel (a majestic mansion hotel located on a private cliff at the shore of the ocean), and the celebrity frequented hot spot Cerritos Beach Club & Surf where you can get surfing lessons, board rental, and great food.Cerritos Surf Colony is a beach front resort of Mayan inspiration and thatched palm roofs. The free standing studio, one, two, and four bedroom villas are solar energy assisted. Enjoy our amazing swimming pool and bar, surf the waves out your back door , climb the Sierra de la Lagunas, explore the artist colony of Todos Santos, or just lay back in your own palm shaded hammock.ATV rental, horseback riding, kayaking, fishing, art gallery walks, hiking Triple Waterfall, Voluntourism, massage, are just some of the things to enjoy here in Baja California. Los Cerritos provides simplicity, tranquility and a break from city life that you have been longing for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cerritos Surf Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerritos Surf Colony Hotel El Pescadero
Cerritos Surf Town Mexico/El Pescadero - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing