We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage and a great location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Vine Cottage

Recently refurbished period cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Recently refurbished period cottage
Courtyard with seating Gets plenty of sun in the summer months
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Recently refurbished period cottage
Courtyard with seating
Gets plenty of sun in the summer months
Quite location , only a few minutes walk to the village.
Twin room, which can be made into a double
Cosy lounge with a real open fire for those winter months
Dining area to seat up to 6 people also with a open fire
Double room
Fully equipt kitchen
Fresh local eggs, fresh coffee & milk provided on arrival
Lovely riverside walks minutes from the cottage , great for dog walkers
Cream tea for bookings over four days
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Great Eccleston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ZappaBoy
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage and a great location!”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the cottage for a few days in early August 2015 - two adults, one child and one dog! The cottage looked amazing - both inside and out, and it felt like a real home from home. The owner had left tea, coffee, milk and eggs for us, along with a large basket of freshly laundered towels. We cannot fault the cottage in any way! The beds were comfy, the bathroom was spacious, clean and cheery, and the kitchen came fully equipped with everything you might possibly need!

The decor of the cottage was very tasteful, and the cottage itself is situated in a very picturesque little village called Great Eccleston. There are lots of nice pubs and restaurants if you wish to eat out - our favourite was the Farmers Arms, which was very good value for money. The two main village pubs didn't do hot food every day though, which was a shame, as it meant we had to go elsewhere.

The area is very handy for Blackpool, Fleetwood, St Annes and Lytham etc, and is a great base, if you want all the excitement of the seaside, but don't want to actually stay in amongst all the hustle and bustle all the time.

The village itself is surrounded with mile after mile of stunning countryside, and this was perfect for walking our greyhound.

We would totally recommend this fab little cottage to anyone visiting the area, as it has everything you might need - peace and quiet, or a packed seaside adventure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall home from home feel of the cottage.
Liked least: The cottage utility room could have had a small freezer to allow for the storage of travel freezer packs or ice creams etc.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Wow ! Thanks for a fab review, sounds like you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area which we are glad to hear. Thanks for leaving the cottage nice and tidy too. Hope to see you again in the future.
Thanks and regards Emma & Jeremy x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna t
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect little cottage”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Two children aged 2 and 4, and two adults had a fantastic stay, we were visiting an elderly relative in blackpool and found the drive took us no more than 15 minutes into blackpool. The zoo was a highlight for the children, but being able to come back and relax in a home away from home feeling made the trip so much more enjoyable than staying in a hotel. The cottage is well equipped, comfortable, and very sweet, the surrounding area is pretty with places to eat, so we took advantage and had a very nice fish and chips take away one evening. Thank you for the lovely jam! We hope to stay again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2015
Thanks for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed staying in our cottage. Hope to see you again , Emma & Jeremy x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktdasiych...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great cottage”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

lovely cottage, everything you need for a family break, perfect for relaxing after a busy few days in blackpol during the school holidays. About 20 mins from blackpool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2015
Thanks so much for your review , hope to see you again Emma & Jeremy x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Vine Cottage was ideal for us. A great location in a quaint village yet only 10 mins from the seaside. The cottage itself was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The owners were on hand for any help needed and suggestions for good family days out. We will definitely be back! Thanks for letting us stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Thanks so much for your kind review , glad you enjoyed your few days in the area and we look forward to welcoming you again , kind regards Emma & Jeremy x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Little Cottage in Great Eccleston”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with family for two nights to see old friends. Really nice village with pubs, butcher, baker ..... and a few really good restaurants. A very nice small cottage with a pullout twin cot to accommodate a family of five comfortably.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and visit to great eccleston
Kind regards and hope to see you in the future
Emma & Jeremy x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B
Ferron, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home!”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed at the Vine Cottage on a trip back to Lancashire to visit my family. I was originally looking for a basic B and B but I am so thankful I stumbled upon this gorgeous cottage. It is beautifully renovated, very clean, and truly felt like a home. As I was not on a sight seeing holiday I spent a considerable amount of time at the cottage. It was the perfect place for me to have people over to visit, cook, or just watch TV. It really did feel like my little home for nine days. It is in a fantastic location for getting around the Fylde and Lancashire in general. Gt. Eccleston is a lovely English village. I grew up in this area and so it was wonderful to revisit some of the shops and pubs. I especially enjoyed taking walks in the countryside. The Courtyard Cafe in the village, which is also owned by Emma and Jez, is very quaint and the perfect spot for afternoon tea. These guys know how to take care of people. I absolutely loved my time at Vine Cottage and highly recommend it for a short or long stay. I will be back!!

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Thanks so much Anita, so glad you enjoyed your stay and the cottage was what you wanted. Hope you had a good journey back to the USA and we both hope to see you again some day when your in the area. Thanks again Emma & Jeremy x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been happier.”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely little break away. Cottage was fantastic and had all we needed for our stay. After a visit to the Blackpool tower and Madame Tussaud's we head to the vine cottage. It took about 25 minutes in traffic. When we got there is was a nice surprise to have coffee and fresh milk waiting for us. Everything was thought of and felt like a home. We spent the evening at the illumanations and tucking into a nice Indians at a little town near by.
The following day we went to the pleasure beach, which the boys really enjoyed. Got a tram to the north pier then walked along the beach enjoying a donkey ride along the way. After a long day we decided to get a take away and all sat round the table together and the boys had a game of monopoly (another nice touch) early night in the super Cosie bed. Overall we had a super break and would defo stay at vine cottage again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
Thanks so much for a fantastic review . So glad you had great fun in Blackpool and enjoyed the cottage too. You obviously had a busy weekend and managed to fit in lots of fun things to do. Your welcome anytime at vine cottage and we hope to see you again soon.
Emma and Jeremy Arnold x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing