We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning
the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
The interior is bright and airy with fantastic views, especially from the bay.
The view from the cottage of the Cheviot Hills
The garden at the rear extends to over 2 acres
Level access via the garden gate, secure parking for cars. Garage parking for mobility scooters
We also take winter bookings!
fabulous sunsets
Horizon of the Otterburn ranges
On the hill behind the cottage
The Farne Islands
Bamburgh Castle
Coach House floor plan
New Year 2015 at the Coach House - Nuthatch
Roebuck in velvet 11.1.15.  Roe Deer graze on the lawns most days
We love our deer, but they are not supposed to do this!
The doe who will hopefully produce a couple of fawns around June time
May time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thropton, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christine...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week at the coach house with our three dogs. The countryside around it was beautiful. Coach house was great. Ideal location and very well equipped. Would recommend to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puddles12...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely secluded hideaway”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent time staying at the Coach House and were lucky enough to have incredible weather so spent all out time on the lovely decking overlooking stunning views of the hills and cooking outside. Graham and jackie who own the property could not have been more generous...even allowing us to thumb a lift with them into alnwick so we could have a night out. A really lovely hideaway in beautiful surroundings.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirribill...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The coach house is delightful - comfortable, well equipped and the perfect base for a Northumberland holiday. The bed is super comfortable and the kitchen has everything you could ask for. The half bath is a bit wierd but the shower is powerful and there is loads of hot water. The outside deck has the best view of the amazing countryside and as it faces west of the the most beautiful sunsets. Our dogs loved it as the cottage has its own private garden and you can walk straight out into fields. We would return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the deck
Liked least: The half bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H
1 review
“Lovely property in a great location”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A well equipped property in a quiet location, with lovely views over the Cheviots. A good location for walking, very near to Cragside and very central for exploring Northumberland.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs M
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Lovely area”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Nice property, wonderful views and Thropton is a lovely little village. The Coach House was clean and well presented. We were there for 8 nights and in hindsight it was too small for that length of time, it was our fault we didn't research it enough, but it's fine for a weekend. Only negative was the bath was a half bath, which was not comfortable and laying out was not an option, so relaxation in the tub was a no go. The owner was very welcoming and friendly and respected our privacy throughout the duration of our stay. Great for a few days. Communication with owners prior to stay was excelleny incidentally.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and lovely walks on the doorstep
Liked least: The half bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2013
My wife and I were taken by surprise by this comment and we respond only because it may put potential visitors off what every other visitor has found to be an extremely enjoyable experience
The visitors book is full of compliments:- “…lovely comfortable accommodation, we will be sorry to leave” (L and C, Staffs); “What a wonderful place to stay! The Coach House is a lovely, warm, comfortable place to return to after a long day walking the hills” (P and T, Bury); “…absolutely lovely…” (S and K, London); “A perfect place to stay for peace and quiet with wonderful views. The Coach House was so well equipped we could not fault it.” (J and B, South Yorks)
The cottage itself comprises 426 square feet of floor space and over 700 square feet of outside decking, all set in over two acres of lawn and woodland.
Since we started letting the cottage in 2008 we have accommodated over 100 couples for varying periods of up to two weeks. One couple spent their honeymoon in the cottage and have returned every year since. Another couple was marooned there for five days during the awful winter of 2010 but apparently had a great time. Last year one young lady who happened to be in the area came on a reconnaissance for her parents which culminated in her staying herself with her partner and re-booking for this year. Having reported back to her parents they came to stay and were so impressed that they booked a second week in the same year and have also booked again for this year. Another couple have booked the same week for the last 4 years. The number of returning visitors has increased each year.
The bath is a half bath but is equipped with a powerful shower which itself has earned its own individual compliments.
The fact that we were immediately awarded and have maintained our 4 Star rating hopefully speaks for itself.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing