We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
195
17
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
17
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor spaamazing foodour honeymoonmornington peninsulabubble bathbottle of sparklingblown awaybeach roompeninsula hot springslots of personal touchesst andrewslisahideawaybushbbbdeckaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 214 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2018 via mobile

We have just come back from 3 wonderful, peaceful, relaxing nights behind the sand dunes.
Loved the position, tucked away in the tea trees with nothing but National Park between the studio and the beach.
I think “studio” is a good name for the accommodation, or maybe beach shack..if your looking for luxury then this isn’t for you - however if you want total privacy, comfy king bed with crisp good quality linen in a room so private you have no need to close your curtains, an outside spa bath and shower ( as well as a large indoor bathroom with top quality toiletries) then this one is worth a visit.
The best thing was we didnt need to to go out for anything as the breakfast basket was full of so much fresh produce it could last all day.
We had the whole beach to ourselves, never saw anyone else at the accommodation...the owners gave us absolute privacy yet made it clear by the lovely notes they left that if we wanted them or need anything they are just up the windy path.
Good music was provided, the airccondition was also a heater so the room was lovely and cosy, there where lots of books to browse - the internet was poor however that was great for us as we didnt want to be disturbed.
Only 10min to the Peninsula Springs and 15 to Sorrento...plenty to do close by if you get bored ( although why you would want to leave this lovely place I dont know)
Well worth the high price, highly recommend the platter!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank trippedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbluebackyard, Owner at big blue backyard, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We love your title!
You are so right, studio or beach shack could easily replace ' hideaway'.
We love this position too and agree that the beach is wonderfully deserted most of the time.
Thrilled you enjoyed your seclusion, the outdoor spa bath and the beautiful Olieve & Olie bath products, as well as the breakfast provisions and the Deluxe deli grazing platter for the evenings feasting.
For us all of the above = luxury in the most uncomplicated way.
We certainly look forward to having you back to stay.
Best Regards
Lisa & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018

We had a fantastic 3 nights stay in the big blue backyard. A paradise in Paradise drive!
And we had a great contact with Lisa, the owner. She was very helpful (reservations for the restaurants with eastern) and had good tips (winery's), a bbq plate prepared by Lisa.
Preparing breakfast on the BBQ was great fun. We also did diner. Really good and tasty!
For us the best B&B near the beach we've visit.

Room Tip: all 3 houses are top
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlmn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018

Lisa and Paul have absolutely nailed their delivery of hospitality and accommodation. The Beach shack was beautiful, clean, roomy and light filled. The mini bar fridge contained everything you could possibly need for a weekend away. My husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary and loved the privacy, the access to the beach down an enchanting track, the beach itself if gorgeous for beach walks. We had loose plans to visit wineries, breweries etc and actually never left Big Blue except to go for walks on the beach. The first night we had the grazing platter which was magnificent, especially with the complimentary chardonnay from 'Pigface" - it was an outstanding wine and luckily Lisa had a few more bottles in stock we could access! The 2nd night we did the BBQ box - talk about a 5 star experience. An esky arrived with 2 beautiful steaks, an lovely garden salad and 6 king prawns butterflied with a lime and chilli paste, as well as some sauted potatoes - all we had to do was fire up the barbie and pour another glass of wine. So good! Breakfast was another feast. The fridge contained eggs, bacon, some mini sausages, Italian tomatoes, avocado and also little side dishes of smoked salmon, goats cheese and prosciutto - wow. Add to this the little touches of personalised notes and you couldn't ask for a better experience! Go on spoil yourselves - its so worth it! PS did I mention the sunken outside bath on the deck? with the most perfect bubble bath? We'll will definitely return - and both my husband and I can't wait. THANK YOU Lisa and Paul for making our 1st anniversary so memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sally-Ann450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbluebackyard, Owner at big blue backyard, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Sally-Ann
Thanks so much for this fabulous review! You so got BBB! We loved how much you loved it.
Look forward to seeing you for every next 100 anniversaries!
Best
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I needed a getaway, but only had a weekend. Enter Big Blue Backyard and Mornington Peninsula. We only stayed for one night at BBB, but we came back feeling like we’ve had such an extended and relaxing break.

Beyond the endless array of things to do in Mornington Peninsula (from wineries and beaches to berry picking and dolphin spotting), our rejuvenation was all thanks to the thoughtful setup of the BBB.

In particular:
- Hideaways were very secluded and private - it felt like we were indeed worlds away
- Every single little thing had been thought of and available in your hideaway - from specific directions to the beach and mosquito repellent, to a bottle of sparkling for arrival and cookies for your cuppa
- The grazing platter and breakfast were both spectacular. The produce selected was of such high quality, we made ourselves the best smashed avos in recent memory for breakfast! (and no credit to our skills!)
- Wooden deck and outdoor private tub set up - you can’t not relax and let all the worldly worries melt away

We decided we would come back within minutes of arriving in our hideaway - it was that good. If you’re after complete relaxation, go for BBB, you won’t regret it.

P.S. Tip: Bush hideaway is most private (Beach and Dune hideaways are right next to each other and closer to walkways from parking to main house, though still completely private)

P.P.S. The beach (St. Andrews Beach) is absolutely worth going to - it’s jaw-droppingly gorgeous. It does take a 10-15 min walk/light trek from the house through a bit of bush, but definitely worthwhile.

P.P.P.S. I wouldn’t go to Sunny Ridge for strawberry picking... it was good, but way too many people (we went on a Sunday afternoon, and were rather low on fruit pickings). Go with one of the smaller berry farms/orchards.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PamRamali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbluebackyard, Owner at big blue backyard, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Pamela thanks so much for your review.

We are thrilled that you had such a relaxing break that your stay in the Dune Hideaway.
felt longer that just 1 night.

Great tips PS tips too!

Looking forward to having you back again soon. You have to try the Bush hideaway next for a longer stay.

Best regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

It was magic. Exactly what we were looking for, a relaxing, calm, simple and beautiful space to rest our mind and spent some quality time with each other. The area is so peaceful and the access to the ocean was definitely a plus for a resourcing walk.

The place had everything we could need and exceeded our expectation.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanL2239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbluebackyard, Owner at big blue backyard, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Jonathan thanks so much for your review.

We are thrilled that you got the magic of BBB. The quiet, the dark black sky
the beach track from your hideaway....
Looking forward to having you back to stay
Best
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews