We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would just like to live here”
other traveller has booked this property
rear of house with garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
rear of house with garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
rear of house with garden
kitchen/diner
kitchen/diner/patio
from the patio looking in
view to the sea
living room
looking from TV room to living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Overstrand, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
grubbies
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Would just like to live here”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a wonderful relaxing time at Beachcomber cottage, a lovely welcome with wine tea and biscites and flowers.Just like home from home Everything you need to cook and relax..
Overstrand and Mundersly where our favourite places but now we also like a wild part of Bacton as wel.l Can't wait to come back when we think the weather will as good as the five days we had.
Well done Val

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: opening the patio doors and the view
Liked least: Parking, it would be nice to use grass verge as extra space for parking
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan d
Chesterfield
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“LOVED IT; LOVED IT; LOVED IT”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We enjoyed a lovely four night break in September 2014. We booked quite late and sadly the cottage wasn't available for any longer otherwise we would definitely have extended. The cottage is superbly located, being within walking distance of the beach. Val, the owner, has thought of everything. The cottage is very well furnished and the kitchen is fully equipped. Very comfortable beds and plenty of hot water for shower/bath. We hope to return soon and would definitely recommend. Thanks Val for letting us use your lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Only available for four nights - would have liked to stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley...
1 review
“Stylish accommodation in a great spot”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A well thought-out and stylishly converted bungalow now provides a spacious, airy and comfortable home from home, beautifully presented with nice touches and everything you need in a quiet spot close to the local beach, perfect for getting our two whippets out for a good walk and run (although there is a summer-time dog ban on the beach immediately below the short promenade, subject to the tide times you can walk for miles to Cromer and beyond in one direction and towards Mundesley in the other). Overstrand is a pleasantly sleepy place with a couple of pubs and cafés serving food and a local shop, and check out the crab and lobster shack above the promenade. We've already booked two more weeks next year - enough said!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: What was not to like?
Liked least: Nothing of any importance - it really would be nit-picking.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan C
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cottage in an excellent spot”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day break at Beachcomber Cottage and really enjoyed our trip. We have stayed in a few different cottages over the last few years and this was one of the best. The owner, Val, visited on the first night to make sure that we had settled in ok and had very kindly left some milk and wine in the fridge, as well as providing tea and coffee etc.

The décor is really smart, the cottage is spacious and we found that that it contained everything we needed. The lounge has great views out to sea especially from the mezzanine area. It is a short walk to the beach and pub and there is also a small play area close to the cottage.

Overstrand is a lovely village and well placed to reach some of the beaches on the North Norfolk coast. Unfortunately the sun did not shine for us but there is plenty to do locally. We visited Amazonia Zoo, Bewilderwood and Pensthorpe. Our young Children loved them all.

Overall it was a great trip and we hope to visit the cottage again in the future.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthdbroo...
Huddersfield
1 review
“Amazing house for family holiday”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just had the most glorious week in Beachcomber Cottage-our first family holiday with Joe 6 months!
Val made booking easy and helped with ensuring my packing fears were reduced by providing all essentials e.g. Travel cot/high chair. It was great to meet her when we arrived, a personal touch to ensure we had found what we needed to have a relaxing holiday. We could not have asked for better weather and enjoyed our days on the beach 2 mins away and afternoons relaxing in the garden.
We will definitely be back to Overstrand and Beachcomber as the village was nice and quiet with a shop for essentials and a pub which serves great food- wonderful week had by all

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent well provided Holiday Bungalow”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Booking was easy on line. Description of property and area was accurate. Property was spotlessly clean and tidy. The bungalow has been modernised and re-designed to provide an excellent holiday home. The home is fully equipped with every requirement, even having two televisions (one for the children!) The slightly raised lounge provides a good view of the sea across a lawned garden, and seating is available both at the front and rear of the premises. The provision of three toilets,one in the family bathroom, one in a double bedroom and one in the en-suite shower room, is generous. The bathroom has no shower.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything really!
Liked least: A shower in the bathroom would be helpful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie B
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Only stayed 1 week, wished it had been longer. Ideal location for exploring other parts of Norfolk. Couldn't have wished for a nicer cottage, welcome tray and a lovely bottle of wine chilling in the fridge. Welcome visit from Val, couldn't ask for more. Will definitely be re-visitng

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing