We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Cilhendre Fawr Farm Cottages
Double bedroom with en suit in the Old Stone Barn
Cosy log fires
Private lane leading to the cottages
Private picnic area
Bathroom in the Old Cowshed
The Stone Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pontardawe, Vale of Glamorgan, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johnlowe5...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mr.”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed in the Stone Barn, which has wonderful views across the valley from the carefully positioned hot tub, which was beautifully clean. The accommodation is spacious, well equipped, warm and easy to get used to, all the kitchen equipment in good order and easy to use. The location is good, we visited the Brecon Beacons, Swansea and the Gower coast, all within easy reach from a good road network. The owners, Diane and Gareth, could not be more helpful, and made sure that we had everything we needed from logs for the fire to clean linen and allowed us to stay for an extra three days, at short notice, as we were having a really nice time and wanted to stay on. The hospitality was most impressive.
John and Lis Lowe, Gloucester.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M
1 review
“Outstanding accomodation”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage was large, comfortable and had everything that we needed. Added were the spectacular views and a Jacuzzi to relax in at the end of the day exploring Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and jacuzzi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swan17
Coventry UK
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for a long weekend with our daughter, son-in-law & 2 grandsons. The cottage was very comfortable with everything we needed. The boys loved the play area & the space outside the Old Stone Barn to run around & kick a ball. The decking with the hot tub was an added bonus on Sunday afternoon when the weather was perfect. Very peaceful place & at night the silence was deafening! (At home we have constant road noise!)
We would certainly come again - hopefully for a longer stay as there is so much to do in the area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deny45
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed as an extended family in the stone barn cottage. We were in Wales for a family christening the location was brilliant very accessible to shops and attractions at the same time being rural with a lovely play park my grandchildren could enjoy and a hottub for us adults. The accommodation was tastefully decorated and very well stalked and if I did have a gripe it was that the downstairs shower did not have enough power and was either roasting hot or freezing cold.
We all had a fantastic stay and would definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tninety S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at the Stone Barn cottage. The cottage was very neatly maintained and has excellent views (esp the valley view from Jacuzzi overlooking the Pontardawe town). Will definitely visit again. Thanks to Gareth/Diane for their warm welcome.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed November 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery around property; peace & quiet; large comfortable rooms; wifi access
Liked least: Cannot think of anything.....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stickmanB...
Burlington
1 review
“Excellent accomodation, wonderful setting”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This was our second visit to Celhendre Fawr Farm Cottages and have really appreciated the standard of accomodation each time. The barn conversion was very well done with exposed wooden beams which adds to the homely feel of the cottage. The location makes for easy access to Swansea, Swansea Valley and the Gower. We now live in Canada but were visiting our family in the Swansea area. There is more than enough room in the cottage to enable us to hold a family gathering.
Diane and Gareth made us feel most welcome .
We look forward to returning there when we next visit the area as it met our every need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: Leaving at the end of our week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing