We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandford Springs Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill(Newbury)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge(Newbury)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Newbury)
US$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
153
84
27
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
84
27
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf clubgolf coursegolf breakgreat golfhalfway houseclubhouse barpro shopfamily weddingsuperior roomlovely hotelevening mealseparate buildinggolfing weekendround of golfrooms are greatgood sizegolf society
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Stayed 5 nights and loved this place. We were jet lagged and really appreciated the clean spacious room with comfy King size bed. It was so quiet and peaceful with pheasants wandering about the grounds. The bathroom has a separate tub and shower which were very clean. The restaurant and bar is located in a separate building approx. 200 yards away overlooking the golf course. We enjoyed sausage & mash, lamb shank, burgers etc. all very good. The staff were fantastic and made us feel welcome. There is plenty of free carking and the Wi-Fi worked fine. Great venue for a family reunion or event, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank birdwood2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Sandford Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sandford Springs and thank you for your wonderful comments.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Tom Moran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Well what a great stay. Booked for a single night.
I love a large comfy bed, lovely pillows, powerful shower, quality bathroom, Wifi and and a spacious room. All were provided here.
To top it off the staff were very friendly and helpful even when i got the payment wrong when checking out.
Would i stay again ?? Definately

Room Tip: My room was superb so hopefully all the rest are too
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night in the blizzards of Feb 18 and was made to feel very welcome at a lovely venue.

Rooms were great, bed was great, big HD TV, air con, big bathroom, food was lovely and the staff were very friendly, what more could you want from a stay.

Would definitely stay again

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Sandford Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments and I am so pleased that we could add some warmth, to a very cold night outside.

We hope to see you again soon.

Tom Moran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for a family wedding. Had an amazing time. Our standard room was huge and very comfortable. Wedding ceremony room and reception room were fantastic. Staff were very friendly and helpful, first morning we stayed, we put the notice on the door to have the room done and it was when we got back from breakfast half an hour later. Also the venue for the wedding and reception were different buildings and there was plenty of large umbrellas available, which we really needed as unfortunately the weather was awful. The only slight quibble we had was the shower was a little awkward to get the hot water going and I know some of the other guests mentioned this too

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Bridget Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Sandford Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you Bridget for you lovely review. I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Weddings are such a special occasion we really love having them here at Sandford Springs, it is just a shame that we could not arrange the weather.

We hope to see you return when you are next in the area.

Tom Moran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Given disabled facility room but not told in advance. We should have been told if this was the only room available when we booked. Poor buffet breakfast. Many guests kept waiting. Sausages uncooked when arrived and mushrooms floating in liquid.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brendahM7990FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Sandford Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for your review Brenda,

Having reviewed your booking, it appears that you were automatically allocated an accessible room by the system. The hotel was not full, so I only wish you had said something at the time and we would have moved you immediately.

The accessible rooms are actually a little larger than usual, with the only real difference being the walk in wet room with seating and rails but I can appreciate how you might have preferred a standard room.

I am sorry that you also felt the breakfast was not up to standard but again I wish you had chosen to say something at the time, so that we were given the opportunity to rectify it rather than jumping online, as you first port of call.

We do not get it right every time but our customers are at the forefront of everything we do, so feedback is always greatly appreciated.

Best Wishes

Tom Moran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews