We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for more”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed in the family room for a night on our cycle ride from Arria (Cumbernauld's Angel) to the Angel of the North. We were made to feel most welcome by the manageress and all the staff. Our bikes were locked away safely for the night and the accommodation was comfortable and roomy. We ate an evening meal and the quality of the food was fantastic and the price was great too. Breakfast was super and set us up for our final day down to The Angel. Friendly, helpful and genuine people. Lovely place. Could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HughScullion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

Me and the wife and 2 kids had a meal here on Saturday night the 10th of September and it was out of this world. Well my wife had the potted crab £4.95 she said it was fantastic and I had the tempura king prawns £4.95 and they were great and the kids both had the mushroom and garlic soup £2.95 and they both said it was the best soup they have ever had you no what kids are like. For mains I had the beef madallions what was 3 slices of fillet steak and 2 slices of black pudding with home made chips peppercorn sauce and watercress £12.50 the wife had the lamb shank and that came with fresh veg and minted grave £8.95 well cheep . And the kids had chicken bites with chips and beans £2.95 and they loved it. The young lady who was serving us said both of the chefs are new. And I must say there doing a great job. It's the first time in years iv had a meal out with fresh chips . So over all I give it a 10/10 excellent we will be back next Saturday .

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 28graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

an enjoyable 2 days spent in Northumberland. Katrina the landlady was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was well cooked with plenty to choose from. The room was clean and well stocked.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avrilLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This pub provides really good accommodation and food only a mile from Lynemouth. We were cycling from Newcastle to Berwick on Tweed and this was our first nights stop. Katrina was helpful and thoughtful - giving us the room with a bath! which was really appreciated. Ask for room 1. Our bikes were put in a shed overnight. The evening meal was very good value and the breakfast set us up for the day. We would recommend this to anyone but for cyclists it is worth the short detore off the Sustrans route.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persil_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The rooms are very clean and well presented. They appeared to have been recently re-furbished to a good standard. However, the sink in the bathroom was tiny and very difficult to use. The room and restaurant was a bit cold at times and we were unable to get the radiator in the room to give any heat. The refreshments in the room were very basic. We had a meal in the pub restaurant, which was 'good' pub food. Breakfast however, was average. The coffee was instant, the 'fresh' orange was very watery and not nice at all. It tasted like very poor value orange squash. The full English had a good range of items but a bit greasy and overcooked. We had to wait quite a while because there were 2 other people also having breakfast! You could describe The Plough as 'good value for money' compared to some places but we went on to stay at Bailiffgate B&B in Alnwick, which charged the same price and was far superior in all areas.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravel012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Stayed for two nights in June, ended up eating there both nights too. The landlady was really friendly and helpful, and makes a fantastic breakfast. Worth it just for that! Room was lovely and clean. Not noisy at all for a pub, stayed Friday and Saturday and had a great night sleep. My only (very) minor down points would be that there wasn't enough loo paper (but easily remedied) and there was a bit of a smell of cigarette smoke coming from the private quarters at the front, but this only affects you briefly in the corridor. Would highly recommend The Plough if you're in the area. The food's pretty good value too!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Travelling all over the uk with work i get to stay in many different hotels. This is by far the best place we stay on a regular basis. The rooms are always very clean and comfortable and the staff are always friendly and helpfull. The food is absolutely fantastic with a great selection of diffrent foods. i would definately recommend this hotel too anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clint84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellington
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
14.5 km away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
345 reviews
31.0 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
13.0 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
21.2 km away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Front Street, Ellington NE61 5JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ellington
Price Range: $120 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing