We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
121
46
27
29
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
46
27
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquirky pubbalcony overlookingalongside the rivergreat weekendcooked breakfastpigsweddingcanterburycharactercowslip
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 246 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2017

Very disappointed. We stayed at the Griove Ferry hotel for one night to celebrate our 35 th wedding anniversary. We were welcomed on arrival which was a good start but every thing went down hill from there on. The room was a good size but badly in need of painting and you could even see through the wood flooring down to the pub below which was a bit concerning. There was not even a wardrobe to hang your clothes on which we would have liked. We payed an extra £25 pounds to have a veranda and river view, which I was looking forward too. However there was a very small area to view due to the overgrown trees, but if you layed on the floor you may have had more of a chance of see the ducks and wildlife passing by. Our evening meal was also another disappointment, as was our cooked breakfast. There were no eggs or Rosti available and the presentation was poor. The waitress who served us appeared very stressed as she was also trying to clean the restauant at the same time which made us not want to ask her for any further assistance. We certainly dont intend to return to this hotel in The future.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeryan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2017

Booked overnight stay in Cowslip room. Although appeared to be clean the décor was extremely poor. Walls undecorated & unpainted bare plaster with big patches of missing plaster. Told by hotel staff specialists had been employed to give 'distressed' shabby chic look. To us it looked more shabby than chic. No wardrobes or hangers provided. lighting very poor, bedside light switch got dangerously hot. No shower gel provided. Curtains tin & flimsy, windows dirty.
Went into bar to order drinks- 2 other customers & 2 members of staff behind bar in conversation with customers. I was totally ignored for several minutes until finally served. Not only poor rude service but extremely expensive , over £12 for pint + large wine.
Breakfast mediocre hard bacon, overdone egg no toast available no extra tea or coffee offered.
Emailed complaint but have not had the courtesy of a reply so obviously owners are not bothered about customer feedback.
Booked discounted price through Booking.com But certainly would not pay full price.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017

Poor service, queued for 25 minutes just to order food which came out with sour dour bread I could have better used as a Frisbee. Staff dreary looking unhappy to even be there very unhelpful. This place has gone terrible down in our estimations really awful. Completely not the place to eat with kids the food choices for them are ridiculous!.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucky13frenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2017

I have been to the Grove Ferry already twice and never been disappointed. At only an hour and a half from London, the pub is located in the spectacular countryside of Kent, very close to Canterbury, the coast, the Aspinall wild park or Diggerland if you have children.
Very good food and plenty of outdoor space. River boat trips are also available. Nice size rooms with ensuit and quiet you will only be waken up by the nice sound of birds in the morning!
I definitely recommend this as the perfect place for the perfect gatewy!

Room Tip: Best views on the riverside rooms
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2017

We payed £90 for this room on booking.com with a view of the river and a balcony.well we had a view of the car park and the pig sty opposite!!
The room was very basic and and in poor condition.3 of the walls looked like the British army had been testing the latest weapon on them.there were also signs of previous damp.all apart from the manager the staff were very pleasant even if a little inexperienced.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews