We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage, wonderful river position”

Review of Two Hoots

River View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
River View
Parking
Courtyard
Courtyard & Parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Horning, Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
glenjohns...
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, wonderful river position ”
Reviewed July 1, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We tried to book this in 2017 for a week in June 2018 but it was fully booked, so imagine our surprise and delight when earlier in this year we saw that a week has become available. So we grabbed it!

I can remember staying in one of the three cottages in the courtyard around 1990 so I had an idea of what to expect in terms of amenities and fishing etc but this cottage has been renovated and decorated with great attention to detail making it feel less a rental and more like using someone’s home for a week.

The kitchen is very well provided for and the living space is very comfortable. It is worth mentioning that in very hot weather, and we were very lucky all week, the living space of the cottage remains very cool. So you can leave the Doors open to the garden to catch the breeze and then if it gets a little too hot, go and sit in the sitting room to cool down whilst still watching the river flow by.

Garden furniture is comfortable and pads are provided. The garden is a real sun spot but there is natural shade provided by trees as well as the sun umbrella.

The bedrooms are very pleasant and the bed was surprisingly comfortable, it felt as though the mattress was quite new. A great use of space by adding a toilet to the main bedroom.

We enjoyed a very comfortable and relaxing week and although only a few paces from the pub where boats moor up this was peaceful at night and watching novice pilots trying to moor a large berth was added fun.

For bird lovers, we had daily visits from a heron in the morning who would walk around the garden, lots of smaller birds too as well as visits from ducks, geese and swans all with their young.

Fishing was good with well sized perch bream and roach. Pikes patrol the margins making it interesting when bringing in a smaller fish, sometimes the pike get it sometimes you get the fish and sometimes you get the fish and the pike. Very good area for pike fishing!

Also, if you want to explore the river you can hire a boat direct from the owners as there is a wee motor boat moored up.

This cottage is super and we highly recommend this. It really will meet all needs and expectations and probably surpass them.

As for Horning, been coming here for 30 years. It is a wonderful village that really can provide for all of your needs but is also very well placed in terms of larger towns, the city and the coast to explore. The people are so friendly. Just love Horning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2018
Hi Glen, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We're so glad you loved Two Hoots and that it lived up to your memories from all that time ago! So lucky that it became available again and you managed to book it! It must've been fate! We hope to see you again in the near future. (Don't leave it another 20 years!!) ;-)
The Team @ Riverside Rentals.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed April 1, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This cottage is everything you could ask for and is equipped with everything you need. It is very comfortable and maintained to a high standard. Sitting on the river edge it offers a relaxed setting for fishing or just watching the boats (and ducks) go by.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you had such a lovely time at Two Hoots! We hope to see you again soon. The Team @Riverside Rentals :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go704231
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing retreat”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Two Hoots is like a home from home. Spotlessly clean, well decorated and most importantly, very comfortable.
All three bedrooms are bright and airy. The bed linen and towels supplied were whiter than white!
Its location behind the Chinese Takeaway and very close to the New Inn pub is not to be taken as a negative. Neither encroached on our enjoyment of the weekend.
The property has an idyllic riverside location and is a beautiful place to sit and relax and watch the world go by.
Horning has everything you need within easy walking distance including pubs, restaurants and smaller eating places, along with the usual village shop. Most places are dog friendly.
We had a lovely few days at Two Hoots and would happily stay there again without any hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
It sounds like you had a lovely time. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review for Two Hoots.

Many Thanks

The Team
Riverside Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Thanks your review Glenn and we are glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again soon. Regards Riverside Rentals ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle...
moorem
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage with amenities to suit all. Very cosy and comfortable with super river frontage to sit and watch the world go by or fish from dawn to dusk. 3 good pubs within walking distance all serving good food and a lovely Chinese takeaway also within walking distance. Highly recommend this cottage, a great place to relax and unwind. The owners have ensured all needs are catered for. Well done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The creature comforts as every little detail was covered
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing