We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant place for a family get together”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Woodlands is a large house sleeping up to 19 guests in comfort.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Woodlands is a large house sleeping up to 19 guests in comfort.
Views across the Ribble valley, an inglenook fireplace and a 42” plasma TV behind the paneling.
Comfortably seats 18 guests around the 15ft oak table, a wood burning stove and a tuned piano
Cosy seating around the brick fireplace, a snug room to watch DVD's in or sit with a book
A range cooker and seating for 10. 2 dishwashers, 2 sinks, and an enormous fridge
The main kitchen is well equipped and leads out to the terrace.  There's a 2nd kitchen next doo
The front double - lovely bed with a view, ensuite bathroom, TV and views over the Ribble valley
The 4 poster - a lovely bed, ensuite bathroom, TV and leafy views of the grounds and Settle.
The attic - a lovely antique walnut bed and a cast iron claw foot bath with panoramic views
The old bathroom - a king-size or twin beds, ensuite bathroom and views over the Ribble valley
The middle bedroom - a double bed, ensuite shower room, views over the Ribble valley
The kids room - this room is great for kids, if only because the beams are a little low…
The little double room - charming room with a small double bed
The small yellow room - a single bed and the house bathroom is next door
The back bedroom - a double bed, this room is next to the house bathroom
There are 5 bathrooms, a wet room on the ground floor and as well as a loo on the top floor
fantastic views over the Ribble Valley and Attimire
The terrace has plenty of seating, stunning views and a couple of lawns
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
10 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Giggleswick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant place for a family get together”
Reviewed April 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have had two extended family weekends at Woodlands, in 2013 and 2014. The house is full of character and was perfect for our group of 18, aged 6 months to 71 years old. Great service from David and his staff, would recommend having meals prepared for arrival and/or celebratory dinner as we did. Lots of interesting places to walk from the house, and Settle is a charming little town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious nature, well equipped kitchen conducive to lots of sociability
Liked least: Lounge furniture could be updated with more comfortable sofas
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midnightd...
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the Woodlands was in November as a Christmas Offsite Meeting with work colleagues.
The location was beautiful with gorgeous views, it has plenty of space for large groups and all the equipment you would expect to enable self catering.
We also booked a meal to be ready for us for the caterer that was recommended by David, this was delicious and welcome after the long journey some of the team had made!
The beds are very comfy and we had no complaints all the house was clean and tidy to a high standard.
The owner was very helpful and answered a barrage of questions we had prior to our stay, an excellent plus point!
I wouldnt hesitate to return it truely was a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobjanlq
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“GReat house in great surroundings, perfect for our large group”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

14 of us from 4 countries met up at Woodlands for a re-union. It was a wonderful stay. Everything was as promised, including the wonderful evening meal awaiting us on arrival. We explored the Dales; went on the train to Appleby across the Ribblehead viaduct; walked; visited Bolton Abbey and random churches: went to the Falconry Centre:and bought great local produce; and had a great night our playing darts at The Hartshead Inn.
The house was brilliantly equipped and it made for a very happy week in a beautiful place,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of the house; older style country comfort. Countryside beautiful
Liked least: loud plumbing noise when one tap turned on!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara H
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic venue for a large party get together”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2013

My family stayed at the Woodlands and we had a brilliant time, it is sometimes hard to find a suitable venue for such a large family gathering, especially when a few family members won't travel without their dogs. We had 2 two year olds who loved sitting in the lounge watching the trains on the main line. One of the highlights was all sitting down to a 3 course meal in the beautiful dining room, we did our own version of ready steady cook and there was a good selection of glasses, crockery, cutlery and equipment. We enjoyed strolling into settle and did not use our cars the whole time we were there. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if we ever manage to co-ordinate our diaries again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful building, comfort and lovely bedrooms
Liked least: not being able to get into the property early enough as we don't live too far away
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place for large family get together”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2013

This was a perfect venue for an extended family gathering. There were 19 of us - aged 6 months to 90. Plenty of space, nicely presented rooms with lots of character. The dining room was great for a large group. We enjoyed exploring Giggleswick, and there were lovely walks in the surrounding area.

A lovely house, which we would like to return to.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic House & Location”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just returned from a fantastic few days at Woodlands. Superb house with beautiful period features ideal for a large group holiday. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner and we received great advice on local walks / cafe's / restaurants etc. Would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Journeyma...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely venue for a family party”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It is so hard to find just the right venue for a large traditional family get together.For us, nothing is better than all being together in one house, rather than in a hotel or several different units. We took a long time searching for the right place that fitted our budget, location and house size requirements. This Edwardian house looked like the right place (it is hard to tell from a few photos) but as soon as we walked in we knew it had the just the right feel for us. Comfortable, homely, and big enough for a group of 19 (from age 82 to age 2). We met at the local pub, the Harts Head for a leisurely pub lunch, before moving in at 4 pm. This was a great idea as it allowed us to get turn up at different times and then all go to the house together. We had pre ordered food from Tescos and this arrived just after we moved in. The house had everything we needed and we soon settled in. Every room is different and we had pre planned who would stay where so that there would be no squabbles. Good catering planning is key to these family weekends and there was plenty of storage, fridge and freezer space and those in charge of catering had no problems ! The Terrace was lovely for a BBQ and also al fresco breakfasts on a sunny morning. Gigglewick was a lovely village and it was easy for those interested in an afternoon walk to find somewhere to walk to. However those that stayed at home found plenty of comfort, We were very happy with our choice of venue and found the owner, David, to be friendly and easy to deal with..

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing