We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
louise
Birmingham, United Kingdom

April 2024

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 28, 2024via mobile
Booked for evening meal. A warm welcome with a bar at the entrance.
Nice menu selection well cooked and delicious with a great specials board. All round good experience.I had scallops and then sea bass and husband had asparagus and ribs. Managed dessert too. Would return/ recommend
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Facade of The Old BakeHouse
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    C$170
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from Black Lion Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Vio.com
1.0 km from Black Lion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$203
  • Priceline
    C$203
0.0 km from Black Lion Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$208
  • Expedia.com
    C$237
3.1 km from Black Lion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$279
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    C$280
  • Vio.com
    C$245
  • Hotels.com
5.2 km from Black Lion Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$205
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$422
  • Lol.travel
6.9 km from Black Lion Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$323
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    C$159
  • Vio.com
    C$156
  • eDreams
    C$323
6.9 km from Black Lion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
15.0 km from Black Lion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
12.8 km from Black Lion Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Walsingham
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
277
85
12
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
277
85
12
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub pudding prawns excellent food mash evening meal lovely place two night stay little gem village norfolk mains shrine character veg ingredients thursford
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 389 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2024

Pub staff were disgustingly racist and rude towards the travelling community for no reason seen it first hand should be dam rite ashamed of themselves kept on making excuses why pub had to close but we’re still serving alcohol for non travellers it’s 2024 now this needs to stop

Room tip: If you intend to travel to Walsingham for the catholic shrine with people who are from a ethnic minority I would think again
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allstarh2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 30, 2023

The service in the pub is horrific, we waited for over an hour, and nothing came. Would not come again, do not recommend. It also smells a bit iffy, overall was just not a nice experience. They were lacking on certain ingredients and we had to change our orders multiple times!

Room tip: Horrid! Would not recommend! The service, good, drinks, and general vibe was just horrific! Would not come here again, was so disappointed.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Road18415926018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 27, 2023

What a great place. We stayed here to visit Thursford. If you want straight lines and floors this is not for you. But spotlessly clean. Our room was very large, sloping floors, beams . A separate dressing room for clothes/cases and shoes. An en-suite bathroom. Friendly staff and a great full English breakfast. All for a very surprising price. Would I recommend it to friends and family. Yes!

Room tip: Make sure you ask for no stairs if you can’t manage them
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 501yvonnef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 22, 2023

We were badly let down by the previous management who didn't even let us know that they had gone into liquidation and that our booking was no longer valid.
When we spoke to the new management, Izzy the new Mashageress was fantastic. Sorted out our booking and it was great. Rooms clean and tidy and large comfortable beds. Breakfast and evening meals were great. Decent size portions with good menu choices and just that little bit different/ better than the normal.
Great location for exploring Norfolk.
All staff were very pleasant and attentatived with nothing being too much trouble.
Worth a stay? We'd stay again so must be.
David & Julie, Caroline & Derek.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 3, 2023

We ate here for Norfolk Restaurant week. Lovely food, nice atmosphere with local drinkers as well as diners,
and very friendly staff. We had excellent service.
The beer was good too apparently and I enjoyed a pint of draught cider. Perfect..

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Getaway36744350045
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews