We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Almost perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Coachhouse Conservatory
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse window
Coachhouse Conservatory
Coachhouse homemade preserves for sale
Coachouse downstairs toilet
Coachhouse Sitting Room/Kitchen
Coachhouse Coffee Machine
Coachhouse Sitting Room/Kitchen
Coachhouse Sitting Room/Kitchen
sitting area in main garden
Early morning view from the top of the garden
View of the pond
The courtyard
Another view of the pond in summer
Max enjoining the sun !
Breakfast!
New chairs and layout
Christmas
Christmas
Frosty morning
Early morning photo of steam rising from the river in front of my house
Sitting area beside the pond
Dahlias in full flower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Melkridge, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
666thomps...
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Great location- peaceful and quiet. Small but cosy accomodation containing everything you could need. Wonderful warm welcome and the welcome pack was superb- fresh milk and eggs in the fridge, fruit basket, chocolates,wine, homemade cake and scones. Nothing was too much trouble.
This is the first rental we have stayed at where I felt that I had taken all those things you might need like clingfilm, kitchen roll etc only to find I didn't need them - the owners have simply thought of everything you might need.
The added advantage of being dog friendly at no extra cost and rental is reasonable.
Easy to venture out from here to eat and to explore the local scenery

We will certainly return - ironic as this was an alternative to our original plans to go to the Lake District!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review so pleased we didn't disappoint you and you enjoyed your visit to our lovely part of Northumberland. Best wishes Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fooreview
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely property in ideal location”
Reviewed May 6, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Perfect location for walking trip to the Wall. Charming, peaceful village, generous host and well equipped accommodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Apr 2018
Thank you Margaret I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely review , I love to sit at the top of the garden and watch the stars too. Best wishes Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dawn B
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage ”
Reviewed February 24, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This is the second time we have stayed and it was Fabulous again. Like a home from home. Lovely cottage with everything you could need!!! Thanks we will be back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Thank you Dawn for your lovely review I am glad you enjoyed your stay again. Best wishes see you again sometime .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The Old Brewery Coach House - Melkridge”
Reviewed February 16, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a wonderful two weeks stay in this delightful little cosy cottage. The welcome we received from the owners was exceptional - a welcome bottle of wine, tasty scones with butter & jam. Not forgetting the eggs from their own hens & even a pint of milk was provided. The cottage was like the gift that kept on giving! Everything we could possibly need and more. It was very very cold when we were there but we were warm and toasty thanks to the central heating. I can't praise this little self catering cottage enough. And would definitely recommend it. Oh and Jacqueline provides a home cooked menu to order from - her steak pies are to die for (we even took one home with us!) our daughter agrees with us that it's the best pie we have ever had! If you fancy venturing into this fascinating historic place, this is the ideal place to stay - very accessible to Hadrian's wall etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2018
Wow thank you for your great review , we are so pleased you enjoyed it so much. It was a pleasure to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 30, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and such a nice one! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helen C
South Shields
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed January 16, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Had a fabulous few days at the coach house, Everything you’d need is there. Perfect for the dog.
Fresh laid eggs for breakfast. Lovely bottle of red and homemade scones and shortbread when we got there
You can order meals from Jacqueline if needed. Will be back to enjoy the tranquility

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Thank you Helen we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back again. Best wishes Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing