We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb. Every bit as good in reality as it looks...”

Review of Ferry View

Ferry View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ferry View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Ferry View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert M
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb. Every bit as good in reality as it looks in the adverts.”
Reviewed March 10, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This holiday house really is as good as it looks.

The living space in this property is huge, clean, well equipped and welcoming. The location is simply sublime. The house is the last one in the village and has open views over the river and countryside beyond. We had breakfast on the balcony every morning despite the chill; it was too good to miss out on.

We stayed as a family, my wife and I, two teenage boys and my parents and we couldn't have asked for anything else. Especially as we're keen canoeists and loved being able to launch our little boats directly into the river from our own private wharf.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2017
Ahhhh, we are so pleased you enjoyed Ferry View, it is very special there. Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you again very soon. All @ Riverside Rentals :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mike D
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Property badly let down by poor maintenance”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This property is absolutely beautiful, perfect location, good size, excellent, however, it is really let down by a lack of very basic maintenance;

1. Missing or blown light bulbs all over the property, the bedroom i stayed in had a 3 bulb light with 2 bulbs missing.

2. Dirty crockery - wine glasses still covered in red wine, plates with food on, horrible

3. No washing up facilities, no hand soap, etc. provided, for a top rate property you'd expect these basics to be provided

4. No working internet, despite being advertised with the internet, as I had a business to run whilst on holiday and phone signal is non-existent at the property, internet was essential.

5. Stair gate broken, we found two broken stair gates we just about cobbled together into one working one to ensure the small kids were safe

6. spider webs everywhere, not very well cleaned at all

7. broken chairs - we fixed these as we happened to have wood glue with us

8. Fire doors in the loft which didn't actually shut properly and the closing mechanism was dangerous for the children to trap their fingers in

9. Terrible bed mattresses, one was so incredibly soft and the other was rock solid, no nice standard neutral mattresses as you'd get in most places and hotels.

There was also the quirkiness of a electrical fused spur socket being IN the shower in the master bathroom! No idea how that passed building regs, but, there we go.

All in all, all of these things are basic minor maintenance activities which just haven't happened. The property itself is lovely, but, for the price charged you'd expect all of these basics to be fixed and resolved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was incredible
Liked least: The simple lack of maintenance to the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2015
Hi,

Firstly we are glad you enjoyed the property and its location however I would like to answer some of your questions re maintenance.

You stayed at the property for one week and at no point did you make anybody aware any of the problems you claim to have had during your stay.
Each property is checked prior to people arriving and a checklist is completed with each item like bulbs and crockery checks etc confirmed as having taken place. Whilst I did not check these things myself the lady who checked this proeprty has worked for me for 4 years and has always been reliable before, if as you say some items where missed then I apologise for this. If you had made us aware at the time it could of been resolved very quickly.
The internet was down due to the phone line on the street being broken, we were not aware of this, because you didnt tell us, and as a result of BT not being notified the repair took longer than necessary. Unfortunately how BT maintain their property is out of our control and whilst WiFi is advertised and is usually at the property we can not be held responsible if it fails due to BT.
The stair gate is not broken, it is an expanding gate to fit varying sizes. There are 3 parts to it and having checked the instructions for use were in the draw with all of the other instructions. Again if you had phoned when you had the problem I couldve come and put it up for you. I am on call 24/7.
The property is thatched and next to a river, as such we do get more spiders than no thatched properties. The spiders are raely seen in doors but do manage to make there webs very quickly around the thatch. Best efforts are made to remove these before guests arrive but again this is something largely out of our control.
If the chairs were in some way damaged then I am grateful to you for fixing them.
Regretably for health and safetyty reason we do have a fire door on the top floor bedroom, as a result the door is sprung. A fire safety officer did checked the property 3 weeks before your arrival and confirmed everything was ok and upon inspection after your departue I found there to be no defects.
I am sorry you didnt find the matresses to your liking, they are high quality matresses and there are no plans to change them in the mear furture.
The electrical safety of the building is absolutely not in question. It passed building regs when it was rebuilt and elctrical safety checks are carried out annually at the property.

To conclude, I am grateful of your kind words regarding the property. However I am at a loss to understand why, if you found the property so poorly maintained, did you at no point during your stay did you not bring any of these issues to my anybodies attention.

Kind Regards

Riverside Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 7, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dealing with people who go9 out there way to oblige
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jul 2012
Thanks Brian for your fantastic review, we'll see you very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kings lynn
Reviewed June 21, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Best holiday ever
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jun 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of Ferry View and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
All @ Riverside Rentals.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 12, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and the position of the property in which everyone felt immediately at home.
Liked least: Approach road could have been tidier and better maintained.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2012
We are glad you had a good time and loved the property, hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing