We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn and a great location!”
Review of The New Forest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Emery Down
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Forest Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Emery Down B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

What a wonderful discovery this lovely inn is! The room was clean and comfortable with everything we needed and we were all made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff, including our rather vocal German Shepherd! Dinner was absolutely delicious as was the full English breakfast. The location of the New Forest Inn is perfect for exploring the area and we will definitely return but for longer next time!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frangipanil65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for The New Forest Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have stayed here three times over last two years with our dog and we absolutly love it! The rooms are comfortable the location couldn't be better right in the heart of Forest ideal for long walks and cycling. Food is excellant and staff are very Accomodating. Pub has local village atmosphere. We will definatley be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathjonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My friend and I visited the Inn this evening, for a vegetarian meal.
The food we chose was ok, but not delicious as we would have hoped.
The service was good, but the big let down was sauce in sachets!!
Not a good look, might as well been in a fast food restaurant!!

I suggest you get rid of tacky sauce in sachets, and produce veggie food that is cooked well and with flavour!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Would go here again, as it's on a regular route through the New Forest for us. Food is excellent, and so is the service. Made to feel very welcome in a fantastic Dog friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Just returned from our second stay at the New Forest Inn. Another fantastic couple of days. Staff very friendly and helpful, meals in generous portions,( breakfast now Full English, eaten in Dining Area), and all excellent value. With the breakfast, we found we didn't need to eat again until the evening!!! As stated, this was our second stay here, and we've booked for a third stay in September/October. Excellent position for walking in the Forest,(50 metres and you're in the forest), and well positioned just 1.5 miles from Lyndhurst. Lovely large garden with ample seating, just right for a pint or two after that long walk!! Looking forward to September already!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The New Forest Inn is in a lovely position in the forest, but still close to Lyndhurst. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the evening meal was plentiful and good. As well as a popular restaurant, this is also a well-used proper local pub with a friendly atmosphere. However, our room was extremely small - no room for a chair or bedside cabinet or table etc - just a bed, wardrobe and cupboard (which contained a mini-fridge) and a shelf over the bed. It was clean and the furniture was good quality - except the mattress which was one of the lumpiest I have 'slept' on for years - please, please nice people, replace it very soon! The other disappointment was the breakfast, which as advertised, was a continental breakfast which was put in the fridge at 6ish the evening before. The breads didn't fit in the fridge so had to sit on the cupboard infront of the TV. Given the restrictions, the breakfast was decent quality and again generous especially the cheese and ham, but the croissants had lost their texture overnight and worst, there was no-where to eat it. I sat on the floor and ate off the windowsill; himself on the edge of the bed eating off his lap. It's a miracle the coffee didn't spill. Guys, when you have a great kitchen and tables downstairs, please give your guests the option of sitting at a table and even having a cooked breakfast, even if we have to pay a couple more quid for it. I see from an earlier review that this smallest double is often reserved for people with dogs - all I can say is an Alsation would never fit, and surely it would eat the breakfast before you can get to it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenwichjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed at the New Forest Inn for 4 nights over the New Year period as part of our decision making process in moving to the area. We were made to feel very welcome, the staff are friendly and efficient, the food is excellent (there is a good variety, and the portions are very generous) and the accomodation is very comfortable and spotlessly clean.Our only minor negative is that our room was only serviced once during our stay, but this is because we didn't actually ask for Location very quiet and peaceful.
This place is a real gem, and we would highly recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay, and/or eat whilst in the New Forest.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emery Down
6.4 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,069 reviews
5.9 km away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#1 of 1 in Brook
744 reviews
1.3 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
353 reviews
5.8 km away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
591 reviews
4.4 km away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Forest Inn

Address: Lynddhurst, Emery Down, New Forest, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Emery Down
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Emery Down
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing