We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of SUNNYBECK COTTAGE

TRADITIONAL COTTAGE WITH PRETTY COTTAGE GARDEN
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
TRADITIONAL COTTAGE WITH PRETTY COTTAGE GARDEN
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
TRADITIONAL COTTAGE WITH PRETTY COTTAGE GARDEN
VILLAGE SETTING
RELAX BY THE FIRE
QUIRKY TOUCHES
LARGE MODERN KITCHEN DINER
FAMOUS RAILWAY
SLEEPY GIGGLESWICK
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Giggleswick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Palcab
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Four of us stayed a full week. The cottage was excellent. Its was clean, spacious and well appointed. Location is perfect, right next to the beck. We were able to drive to a variety of places from which to start our walks. We really appreciated the personal touch from Carol. Very good pubs both in giggleswick, and across the river in Settle.

We will return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for your review and I do hope we see you again soon?

Take care

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Attractive and comfortable cottage, very dog friendly, in excellent location.”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My wife, myself and our dog were made to feel very welcome by the owner who was charming and helpful but clearly not wanting to be intrusive. it was a very attractive and comfortable cottage with all we needed, whatever the weather. it was particularly dog friendly with walks ideal for our pet right from the door. We liked the village but also enjoyed the closeness of the market town of Settle with its amenities, including excellent food shopping and dog friendly pubs serving, incidentally, good bar meals. The countryside roundabout is really lovely, one of the very best parts of the Yorkshire Dales. For walkers like us it was an ideal spot and we definitely intend to return to this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Summybeck and I really hope to see you again soon?

Kind regards

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKELLY19
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A DELIGHTFUL COTTAGE”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Sunnybeck Cottage is a real delight. We travelled with my Mother and 4 legged friend and we all had a lovely time. The amenities in the cottage are excellent and really enabled us all to relax and enjoy the cottage and the surroundings.
Every detail was taken care of which we really appreciated. Carol's holiday cottage is really one to be proud of and we thank her for hospitality

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of furnishings and very bright outlook
Liked least: Lack of high back chair
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am pleased you all enjoyed your time at Sunnybeck, we hope to see you again in the future?

Regards

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duffmanbo...
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“LOVELY MODERN COTTAGE, LOVELY AREA”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a short stay at Sunnybeck, with an 11 year old and doggy. The cottage was charming, with character of old and a modern, clean feel. The work Carol has obviously spent doing up the cottage is very evident, and a credit to her. Sunnybeck comes with under floor heating, a fully equiped kitchen with range cooker, cosy lounge with a roaring fire, and lovely modern clean bathrooms and bedrooms. There is a large playing field right next door which was ideal for first and last doggy walks of the day.
We used the cottage as a base to explore the Dales and were not disappointed! With Giggleswick providing pubs (recommend the Black Horse for delicious food and big portions!) and a yummy sweet shop, and Settle only a 10 minute walk away with plentiful shops, supermarket, oubs & restaurants. We would highly recomend this cottage and its freindly, helpful owner Carol. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern clean feel of the cottage
Liked least: Large dining table not necessary for number of guests allowed - uses up space in the entrance.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2014
Thank you so much for your great review and I am pleased your family and four legged friend had an enjoyable stay!
We hope to see you all again soon?

Regards

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VMG79
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic cottage in great location with a lovely owner”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Sunnybeck is a fantastic property with all the mod cons you could need in a great location in the Dales. We took our baby daughter and it was so helpful to have a highchair, cot and stairgate there. Carol is lovely and works really hard to Make sure your stay is perfect, including babysitting so we could go out!

We would return with no hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kitchen diner, large and well equipped
Liked least: it would be nice to have blinds on all windows to ensure privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2014
Thank you for your kind review and Isabella is gorgeous!
We hope to see you all again soon?

Regards

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee D
Rainhill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Arrived on a dark wet miserable evening to a beautiful picturesque welcoming cottage!!!
Unfortunately, due to the weather we never got to see as much as we would have liked, but this place more than made up for it, amenities were second to none, had some nice walks with our dog, (more of a swim, with the rain!!), even kept 2 technology-dependent teenagers happy!!! Would love to come back to have a better explore, summer maybe??

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage, just lovely!!
Liked least: Can't complain
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to write it!
We really hope to see you all again with a bit of sunshine?

Take care,

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA092011
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage, location and surrounding area”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a lovely long weekend break at Sunnybeck Cottage on the 3-6 January 2014. As others have mentioned, Carol was there on arrival with lots of tips for places to eat, how to use the underfloor heating and generally a friendly face to the start of your holiday. The cottage itself excelled all expectations, the kitchen and dining area were fantastic, I often find the ovens are rather basic at holiday rentals but this one was amazing. The lounge was very cosy with a lovely little fire and comfy sofas. The outside hosepipe was great for washing our dog after long muddy walks, and the dog towels and stair gate provided was much appreciated. The showers worked well so all in all the cottage was great.

The location is perfect, a short walk to Booths for shopping and Settle, and there's some lovely walks right on your doorstep. We also drove to the Ingleton Waterfalls which was truly spectacular, we'd highly recommend this walk and it's very dog friendly. We visited the Ruchee Indian in Settle which was delicious, large tasty portions and you can take your own alcohol. We also had Sunday lunch at the Blackhorse in Giggleswick which was lovely, very warm welcome from the staff and the best Yorkshire pudding's I'd ever tasted.

We'd highly recommend Sunnybeck and look forward to visiting again soon!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your great review and so pleased you found the cottage warm, cosy and dog friendly.
We really hope to see you again soon?

Take care

Carol (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing