We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal City Break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
View from the mountain above the cottages.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Pontardawe, Vale of Glamorgan, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Br0jero
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ideal City Break”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed in "The Stone Barn" (cottage number 3) to discover it was quite a lot bigger than expected, all modcons we could have needed were there, really clean and well kept, with an amazing hot tub overlooking the valley and perfectly situated for a sunset view. Took a couple of our mates down for a "non party stag" weekend - with hopes of going for a hike, and having a few barbecues and road trips. Worked out great, good value and really lovely hosts. Thanks to Diane and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub w/Sunset
Liked least: Having to leave at 10am on our last day.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cale S
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect winter holiday.”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Beautiful cottage with beautiful views. A lovely stay. Very friendly owners. We have booked again in the summer and cant wait to sit outside enjoying the sunshine. We loved the open plan of the downstairs. The log fire with a glass of wine was perfect. It was perfect position for Swansea and the Brecon Beacons. My family live in Pontardawe so this was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel P
1 review
“Great weekend”
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Really comfortable, clean cottage that we quickly settled into. Felt remote, but only 10 mins from the supermarkets.

Right next to the nature trail which is well worth the walk.

The hot tub was great with a view exactly as appears on the photo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Low doorframes
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ptrav321
Clevedon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious & comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Group stayed in Stone Barn on a weekend biking trip. Accommodation well equipped, clean and spacious. Hot tub well appreciated after a day's cycling.

The cottages were easy to find with plenty of parking and only a few minutes taxi ride into town if you want to grab dinner and a few beers.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B0S0XGirl
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this cottage! It was spotless and gorgeous with just the right about of charm and functionality.
What we liked best:
-cleanliness
-the view!!!!!!
-the thoughtfulness that the owners clearly put into the cottage to make our stay more enjoyable - many brochures for the local attractions, a map with driving times to all of the local attractions, provided baby gates for the stairs, a highchair and a portable crib
-The manager/owner checked in on us twice to make sure we were happy
-Playground for kids onsite
-Hot tub (even though we didn't use it)
-Location - only 1/2 hour drive from the National Show Caves as well as Swansea

What we liked least:
-Hard pressed to think of something but I guess it would have been nice to have a DVD or two to watch on those rainy Welsh days

I would go back in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - the whole package
Liked least: Bumped my head a couple of times on a very low doorway to one of the bedrooms but still didn't mind. It just adds to the charm.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing