We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third wonderful stay at Karibuni!!!”
Review of Karibuni Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karibuni Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Cul de Sac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2017

There is not enough we can say about the space, location and staff. This trip we stayed in the Beige and Yellow Rooms (past 2 trips we stayed in the Green and Red Rooms). The set-up is so serene and private. You can choose to go to any beach or take a private ride to Pinel Island where guests of Karibuni are offered chairs and umbrellas. On Pinel is of course the delicious Karibuni restaurant (yes, they are related) where the food is so fresh& delicious and the staff is so friendly. We continue to think that Manon, the owner and operator of Karibuni Lodge has a handle on what vacationers desire in design and atmosphere. It feels very chic without being fussy. It is located close to Grand Case which offers a list of wonderful restaurants, but really, our favorite is Karibuni on Pinel Island. Thank you for a lovely stay - see you next year!!

Room Tip: There's not a bad room. All offer stunning views, efficiency kitchens, hammocks.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank haknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karilodge, Responsable réception at Karibuni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear haknyc,
It's always a real pleasure having the four of you back at the Lodge !!! We are pleased that you enjoyed your 3rd stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review. Looking forward to welcoming you again next year.
Sunniest regards from all the team !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Everything about Karibuni Lodge is wonderful (location, ambiance, privacy, security, service, breakfast) EXCEPT for the mattress, pillows and bed linens which definitely need to be upgraded for a truly luxury stay.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank pf412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karilodge, Responsable réception at Karibuni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

We thank you for your comment and we are very pleased that you appreciated the location, ambiance, privacy, security, service and breakfast of the Karibuni Lodge.
We've taken in account your observation regarding the bedding and we'll consider upgrading it if this can make your future stay even more luxurious.
Note that if you have any issue, during any future stay, do not hesitate to let us know while you are still at the Lodge : since we are a small establishment we try to be as responsive as possible and we do our utmost to improve the quality of our guest's stay whenever we can satisfy their demands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We just returned from a 7-day stay in the Beige room of Le Karibuni Lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed it, and it served as a great home base to return to from our daily activities. The rooms and adjoining patio/deck/porch are spacious, the plunge pool adds a nice touch (especially after a full day at the beach), the free continental breakfast was always great, and their association with Pinel Island saves on chairs/umbrellas and on ferry costs. We could have taken their private boat to and from Pinel but we preferred using their kayaks. Le Karabuni is a lodge and not a hotel with a staff at your disposal all day and night. As such, ensure you get the lay of the land before their departure (how to turn on TV, adjust the A/C, program the safe, use the transformer to handle 110V, etc). The staff (Anais and Sylvana) were always helpful, and took great pains to ensure we were comfortable and that all of our needs were met. Le Karabuni also recommended we use NONO car rental service. Do so with confidence. They will pick you up and take your directly to Le Karabuni, and then return you to the airport at the end of your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We only stayed for a couple of days (side trip from Anguilla) but can not recommend Karibuni enough.

We had two suites...didn't expect a little kitchen in each suite but loved it. The pool was small but great.

The day on Pinel was fantastic and we will repeat. There was a boat that took us there and an amazing waiter who took care of us for the entire day-just great and the ice cream boat was a nice touch too.

Sylvania brought us breakfast each morning, after we raised our "parrot" and that was so cool.

Quiet and relaxing...thank you, we'll return soon!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veyarestaxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We stayed in the Pink room with the private pool and it was SO worth the price. Staying here was the highlight of our trip to St. Martin. We rented a car at the airport and drove to Karibuni Lodge. It was a little difficult to find, and the one road getting to it was under repair, but once you find it, it is secure (you need a code to get into the gate), and in a beautiful location. Parking is very tight, so rent a small car!

We planned our excursions in advance, so we didn't need much help from Manon or Karl, but they were around to help and answer any questions for part of the day. We did Kayak over to Pinel Island and had chairs/lunch there. The restaurant is good, but plan on spending a very long time eating. As Americans, we were not prepared for the time it takes to have a meal on the islands. The service everywhere was SLOW. Pinel island is beautiful and we hiked the trails to see all sides. When you get to the restaurant, you have to flag someone down and tell them you are staying at the lodge. Depending on who you talk to, they may or may not know anything about it. So communication was lacking the first time, but the second time we went, it was better.

Our room was fantastic! So private, so big, and the view is spectacular. We went to the grocery and cooked in two nights. It is all open-air (including the shower), but able to be shut-up at night with A/C if it gets too hot or noisy (nature noise). Sylvania brings breakfast every morning and she is a delight. If you want to splurge a little, this room is worth every penny.

Room Tip: Pink Room is the BEST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

From the moment we arrived we were given such a lovely and friendly welcome by Karl who showed us to our accommodation where we were stunned by the most beautiful view. The room was very large and comfortable with a very large deck overlooking the swimming pool. Included in the room rate is a free ferry to Pinel Island with sun beds and umbrellas. We were served a very French style breakfast each morning by Silvana who also looked after our room and us! But the warmth of welcome we received each day during our three week stay from Manon and her lovely dog Loopy is something we will always remember. This is an extraordinary place on a beautiful island and we cannot recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 267Fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

My husband and I just returned from a week at Karibuni and had a wonderful time. The small hotel was in a nice quiet area, the rooms were huge and had wonderful patios, the breakfast every morning was delightful (although didn't help my attempt to avoid pastries...haha), and Manon and Karl would very helpful and sweet.

In addition to the fact that they suggested a car rental service that worked out great, pointed us to--and booked us on--a great sailing trip to Prickly Pear beach on Anguilla, they also helped reserve chairs/umbrellas at various beaches across the island that we would not have been aware of.

One of the best parts about Karibuni is that they own the main restaurant on Pinel Island which is an awesome place to visit. As they own it, they send a boat there twice in the morning and set you up with chairs/umbrellas and a table at the restaurant for no additional cost (chairs on Pinel are ~$25 per person). My husband and I went twice as it was beautiful, relaxing, and the drinks and food were great.

PROS:
-Small, quaint hotel
-Large room with a kitchen and king-size bed
-Large patio with chairs and a table
-Daily breakfast of juice, fruit, pastries, and yogurt
-Helpful service
-Easy access to Pinel via the lodge's boat and free access to chairs/umbrella

TEENY WEENY CONSIDERATIONS:
**these are NOT deal breakers in any way, shape or form but are worth mentioning**
-As Karibuni is small, "front desk" service is only available a portion of the day (~morning and 5-7PM)
-The TV can be temperamental but you aren't there to watch TV in the first place!
-The wifi is slow and/or inaccessible
-There are mosquitos, be warned and bring some bug spray!

Beaches to Visit:
-Pinel
-Anse Marcel
-Happy Bay
-Prickly Pear on Anguilla (via the Solana by Winner Touch sailboat - amazing food, too)

Restaurants to Enjoy:
-Ribs at Cynthia's Talk of the Town in Grand Case
-French meal at Tropicana in Marigot
-Agoulou/Bokits at Eunice's Unique Food Truck in Marigot
-Pastries/Bread at Sarafina's in Marigot
-A wonderful meal at Le Pavilion on the Sea

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cul de Sac
6.1 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
10.4 km away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
29.6 km away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#8 of 8 in Oyster Pond
31 reviews
3 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,822 reviews
9 km away
Alicia's Inn
Alicia's Inn
#1 of 3 in Philipsburg
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karibuni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karibuni Lodge

Address: 29 Terrasses de Cul de Sac, Cul de Sac 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Cul de Sac
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cul de Sac
Price Range: $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Boutique Hotel of Six Spacious rooms on the best spot of Saint Martin, marine reserve ,special transfert and service on pinel at Karibuni restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Karibuni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karibuni Lodge Saint-Martin/Cul De Sac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing