We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swan Cottage

Swan Cottage exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swan Cottage exterior
Swan Cottage garden Swan Cottage in the snow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Swan Cottage exterior
Swan Cottage garden
Swan Cottage in the snow
Living Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Horning Village
The River Bure at Horning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Natasha D
Cornwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A delightful, light and spacious cottage in a beautiful quaint Village.
4 adults and 3 children and never felt on top of each other. The rooms are light and airy and the kitchen is superbly stocked with every utensil/appliance you could ever want and more.
Horning is a perfect place to stay and explore the broads. There are places to eat within walking distance, booking advised in peak times. Holt is a lovely little town and Bewilderwood is absolutely amazing for the children.
Highly recommend Swan Cottage and we will definitely be returning.
Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you so much!
It's lovely to see your comments about Swan Cottage, and we really appreciate you taking the time to post your review.
We're delighted that you enjoyed Horning and Swan Cottage, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Thanks again and best wishes
Leigh & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMS161
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Swan was just like its name, graceful, well appointed and lovely to rest and relax in with family. It had everything we needed and was superbly located in the heart of horning.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter-T-S...
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage always clean on arrival”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was our 4th visit to Swan Cottage in the last 6 years. It is always clean and tidy and crammed with everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. The beds are comfortable and its a real home from home with good size rooms set in a great location- you are spoilt for choice for pubs and restaurants in the village and there's a plethora of Norfolk attractions only a short drive away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Thank you for coming back to Swan Cottage again, it's always lovely for us when we have repeat visitors.
We really appreciate your business, and also that you've taken the time to write us a review.
Thanks again, best wishes and we hope to see you again next year.
Leigh & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cottage In the centre of the village”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here for 5 nights over Easter with my family, I just love the cottage and have been back a few times. It is very spacious, homely, all the amenities of home, very comfortable and clean. It is in the middle of the village so shops, restaurants, pubs are no distance then there are The Broads right on your doorstep! It was very relaxing and we all came back refreshed. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage and how central it was to everything.
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike about the place!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay at Swan Cottage for your recent break, and also for taking the time to review your visit.
We really appreciate your feedback, and are delighted that you had a great time. we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.
Best wishes
Leigh & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoff340
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend break”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in Swan Cottage and had a lovely break. Cottage was very nice and stands in a great position in the village. Horning has a couple of good pubs which serve good food and a very nice fish restaurant.
The cottage was clean and had all of the facilities you could need for a lovely stay.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Swan Cottage. Your comments and feedback are greatly appreciated.
Thank you again for your booking and best wishes
Leigh & Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJR82
Cambridge, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great family break”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My family and I wanted to find somewhere for us all to stay to celebrate my father's 60th birthday. My parents, sister, brother-in-law, 6 month old niece and I stayed at Swan Cottage for one week. The cottage was perfect for all of with plenty of space and we never felt as if we were on top of each other. It was very well equipped. We did pay extra for use of the highchair but it did make life easier. There are lovely pubs within a 5 minute walk. We particularly enjoyed The Swan. However, the kitchen was suitable for cooking (it can be a struggle in some holiday rentals) and so ate in a few nights. We enjoyed fish and chips from Greys in Wroxham but there is a fish and chip shop in Horning although it is closed on a Monday.
The cottage was a great base to explore the broads and we enjoyed days out to Cromer, National Trust properties and many of the local attractions. We also hired a boat from just down the road (next the the New Inn) which was good fun.
I found Leigh very pleasant to deal with and my e-mails were always replied to very quickly.
We didn't want to come home and would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdrew123
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely location”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Visited for a long weekend for our fathers 70th birthday. 7 of us including our family dog.Great location.Horning is lovely.House is right in the heart of it yet very peaceful. 2 pubs both serving great food within walking distance. Would recommend the Swan inn for a fantastic meal. Wroxham only 3 miles away.great for hiring a boat or one of the boat trips.lively weekend had by all including our dog.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing