We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
77
26
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
26
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub east kent specials board cherry brandy charles dickens clive landlord canterbury stopover bath pubs thanet birchington
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 109 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2017

We were booked into this B&B by friends who live locally and recommended it. What a great recommendation. An aura of history about the whole place and a top class host was Clive the Licensee. Room was basic, clean and comfortable with ensuite facility. Having to step into the bath for a shower may be a little difficult for those less mobile but can be managed. Had meal in the adjoining Crown Inn and it was great to have some typical English fare on the menu. Meal was well priced and plentiful. A beer or two in this historic establishment went down well. Legend that Charles Dickens was a visitor of the past added to the overall intrigue of the place. The breakfast provided was very good and catered for our needs. Would recommend this place to others and would gladly return if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: Spent little time in room - enjoyed atmosphere in actual Crown Inn.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ANNCR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2017

I lived in Sarre over 36 years ago and decided to revisit Thanet. The Crown ( Cherry Brandy house) was the perfect place to stay. The food is really very good and the portions are large. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and very filling. It kept us going all day. We ate there three times as the menu is extensive. The landlord Clive is very hospitable and friendly. We were made very welcome and will certainly return. The whole experience was great. Rooms were very clean and service was excellent

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank 313carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Great food, Nice room, very pleased with Clive & Pennys hospitality and way of running the Inn. Great value for money and nearby Canterbury which was very nice. Very relaxed place, which we can fully recommand. We will be back! Ray & Dinah Seaton

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dinah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017

My family and I live in Birchington which is about 10 minutes up the road. We have lost count of the number of times we have had dinner at the Cherry Brandy. Delicious food every single time, with huge portions of food! I highly recommend their pies, which tend to appear on their specials board. Clive is very warm and welcoming. As we have been there so many times, he does recognise us and always has a cheeky comment when we arrive :) When we decide to eat out and are thinking of places to go, our first choice is the Cherry Brandy.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megbkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017 via mobile

A one night stop over visiting family, we were made very welcome by Penny & Clive, the room we booked was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable, dinner was fabulous all three courses and at a very reasonable price ! Breakfast in the morning was as good as the evening meal all in all we will be visiting again x

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracy186349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews