We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Hidden Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Coachhouse Conservatory
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse window
Coachhouse Conservatory
Coachhouse homemade preserves for sale
Coachouse downstairs toilet
Coachhouse Sitting Room/Kitchen
Coachhouse Coffee Machine
Coachhouse Sitting Room/Kitchen
Coachhouse Sitting Room/Kitchen
sitting area in main garden
Early morning view from the top of the garden
View of the pond
The courtyard
Another view of the pond in summer
Max enjoining the sun !
Breakfast!
New chairs and layout
Christmas
Christmas
Frosty morning
Early morning photo of steam rising from the river in front of my house
Sitting area beside the pond
Dahlias in full flower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Melkridge, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We spent New Year at this delightful cottage. Jacqueline was fantastic from the moment we booked to when we departed. The cottage is full of character and is cosy with out being claustrophobic. All the thoughtful little extras such as jam, wine and condiments were an unexpected surprise but only added to what turned out to be a fantastic three days. Tucked away there are still plenty of walks and some good real ale pubs. The cottage is tucked away in a lovely little village with great views from the arched door. Warm, cosy, clean and perfect it far surpassed our expectations, can't wait to visit again! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review, I was very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“The old Coach House”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Arrived home just yesterday from our weeks holiday at the Old Coach House and it really was the most welcoming little cottage we have ever stayed! Jacqueline & Ronnie were so friendly and thoughtful and nothing was too much trouble. The cleanliness was excellent as were the home made scones and jam, eggs from their own hens & wine greeting us on our arrival,not to mention other thoughtful extras for our comfort .
The cottage is perfect for exploring Hadrian' wall ,keilder and so many other brilliant places and we found great pubs / restaurants which were happy to take dogs such as Battlesteads at Wark
Would definitely recommend this gorgeous cottage, Thank you Jacqueline & Ronnie

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilda D
Clydebank, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a quiet getaway....”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed in the Coach House in April 2009 and couldn't fault this accommodation. It was exceptional! Clean doesn't even begin to describe it, beautifully restored and decorated. The only problem we had was the bath! My husband is 6' and because the bath is in the eaves he felt like he had to stick his head out the skylight when he stood up in it!!!
The welcome was fantastic with eggs, wine, homemade scones and jam already in the kitchen. The setting was idyllic - quiet and restful but within easy reach of lots of attractions by car. We visited Vindolanda, Carlisle and Blyth in the few days we stayed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucylou04...
York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An amazing cottage!”
Reviewed May 19, 2009 for a stay in April 2009

We really felt we had found a little gem when we arrived to stay here! We stayed in the old coach house which had been beautifully rennovated and was immaculate inside. There were so many little extras provided that it really felt like home from the minute we arrived. The house is decorated to an excellent standard and the owner is very friendly and even left homemade scones and jam out for us on arrival. It was an amazing stay & we shall definately be going back again. A great base to explore the northumbria countryside and surrounding areas.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing